Final Thoughts on the Best Filipino Historical Fantasy Series Ever

The popular Maria Clara at Ibarra (MCI) TV series ended last Friday. As a fan I am sad but still happy it had a satisfying ending. Too bad trolls are trying to pull people to watch a new typical series from a defunct channel. The desperation is so obvious and sad to see. šŸ’”

Our cultural crab mentality is really terrible and disappointing. Instead of being proud of a high caliber show they choose to ridicule it like it's nothing. Anyway, yes all popular shows have haters so I shall not bother with them anymore. They can badmouth all they want, it will just reflect what kind of people they are.

If you've read my full review on this show (part 1, part 2 & part 3) then you'll also know how amazing it is. This is the conclusion to what I think about MCI. For context, you can read those first before proceeding so you can fully understand what I'm saying here.

Also, be warned, this post has SPOILERS!!!



GMA Drama's poster image thanking all the supporters of the trending series. source

In my first three posts, I wasn't able to comment much about the last two weeks of the show. Now that it has ended I can finally add my end thoughts on it.

As we know, El Filibusterismo is the darker one of the two books. Actually it's been many years since I read the novels. Haha. I was in high school the last time I saw it. We did have a Jose Rizal subject in college as well but I don't think we tackled the books anymore. šŸ¤”

Since then up to now I have a fuzzy memory of the exact details of the stories. But watching this series, I really rooted for Simoun's revenge. Imagine all the pain and injustices that happened to him, of course he will do what he did. But then Klay always wants to stop him. To the point that she even made him look less of a man in front of the wedding guests of a young couple. Ugh.

I really hated that scene. It made Simoun weak and seem ander da saya (under the saya {skirt}, meaning henpecked) for all the world to see. And then she had the audacity to cry for him in the end? Ugh. What a terrible ending to his character, that's all I can say about it.

To be fair, in the original story he did commit suicide but was not surrounded by friends or loved ones in death. Yes his reimagined end is better in that respect however the way he was treated by Klay like he was worse than the friars and Spaniards is just something I don't like. She has the worst attitude imho (read part 2 of my review). šŸ˜œ


Klay and Mr. Torres during her book report. source

But of course, even if she is an anti-hero for me, in the end she finally learned her lessons. I am happy that the ending shows us a more patriotic person than before. Finally she understood why Dr. Jose Rizal wrote those two books and why learning about history is important.

In fact, for sure her professor was so proud of her that he gave Klay a free doctor's scholarship to study in the US! What the heck?! šŸ˜± Goodness gracious, if only we all have a teacher like him! ā™„ļø Awwww.

The finale really tied up all loose ends but still left us hanging. šŸ˜‚ Again the last episode made me cry. šŸ˜¢ I was so happy the (FiLay) pair got back together again.


Fidel and Klay. source

It looks like there might be a Season 2. Maybe it will have a different title altogether or perhaps it will be a spin off. One thing's for sure, it's different or unrelated to Pulang Araw which is another future historical series by GMA Network.

On another note, the way this series is being talked about is like how Marvel Universe fans talk about the movies and its TV shows. Seriously I have never seen a lot of theories from fans on what might happen after each episode. šŸ˜† Also some fantastical/magical terms come up from time to time where you will scratch your head at how they can even think that far. Haha. (Yes I joined a Facebook fan group of MCI that's why I know. But such theories and even fan made stories are available to view on Twitter too.)

Also if you haven't watched all of it yet, don't worry there's always a story spoiler posted online. Most are even by the TV drama page of the channel itself. šŸ˜‚ For every episode there's a caption for each scene photos. Omg. Haha. Yes I know it's to be the first one to post about it instead of the rabid fans but still it's over the top. šŸ˜† Oh well...

For those who weren't able to watch the livestreams or the episodes on TV, you can enjoy them on the GMA Network website. So far MCI doesn't have any English subtitle yet. I dunno if it will be picked up by Netflix so other nationalities can enjoy it too. Perhaps if there is clamor for it then it will happen. Hehe.

One thing's for sure, Maria Clara at Ibarra will still be talked about in the years to come. It is already an iconic part of Philippine entertainment so if you haven't seen it yet then it's not too late to watch it. šŸ˜‰ If you've already seen it, what can you say about it?


XOXO,
@artgirl




image breaker.jfif

FOR SALE: High Ceiling, 3 Bedroom Modern Glass House with Loft in Tagaytay!

Almost RFO, P22M Negotiable


FOR SALE: 3 Bedroom Spacious Townhouses near Anonas, Quezon City RFO

.


Read Philippine Condo Buying FAQs Here

Spam or irrelevant comments will be downvoted if not revised upon warning.

Written by @artgirl for Steemit / Hive
Ā© Art x Stephanie Rue / Lucy Stephanie


Join Hive thru ecency, Click Here!


@artgirl is a freelance writer/artist, online seller and real estate agent.
My Steemit/Hive posts may contain referral/affiliate/merchandise links.

Contact me for your art, Writing/Research &
Central Luzon, CALABARZON & Metro Manila (NCR) property needs.

Otherwise for business inquiries :
send me a Telegram or a Facebook message. Link in my bio.

Preoder One Opti Juice from me to help you fight illnesses!


Like it?
Upvote, Follow and ReHive/Share for appreciation.

ā™„ Thanks! ā™„

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency