Furiosa : A Mad Max Saga

I am a big fan of all the Mad Max movies. Of course they are terrifying but also enthralling movies about what life might really be like in a post-apocalyptic world where civilization has fallen. This week I went out to the Cinema (a very rare occurrence these days) to see the latest Mad Max movie – Furiosa. I wanted to see it on the big screen and my wife and I got day beds right up the front to really soak in the experience…


Source

I had heard a bit of chatter about this movie and there were reports that it was a bit of a Box Office flop. There has even been suggestion that the poor performance of this movie might jeopardise the next planned Mad Max movie (Wasteland?) but I think those reports are a bit unfair because I thoroughly enjoyed it.

As with Fury Road there is plenty of action in the movie, but there was a decent plot line and a little bit of political intrigue between the various outposts (Citadel, Gastown, Bullet Farm and the Biker Horde) which is great back-story that I definitely appreciated. As a prequel to Fury Road I thought it did a decent job. The War Boys and Immortan Joe are in there, but Mad Max himself is absent from the film. I think he gets a 2 second cameo, but that’s it.

Overall, if you like the Mad Max movies then this is worthy of the saga and it’s a VERY Australian film with the Aussie accents quite pronounced in this one. There is plenty of hooning around in the desert with ridiculous vehicles, weapons and stunts. I did laugh at a few of the crazy manoeuvres and couldn’t help but imagine how much fun they must have had making this film. It’s not for the fainthearted but if you can handle a bit of gratuitous violence then it’s definitely an enjoyable romp through the wasteland.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency