A Classic Horror Story / FILM REVIEW [Eng – Esp]

Ever since they released the trailer for this movie, I was really looking forward to seeing it. What they showed and the promotion that Netflix did looked good. Also, one of its directors is an up-and-coming Italian horror filmmaker who surprised me with his previous film. Did it meet my expectations? It's hard to answer them, because I have mixed feelings about the film.

Desde que lanzaron el trailer de esta película, tenía muchas ganas de verla. Lo que mostraban y la promoción que hizo Netflix tenía buena pinta. Además, uno de sus directores es un prometedor cineasta italiano del género de terror que me sorprendió con su anterior película. ¿Cumplió mis expectativas? Es difícil responderlas, porque tengo sentimientos contradictorios.

2021-07-16 at 18.41.13.jpg

Source

linehivebyjc.jpg

English

A few months ago I reviewed the film Il Nido, an excellent Italian production directed by Roberto De Feo , a remarkable horror production within a nice love story between two characters and a plot twist that made sense of everything seen. I told them to be on the lookout for his next production, which looked like a new promise of the genre.

This time he is not working alone in the director's chair. He is accompanied in those tasks by another young filmmaker, of whom I don't have much information: Paolo Stripolli. His previous works consist of a large number of short films written and directed by him. A Classic Horror Story is his feature debut.

The film did not turn out to be what he expected. Perhaps the division of labor between the two directors, plus the fact that they also wrote the script with three other people: Lucio Besana, Milo Tissone and David Bellini. In total there are five screenwriters, too many people for what we are told. Was it necessary to have so many people to write this script, damn it! When a lot of people get involved in screenplays, the results may not be as expected.

In Roberto De Feo's previous film, screenwriter Lucio Besam was part of the team, but the story was the director's original and Margherita Ferri also collaborated in the writing. I still consider it a superior work and will maintain my view of the filmmaker. I will wait for his next work to see if he progresses or stagnates.

The promotional campaign ended up being somewhat overblown and the press releases that Netflix is surely paying for to spread around the internet differ greatly from the final result. One of those press releases says: You're going to cover your eyes with Netflix's new horror movie! It's an exaggerated, false and misleading headline. There's actually not as much gore as I expected. There are more gore scenes in the Fear Street saga ( also from Netflix) than in this Italian film.

I have an internal conflict with the movie. There are things about it that I liked, but there are other parts of the movie that I feel hurt everything good. In order for you to understand, I'll explain in more detail, let's first look at what the story is (supposedly) about.

Español

Hace unos meses reseñé la película Il Nido, una excelente producción italiana dirigida por Roberto De Feo , una notable producción de terror dentro de una bonita historia de amor entre dos personajes y un giro argumental que daba sentido a todo lo visto. les dije que había que estar atentos a su siguiente producción, que parecía una nueva promesa del género.

Esta vez no trabaja solo en la silla de director. Le acompaña en esas tareas otro joven cineasta, del que no tengo mucha información: Paolo Stripolli. Sus trabajos anteriores se componen de un gran número de cortometrajes escritos y dirigidos por él. A Classic Horror Story es su debut en el largometraje.

La película no ha acabado siendo lo que esperaba. Tal vez la división del trabajo entre los dos directores, más el hecho de que también escribieron el guión con otras tres personas: Lucio Besana, Milo Tissone y David Bellini. En total son cinco guionistas, demasiada gente para lo que se nos cuenta. ¿Era necesario contar con tanta gente para escribir este guion? ¡maldita sea! Cuando mucha gente se involucra en los guiones, los resultados pueden no ser los esperados.

En la anterior película de Roberto De Feo, el guionista Lucio Besam formaba parte del equipo, pero la historia era original del director y Margherita Ferri también colaboró en la escritura. Sigo considerándola una obra superior y mantendré mi punto de vista sobre el cineasta. Esperaré a su próximo trabajo para ver si progresa o se estanca.

La campaña de promoción acabó siendo algo exagerada y las notas de prensa que seguramente paga Netflix para que se propaguen por internet difieren mucho del resultado final. Una de esas notas de prensa dice: ¡Te vas a tapar los ojos con la nueva película de terror de Netflix! Es un titular exagerado, falso y engañoso. En realidad no hay tanto gore como esperaba. Hay más escenas gore en la saga Fear Street ( también de Netflix) que en esta película italiana.

Tengo un conflicto interno con la película. Hay cosas de ella que me han gustado, pero hay otras partes de la película que siento que dañan todo lo bueno. Para que lo entiendas, te lo explicaré con más detalle, primero veamos de qué va la historia (supuestamente).

lineahivedelgada.jpg

2021-07-16-at-18.42.gif

Source

lineahivedelgada.jpg

What is the plot of the movie?

Elisa is a young woman who is a few weeks pregnant, she is going to travel to the city to have an abortion in a clinic. She hires a carpooling service in the van of Fabrizio, a cinephile guy who records and transmits videos on social networks. In the van travels a couple formed by Mark, an American, and his girlfriend Sofia. They love each other very much and are on vacation in Italy. The last of the companions is Riccardo, a grumpy doctor who is on his way to meet his wife. During the trip, they have a small accident. The van won't start and they find themselves in the middle of a forest with a strange house that seems uninhabited, but inside there are enigmatic drawings that speak of a bloody legend Fabrizio was told as a child. Where are they? What does everything in that house mean? Are they in the territory of a sect? How did they get there? How will they get out of that place? None of them know the horrendous events they are about to experience. Will they survive or die?

¿Cuál es el argumento de la película?

Elisa es una joven que está embarazada de unas semanas, va a viajar a la ciudad para abortar en una clínica. Contrata un servicio de coche compartido en la furgoneta de Fabrizio, un chico cinéfilo que graba y transmite vídeos en las redes sociales. En la furgoneta viaja una pareja formada por Mark, un estadounidense, y su novia Sofía. Ambos se quieren mucho y están de vacaciones en Italia. El último de los acompañantes es Riccardo, un médico malhumorado que va al encuentro de su mujer. En el transcurso del viaje, tienen un pequeño accidente. La furgoneta no arranca y se encuentran en medio de un bosque con una extraña casa que parece deshabitada, pero en su interior hay enigmáticos dibujos que hablan de una sangrienta leyenda que le contaron a Fabrizio cuando era niño. ¿Dónde están? ¿Qué significa todo lo que hay en esa casa? ¿Están en el territorio de una secta? ¿Cómo han llegado hasta allí? ¿Cómo saldrán de ese lugar? Ninguno de ellos sabe los horrendos acontecimientos que van a vivir. ¿Sobrevivirán o morirán?

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

2021-07-16 at 18.41.56.jpg

Source

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

Opinion

Netflix's promotional campaign says the movie is a cross between The Texas Chainsaw Massacre and Midsommar. I'm not going to contradict them, but the way they're selling it is cheating.

The movie is a hodgepodge that includes scenes copied or inspired by a bunch of horror movies. Sure, there are elements that reference The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, other scenes seen in the trailer look like they were copied from Midosmmar, but there are also references to Evil Dead (Fabrizio's character says so in one scene). There are sequences totally copied from Folk Horror from movies like The Wicker Man, from torture, from revenge movies and from many other movies of the genre (Scream, is one of them).

It is not enough to make this strange mixture, to give it the apparent touch of originality, the filmmakers add the metacinema recourse in the story, with the participation of the camorra that must be engaged in other business in these modern times. But in my case, I was not impressed. The way they close the whole story, with a sequence full of black humor, laughing at their own movie, I must admit that I liked it, but at the same time it is its worst flaw. Dear readers, I think the filmmakers have shot themselves in the foot.

To viewers sensitive to gore content, I say don't believe the fake news that says it's a very gory film. That is not true. Many of its disturbing scenes occur off-camera. Sure, you see blood on the characters' faces, but the extreme gore scenes are not seen. For me, a fan of such scenes, this was my biggest disappointment.

The filmmakers took care to give context to the characters, they are not totally flat. Frabizio dreams of being a filmmaker, but it's hard to make it in Italy, so he becomes a youtuber and instagramer. The doctor is a suffering character, his wife has left him and he needs to see his young daughter. The loving couple spends a nice vacation and think about a future together. Finally there is Elisa, who has become pregnant, but is willing to have an abortion. The experience she will have with the other travel companions may make her change her mind.

Mi opinón

La campaña promocional de Netflix dice que la película es un cruce entre La matanza de Texas y Midsommar. No voy a contradecirles, pero la forma en que la venden tiene trampa.

La película es un batiburrillo que incluye escenas copiadas o inspiradas en un montón de películas de terror. Claro, hay elementos que hacen referencia a La matanza de Texas, otras escenas que se ven en el trailer, parecen copiadas de Midosmmar, pero también hay referencias a Evil Dead (el personaje de Fabrizio lo dice en una escena). Hay secuencias totalmente copiadas del Folk Horror de películas como El hombre de mimbre, de la tortura, de películas de venganza y de muchas otras películas del género (Scream, es una de ellas).

No basta con hacer esta extraña mezcla, para darle el aparente toque de originalidad, los cineastas añaden el recuso del metacine en la historia, con la participación de la camorra que debe dedicarse a otros negocios en estos tiempos modernos. Pero en mi caso, no me impactó. La forma en que cierran toda la historia, con una secuencia llena de humor negro, riéndose de su propia película, debo reconocer que me gustó, pero al mismo tiempo es su peor defecto. Queridos lectores, creo que los realizadores se han disparado en el pie.

A los espectadores sensibles al contenido gore, les digo que no se crean las noticias falsas que dicen que es una película muy sangrienta. Eso no es cierto. Muchas de sus escenas perturbadoras ocurren fuera de la cámara. Claro que se ve sangre en los rostros de los personajes, pero las escenas de gore extremo no se ven. Para mí, que soy un fanático de este tipo de escenas, ésta fue mi mayor decepción.

Los realizadores se preocuparon de dar contexto a los personajes, no son totalmente planos. Frabizio sueña con ser cineasta, pero es difícil lograrlo en Italia, así que se convierte en youtuber e instagramer. El médico es un personaje que sufre, su mujer le ha dejado y necesita ver a su hija pequeña. La pareja de enamorados pasa unas buenas vacaciones y piensan en un futuro juntos. Por último está Elisa, que se ha quedado embarazada, pero está dispuesta a abortar. La experiencia que vivirá con los otros compañeros de viaje puede hacerla cambiar de opinión.

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

2021-07-16-at-18.43.gif

Source

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

Emanuele Pasquet, who already worked with the director in Il Nido, once again does an excellent job of cinematography. Another of the true successes of the film. Both in its scenes in broad daylight and in those that take place in the dark. The technical quality of the film is not in doubt, they have invested money in art direction, costumes and makeup.

The story takes place in the present day and the use of technology is seen throughout the film, but the costumes, makeup and locations used, sometimes make us believe that we are watching a film set in the seventies or eighties. Of course, that is the intention of the directors, as a tribute to the aforementioned Texas Chainsaw Massacre.

The two actresses who are part of the group of travelers in the van are gorgeous. The house in the middle of the woods is very well designed. There are great scenes, like the one shown in the trailer, in which an old audio tape is played, and to the rhythm of an Italian song one of the characters is brutally murdered. But none of that, prevented me from feeling this: Emptiness.

It is strange what I am trying to explain to you. I liked and disliked it, all at the same time. Is it possible to feel like that? Has it happened to you with any film? I have created an imaginary scale, putting on one side everything positive and what I liked. On the other side, I have put what for me have been its flaws. The scale is balanced. There is a technical tie.

Perhaps I had my expectations a little high and although they have not been met, I do not want to give a bad grade to the film. I was expecting something more gory, disturbing, transgressive. But in reality it is a pastiche of many movies with a great final joke that for some may be the best of the film.

It is difficult to make an original story having as a reference a great classic of the genre. I have a script written by me, inspired by that same classic. I didn't expect much originality, but I did expect it to have scenes that made an impact.

I hope the director's next film will take up the style of what he showed in Il Nido. He is very young, he has a lot to offer. Come on Roberto De Feo!

One reading we can give to the film, is that they made a satire of the genre. Especially of American horror. Because I did not see anywhere the influence of the famous Italian Giallo, horror subgenre that preceded the well-known American slasher. That's why those final words of the film, by way of sarcasm: Italians don't know how to make horror movies.

Emanuele Pasquet, que ya trabajó con el director en Il Nido, vuelve a realizar un excelente trabajo de fotografía. Otro de los verdaderos aciertos de la película. Tanto en sus escenas a plena luz del día, como en las que se desarrollan en la oscuridad. La calidad técnica de la película no está en duda, han invertido dinero en la dirección artística, el vestuario y el maquillaje.

La historia se desarrolla en la actualidad y el uso de la tecnología se ve a lo largo de la película, pero el vestuario, el maquillaje y las localizaciones utilizadas, a veces nos hacen creer que estamos viendo una película ambientada en los años setenta u ochenta. Por supuesto, esa es la intención de los directores, como homenaje a la mencionada La matanza de Texas.

Las dos actrices que forman parte del grupo de viajeros en la furgoneta son preciosas. La casa en medio del bosque está muy bien diseñada. Hay escenas geniales, como la que muestra el tráiler, en la que se reproduce una vieja cinta de audio, y al ritmo de una canción italiana uno de los personajes es brutalmente asesinado. Pero nada de eso, me impidió sentir esto: Vacío.

Es extraño lo que intento explicarles. Me gustó y me disgustó, todo al mismo tiempo. ¿Es posible sentirse así? ¿Te ha pasado con alguna película? He creado una escala imaginaria, poniendo en un lado todo lo positivo y lo que me ha gustado. En el otro lado, he puesto lo que para mí han sido sus defectos. La balanza está equilibrada. Hay un empate técnico.

Quizás tenía mis expectativas un poco altas y aunque no se han cumplido, no quiero dar una mala calificación a la película. Esperaba algo más sangriento, inquietante, transgresor. Pero en realidad es un pastiche de muchas películas con un gran chiste final que para algunos puede ser lo mejor de la película.

Es difícil hacer una historia original teniendo como referencia un gran clásico del género. Tengo un guión escrito por mí, inspirado en ese mismo clásico. No esperaba mucha originalidad, pero sí que tuviera escenas que impactaran.

Espero que la próxima película del director retome el estilo de lo que mostró en Il Nido. Es muy joven, tiene mucho que ofrecer. ¡Vamos Roberto De Feo!

Una lectura que podemos dar a la película, es que hicieron una sátira del género. Sobre todo del terror americano. Porque no vi por ningún lado la influencia del famoso Giallo italiano, subgénero de terror que precedió al conocido slasher americano. Por eso esas palabras finales de la película, a modo de sarcasmo: Los italianos no sabemos hacer películas de terror.

linehivebyjc.jpg

2021-07-16 at 18.45.08.jpg

Source

lineahivedelgada.jpg

The two actresses in the film are very attractive.

The Italian Matilda Anna Ingrid Lutz plays Elisa. The girl who plans to have an abortion, but that trip to the hellish forest will change her life. The actress I saw her some time ago in the TV series about The Medicis and in a 2017 film Revenge. From my point of view she makes a correct interpretation, conveying pain and suffering.

The Ukrainian actress Yuliia Sobol plays Sofia, the girlfriend of Mark, the American boy, the idiot who because of her will have the accident that will make them go into that strange forest. The actress puts her beauty at the service of the film, with a costume that highlights her figure.

Pepeino Mazzota plays the doctor Riccardo and Will Merrik plays Mark. Each one will bring his bloody moment for our delight.

Francesco Russo is the actor who plays Fabrizio, the young cinephile who drives the van, but who has a very important role in the whole plot of the film. It is somewhat predictable what is going to happen to him, if you pay attention to the details.

Las dos actrices de la película son muy atractivas.

La italiana Matilda Anna Ingrid Lutz interpreta a Elisa. La chica que planea abortar, pero ese viaje al bosque infernal cambiará su vida. La actriz la vi hace tiempo en la serie de televisión sobre Los Medici y en una película de 2017, Revenge. Desde mi punto de vista hace una interpretación correcta, transmitiendo dolor y sufrimiento.

La actriz ucraniana Yuliia Sobol interpreta a Sofía, la novia de Mark, el chico americano, el idiota que por su culpa tendrá el accidente que les hará adentrarse en ese extraño bosque. La actriz pone su belleza al servicio de la película, con un vestuario que resalta su figura.

Pepeino Mazzota interpreta al médico Riccardo y Will Merrik a Mark. Cada uno aportará su momento sangriento para nuestro deleite.

Francesco Russo es el actor que interpreta a Fabrizio, el joven cinéfilo que conduce la furgoneta, pero que tiene un papel muy importante en toda la trama de la película. Es algo predecible lo que va a pasar con él, si se presta atención a los detalles.

lineahivedelgada.jpg

A Classic Horror Story is not the movie I was expecting. I was a bit disappointed. But if you're a fan of the horror genre, you should see it. If you're not expecting something transgressive, I think you'll like it. But I want horror movies that really give me pleasure with their death scenes. This one didn't give me that exquisite pleasure that beings of darkness like me need to feel that a movie of this genre has soul.

All the previous films I have reviewed in the last few months of the low budget horror genre are better. Unfortunately this one I can't put on the list of the best of the year. I feel sorry for the director, I hope in his next film if he manages to surprise me, as he did with Il Nido.

Tell me what you think of the movie in the comments.

A Classic Horror Story no es la película que esperaba. Me decepcionó un poco. Pero si eres un fan del género de terror, debes verla. Si no esperas algo transgresor, creo que te gustará. Pero yo quiero películas de terror que realmente me den placer con sus escenas de muerte. Esta no me dio ese placer exquisito que necesitamos los seres de la oscuridad como yo para sentir que una película de este género tiene alma.

Todas las películas anteriores que he reseñado en los últimos meses del género de terror de bajo presupuesto son mejores. Lamentablemente esta no la puedo poner en la lista de las mejores del año. Lo siento por el director, espero que en su próxima película si consiga sorprenderme, como hizo con Il Nido.

Dime que te parece la película en los comentarios.

lineahivedelgada.jpg

TRAILER

Source

lineahivedelgada.jpg

Gifs and separators made by me in photoshop

Other recent film reviews

Settlers / FILM REVIEWMéandre / FILM REVIEW Ederlezi Rising / FILM REVIEW

linehivebyjc.jpg

Join the community

linehivebyjc.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments