Sound of Metal | Let's suffer all together

image.png

image.png

I didn't watch this movie, I suffered it, and as I knew I was going to suffer a lot watching it, I put off more and more that moment, so a few days ago the electricity went out for about 8 hours, that day I watched the 3rd season of Dota: Dragonblood, and I also watched Sound of Metal. I laughed, I cried, I suffered, I got frustrated, and I could only continue to feel immense empathy for everything I was watching. I tend to avoid these movies a lot, but as a born masochist, I still watch them and then walk around with existential crises that are impossible to avoid.

Sound of Metal puts us in the shoes of Ruben, the drummer of a band, who begins to lose his hearing progressively, completely changing his life, because no matter what happens now, he is a deaf person and has to learn to live as one, but above all, he has to learn to be at peace with his deafness, because he already has enough problems with his drug addiction, so this new destabilizing situation can only be the beginning of one of his worst stages in life.

image.png

Yo no vi esta película, yo la sufrí, y como sabía que iba a sufrir mucho viéndola, aplazaba cada vez más ese momento, así que hace unos días se fue la electricidad por unas 8 horas, ese día vi la 3era temporada de Dota: Dragonblood, y también vi Sound of Metal. Me reí, lloré, sufrí, me frustré, y solo pude seguir sintiendo una inmensa empatía por todo lo que estaba viendo. Suelo evitar mucho estas películas, pero como masoquista se nace, igual las veo y después ando con crisis existenciales que son imposibles de evitar.

Sound of Metal nos pone en la piel de Ruben, el baterista de una banda, quien comienza a perder la audición progresivamente, cambiando por completo su vida, pues sin importar lo que suceda ahora, él es una persona sorda y tiene que aprender a vivir como una, pero sobre todo, tiene que aprender a estar en paz con su sordera, pues ya tiene suficientes problemas con su adicción a las drogas, así que esta nueva situación desestabilizante solo puede ser el comienzo de una de sus peores etapas en la vida.

image.png

MV5BNTAyZjg5YjUtMmZkYi00YzU1LTg0N2QtZjU0ODg3NmYzY2JhXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNzI1NzMxNzM@._V1_.jpg

image.png

I loved the movie from the beginning, not because it started with a scene in a concert where obviously the reasons for Ruben's deafness are found, but because of what came later, the scene in the caravan where Ruben cooks for Lou and after many attempts he manages to wake her up and together they start dancing, all that was too sweet and beautiful, and it was already a harbinger that I was going to suffer a lot watching the movie.

One of the things that shocked me a lot from the beginning was the fact that Lou had the compulsion to scratch his arms a lot and for a moment I got to confuse it with cuts on his arms, there I cried without a doubt, because although they were not cuts, anyway they were signs of a self-harm that could not be avoided, that alone made me melt and go back to the years when my forearms had the same kind of marks, it was horrible, it was scary, and it all happened thanks to a small scene that does not even have much importance in the film. That's one of the things that make me love a movie the most, when isolated moments are able to trigger feelings and memories that you think you've overcome when the reality is something else.

image.png

Amé la película desde el principio, no porque comenzara con una escena en un concierto donde obviamente se encuentran las razones de la sordera de Ruben, si no por lo que vino después, la escena en la casa rodante dónde Ruben le cocina a Lou y después de muchos intentos logra despertarla y juntos se ponen a bailar, todo eso fue demasiado dulce y hermoso, y ya eran un presagio de que iba a sufrir mucho viendo la película.

Una de las cosas que me impactó mucho desde el principio fue el hecho de que Lou tenía la compulsión de rascarse mucho los brazos y por un momento llegué a confundirlo con cortadas en los brazos, ahí lloré sin duda, pues aunque no eran cortads, de todas formas eran muestras de una autolesión que no se podía evitar, eso solo hice que me derritiera y volviera a los años en que mis antebrazos tenían el mismo tipos de marcas, fue horrible, fue aterrador, y todo sucedió gracias a una pequeña escena que ni siquiera tiene mucha importancia en la película. Esa es la de las cosas que más me hacen amar una película, cuando momentos aíslados son capaces de disparar sentimientos y recuerdos que se creen haber superado cuando la realidad es otra.

image.png

MV5BYWE1ZmE5MjktNWVhYy00ZjZkLWE5NTAtMGM2YjExYThkODlhXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNzI1NzMxNzM@._V1_.jpg

image.png

One of the strongest messages of the film is that it shows the reality of deaf people and how this should stop being stigmatized as a disability, when they are simply different people, that the norm is one, does not mean that by going out of that norm everything is wrong or that in some way it is something bad. Ruben's time spent in the home for deaf people learning to be a deaf person was one of my favorite parts of the movie, I keep rewinding it and getting emotional, it was so well done everything, the frustration, the pain, the stress, the calm moments, the learning, then the laughter, fuck, too beautiful and real everything.

The ending is my favorite moment of the whole movie, it's what I love the most, it's just magnificent and left me crying for a good while. I'm not going to tell you, because obviously I want you to see it and feel the same pressure in your chest that I felt watching that wonderful ending. It's a perfect example of personal growth and finding the most comfortable way to exist in your own skin without trying to please others or trying to live by the rules imposed by a society that expects you to do something a certain way just because you are different. That ending is a perfect calm, it's a slow motion slap in the face, it's the greatest moment of fulfillment there can be. I love it.

image.png

Uno de los mensajes más fuertes de la película es que muestran la realidad de las personas sordas y cómo este debe dejar de ser estigmatizada como una discapacidad, cuando simplemente son personas diferentes, que la norma sea una una, no signica que al salirse de esa norma todo esté mal o que en cierta forma sea algo malo. El tiempo que pasó Ruben en la casa para personas sordas aprendiendo ser una persona sorda fue de mis partes favoritas de la película, sigo recórdandolo y me emociono, fue tan bien hecho todo, la frustración, el dolor, el estrés, los momentos de calma, el aprendizaje, luego las risas, joder, demasiado hermoso y real todo.

El final es mi momento favorito de toda la película, es lo que más amo, es simplemente magnífico y me dejó llorando por un buen rato. No se los voy a decir, porque obviamente quiero que la vean y sientan la misma presión en el pecho que sentí yo al ver ese final tan maravilloso. Es una muestra perfecta de lo que es el crecimiento personal y de encontrar la manera más cómoda de existir en tu propia piel sin intentar complacer a los demás o tratar de vivir según las reglas impuestas por una sociedad que espera que hagas algo de cierta forma solo porque eres diferente. Ese final es una calma perfecta, es una cachetada en cámara lenta, es el mayor momento de plenitud que puede existir. Lo amo.

image.png

MV5BYzhmZDQwYmQtYjhmZC00YWE5LTg1MzctNmNjNTM2NWRlZTViXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNzI1NzMxNzM@._V1_.jpg

image.png

When I started watching the movie I didn't remember what it was about, I have to admit, I had assumed it was all going to be about music and stuff like that, but I came to my senses when Ruben's deafness started to manifest itself, not even when he was diagnosed, and that's another of the film's strengths, it lets us know what it would be like to have hearing problems, to see people talking and not hear them, or hear them very badly, the frustration of feeling completely out of place by not believing we are part of the life that takes place around us, is strong, very strong, just for that alone is worth seeing the movie, and it has thousands of other reasons to do so.

There you have the trailer, it's a decent one, it's very good, and the movie is a thousand times better. See it, please, you can't miss it, don't avoid watching it for many months like I did, I didn't know what a great movie I was missing.

image.png

Al comenzar a ver la película no recordaba de qué era, tengo que admitirlo, había asumido que todo se iba a tratar sobre música y cosas así, pero entré en razón cuando la sordera de Ruben comenzó a manifestarse, ni siquiera cuando se la diagnosticaron, y ese es otro de los puntos fuertes de la película, nos hace saber cómo sería tener problemas de audición, ver a las personas hablando y no escucharlas, o escucharlas muy mal, la frustración de sentirse por completo fuera de lugar al no creernos parte de la vida que tiene lugar a nuestro alrededor, es fuerte, muy fuerte, solo por eso vale la pena ver la película, y tiene otras miles de razones más para hacerlo.

Ahí tienen el trailer, es uno decente, es muy bueno, y la película lo es mil veces más. Véanla, por favor, no tiene pérdida alguna, no eviten verla por muchos meses como lo hice yo, no sabía de la gran película que me estaba perdiendo.

image.png

image.png

All the images were taken from here.

image.png

Todas las imágenes fueron tomadas de aquí.

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now