An exploration of my liking for the horror genre and my favorite films. (ENG + ESP)

poster1.jpg

Source

English
Español

My entry to the OCD movie contest. More info here.
Mi entrada al concurso de películas OCD. Más información aquí.



My fascination with the horror genre began when I was a little kid. I remember watching on Nickelodeon a show called "Are You Afraid of the Dark?" and even to this day I still remember an episode with a creepy paranormal clown inside some type of amusement park. This wasn't the only scary series I watched in those days, there was also another show called "Goosebumps" but I don't have many memories from this one. I only remember its name and that it always creeped me the hell out. I always watched these series on my own, just the TV and me.

Those 2 shows aren't serious horror, they are for kids. My first encounter with a serious film that could get quite scary for some viewers was The Others, where Nicole Kidman plays the main character, a mother of 2 kids living in a huge house with 2 helpers and a fog that never seems to go away. I watched this movie one day when I caught it playing on some TV Channel back in the early 2000s.

Mi fascinación por el género de terror comenzó cuando era un niño. Recuerdo haber visto en Nickelodeon un programa llamado "¿Le temes a la oscuridad?" e incluso hasta el día de hoy todavía recuerdo un episodio con un payaso paranormal espeluznante dentro de algún tipo de parque de diversiones. Esta no fue la única serie de terror que vi en esos días, también había otro programa llamado "Escalofríos" pero no tengo muchos recuerdos de este. Solo recuerdo su nombre y que siempre me asustó muchísimo. Siempre veía estas series por mi cuenta, solo la televisión y yo.

Esos 2 programas no son de terror serio, son para niños. Mi primer encuentro con una película seria que podría asustar bastante a algunos espectadores fue Los Otros, donde Nicole Kidman interpreta al personaje principal, una madre de 2 niños que vive en una casa enorme con 2 ayudantes y una niebla que nunca parece desaparecer. Vi esta película un día cuando la vi en algún canal de televisión a principios de la década de 2000.

others.jpg

Source

I was quite young, and it was the first time I was watching a real suspense film. Even though it wasn't horror it got scary for me but I kept watching it until the end and its massive twist. It is important to notice that I was all alone in front of the TV when watching this film, just as years earlier when watching "Goosebumps" and "Are You Afraid of the Dark?". However, nothing can compare to my first real horror movie that I would end up watching a few years later, The Ring. Or maybe it was a few months later, I am not really sure how much time elapsed between viewing The Others and then The Ring. I think it was less than a year but I am not quite sure.

The way I managed to see a hardcore horror film like The Ring at such an early age was thanks to my grandmother. She had a VHS in her home and there was always a bunch of movies available to watch. One day, we were talking and I asked her if we could watch The Ring, she wasn't sure until I mentioned to her that I had already seen The Others on my own and that it wasn't scary for me, which was a lie but I didn't care. After insisting for a little bit, she agreed and we begin to watch The Ring movie. In retrospect, I think it is fair to say I wasn't prepared for this level of horror.

Era bastante joven y era la primera vez que veía una película de suspenso real. A pesar de que no era de terror, me asustó, pero lo seguí viendo hasta el final y su twist final fue impresionante. Es importante notar que estaba solo frente al televisor cuando veía esta película, al igual que años antes cuando veía "Escalofríos" y "¿Le temes a la oscuridad?". Sin embargo, nada se puede comparar con mi primera película de terror real que terminaría viendo unos años después, El Aro. O tal vez fue unos meses después, no estoy muy seguro de cuánto tiempo pasó entre ver Los otros y luego El Aro. Creo que fue menos de un año, pero no estoy muy seguro.

La forma en que logré ver una película de terror hardcore como El Aro a una edad tan temprana fue gracias a mi abuela. Tenía un VHS en su casa y siempre había un montón de películas disponibles para ver. Un día, estábamos hablando y le pregunté si podíamos ver al Aro, no estaba segura hasta que le mencioné que ya había visto a Los Otros por mi cuenta y que no me daba miedo, lo cual era una mentira pero no me importaba. Después de insistir un poco, aceptó y comenzamos a ver la películ. En retrospectiva, creo que es justo decir que no estaba preparado para este nivel de horror.

poster.jpg

Source

The Ring introduced a new effect for scaring the viewers and if you have seen the film you probably know what I am talking about. Watching Samara getting out of the TV was really impacting, even for adults. However, the thing that scared me the most wasn't even Samara even though she has a very ugly face and sinister looks, the face that haunted me for several weeks after watching the Ring for the first time was the twisted face of her first victim.

This girl is found inside a closet, sitting on the floor and her face is so horrible that it was almost traumatic for me to watch it at that time. To make things even worse, before this ugly face appeared, my grandmother left the TV to do something in another part of the house, and I remained alone for like 10-20 minutes. Now I think she was testing me to see if I got scared and went out to look for her. But nope, I kept myself sitting on the couch because I didn't want to risk her removing the videotape because of me. It was hard to get that face out of my mind but eventually, I overcame it.

Years later, while I was still a kid, I saw another scary movie, this one from Asia. Unlike my previous experiences watching scary series/movies, this time there were a lot of family members together. The movie is called Shutter, it is from Thailand and we decided to watch it because an older cousin recommended it. In total, we were at least like 5 or 6 people watching this film, which made it much less scary. Just like The Ring, Shutter also has some scary scenes that can be difficult to forget. There is a moment where a photograph is revealed and what it shows can make your blood become cold. This film wasn't as shocking as The Ring for me, but it was very good horror nonetheless. I was also a bit older, which helped in not getting too traumatized watching scary things.

The Ring introdujo un nuevo efecto para asustar a los espectadores y si has visto la película probablemente sepas de lo que estoy hablando. Ver a Samara salir de la televisión fue realmente impactante, incluso para los adultos. Sin embargo, lo que más me asustó ni siquiera fue Samara, a pesar de que tiene una cara muy fea y una mirada siniestra, la cara que me atormentó durante varias semanas después de ver el Aro por primera vez fue la cara retorcida de su primera víctima. .

Esta chica se encuentra dentro de un armario, sentada en el suelo y su rostro es tan horrible que fue casi traumático para mí verlo en ese momento. Para empeorar las cosas, antes de que apareciera esta cara fea, mi abuela dejó la televisión para hacer algo en otra parte de la casa y yo me quedé solo durante unos 10-20 minutos. Ahora creo que me estaba poniendo a prueba para ver si me asustaba y salía a buscarla. Pero no, me quedé sentado en el sofá porque no quería arriesgarme a que ella quitara la cinta de video por mi culpa. Fue difícil quitarme esa cara de la cabeza, pero finalmente lo superé.

Años más tarde, cuando todavía era un niño, vi otra película de terror, esta de Asia. A diferencia de mis experiencias anteriores viendo series/películas de terror, esta vez había muchos miembros de la familia juntos. La película se llama Shutter, es de Tailandia y decidimos verla porque nos la recomendó una prima mayor. En total, éramos al menos como 5 o 6 personas viendo esta película, lo que la hizo mucho menos aterradora. Al igual que The Ring, Shutter también tiene algunas escenas de miedo que pueden ser difíciles de olvidar. Hay un momento en el que se revela una fotografía y lo que muestra puede hacer que se te enfríe la sangre. Esta película no fue tan impactante como El Aro para mí, pero de todos modos fue un horror muy bueno. También yo ya era un poco mayor, lo que me ayudó a no traumatizarme demasiado al ver cosas aterradoras.

shutter2.jpg

Source

A few years later, I would then discover Silent Hill thanks to a friend in school and it will end up becoming one of my favorite horror creations of all time. Silent Hill provides a setting with so much potential that I am amazed this franchise has remained inactive for so long. I never played the Silent Hill videogames, and when it comes to the movies, the original is by far the best. If you don't know this great horror franchise, the story takes place in an alternative version of a destroyed town. This alternative version is haunted, and a powerful evil force is present that makes life there unbearable. If there is a horror franchise I would like to see coming back to life, it is certainly Silent Hill.

Silent Hill also provides original monster designs that you wouldn't want to see in your nightmares and it has a soundtrack that just feels so good. The story has interesting origins and as a horror fan, it is frustrating to see how this world is underexploited. Heck, they could even produce animated spin-offs or prequels like the Wachowskis did with The Animatrix to expand the Matrix universe.

Unos años más tarde, descubriría Silent Hill gracias a un amigo del colegio y acabará convirtiéndose en una de mis creaciones de terror favoritas de todos los tiempos. Silent Hill ofrece un escenario con tanto potencial que me sorprende que esta franquicia haya permanecido inactiva durante tanto tiempo. Nunca jugué a los videojuegos de Silent Hill, y cuando se trata de películas, la original es,por mucho, la mejor. Si no conoces esta gran franquicia de terror, la historia se desarrolla en una versión alternativa de una ciudad destruida. Esta versión alternativa está encantada y una poderosa fuerza maligna está presente que hace que la vida allí sea insoportable. Si hay una franquicia de terror que me gustaría que volviera a la vida, sin duda es Silent Hill.

Silent Hill también ofrece diseños de monstruos originales que no querrás ver ni en tus pesadillas y tiene un soundtrack que es bastante bueno. La historia tiene orígenes interesantes y, como fanático del terror, es frustrante ver cómo este mundo está subexplotado. Incluso podrían producir spin-offs animados o precuelas como lo que los Wachowskis hicieron con The Animatrix para expandir el universo de Matrix.

silent.jpg

Source

The last movie I want to mention in this post is a Spanish one called REC. I watched this one with friends in the movie theater and in order to buy the tickets one of us had to use a fake ID because this movie was rated "R". I didn't know anything about this film and maybe that's why it was so shocking the first time. The film begins with a female journalist doing a report with the fire department when they suddenly receive an alarm and rush to the building. I thought this was a commercial and not the movie itself, so when things started to get scary in the building I was very puzzled.

I think watching this in the cinema amplified how scary it was because some months later I rewatched this film on a smaller screen and it wasn't even half as scary. But when watching this film in the cinema, I remember even yelling a bit along with one of my friends who sat beside me. I wasn't expecting such an intense experience honestly. There would eventually be more REC movies, but the first one remains my favorite.

La última película que quiero mencionar en este post es una española llamada REC. Vi esta con amigos en el cine y para comprar los boletos uno de nosotros tuvo que usar una identificación falsa porque esta película estaba clasificada como "R". No sabía nada de esta película y tal vez por eso fue tan impactante la primera vez. La película comienza con una periodista haciendo un informe con el departamento de bomberos cuando de repente reciben una alarma y se apresuran al edificio. Pensé que se trataba de un comercial y no de una película, así que cuando las cosas empezaron a dar miedo en el edificio me quedé muy desconcertado.

Creo que ver esto en el cine amplificó lo aterrador que fue porque algunos meses después volví a ver esta película en una pantalla más pequeña y no fue ni la mitad de aterrador. Pero al ver esta película en el cine, recuerdo incluso gritar un poco junto con uno de mis amigos que estaba a mi lado. Honestamente, no esperaba una experiencia tan intensa. Eventualmente habría más películas REC, pero la primera sigue siendo mi favorita.

rec.jpg

Source

Why I like horror?
¿Por qué me gusta el horror?
One potential reason why I ended up developing such a strong liking for this genre, is probably because of the hormones I release when watching scary scenes. It has been proved that scary scenes can make viewers release dopamine and adrenaline, and in my case, I have been watching scary series/movies since I was a little kid, so I must have got used to this and simply enjoy doing this over and over again. Another important factor is that as I get older, it becomes harder for me to get scared so nowadays watching a horror production that can have an impact is very uncommon. I think the last time this happened was when watching the first episodes of the Netflix horror masterpiece called "The Haunting of Hill House". Those first few episodes had great scary horror, they were awesome.

I also like the fact that horror is always embedded with mystery, and I enjoy pondering about the origins behind the mystery that caused the horror. All scary beings or situations have complicated origins, and learning about them is interesting for me.

Una posible razón por la que terminé desarrollando un gusto tan fuerte por este género, es probablemente por las hormonas que libero cuando veo escenas de miedo. Se ha demostrado que las escenas de miedo pueden hacer que los espectadores liberen dopamina y adrenalina, y en mi caso, he estado viendo series/películas de miedo desde que era un niño, así que debí acostumbrarme a esto y simplemente disfruto haciendo esto una y otra vez. otra vez. Otro factor importante es que a medida que una crece, me resulta más difícil asustarme, por lo que hoy en día ver una producción de terror que pueda tener un impacto importante en mi es muy poco común. Creo que la última vez que sucedió esto fue al ver los primeros episodios de la obra maestra de terror de Netflix llamada "The Haunting of Hill House". Esos primeros episodios tuvieron un gran horror aterrador, fueron increíbles.

También me gusta el hecho de que el horror siempre está ligado al misterio, y disfruto reflexionando sobre los orígenes detrás del misterio que causó dicho horror. Todos los seres o situaciones que dan miedo tienen orígenes complicados, y aprender sobre ellos es interesante para mí.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency