This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Warrior Nun - Blasphemy, Heresy, Politics and Nostalgia

Warrior Nun

Blasphemy, Heresy, Politics and Nostalgia


warrior-nun-trailer-320673647.jpg
Image source: IMDB

I recently binge-watched Warrior Nun on Netflix following it being constantly recommended to me every time I logged in, and the kerfuffle on Twitter about it. The series has been terminated, apparently prematurely, after the end of the second season. If you ask me, it came to a natural end, even though there are wide opening for spinoffs and sequels, but I understand why people are up in arms about it.

Firstly, there's a lot of "woke" stuff in there. The fact that it's based around ass-kicking nuns (women basically), who beat up a lot of men, doesn't sit well with a lot of conservatives and anti-woke people. No spoilers, but there's also quite a bit of homosexuality portrayed in a good light, so I guess some people are not happy about that either. There's also blasphemy and a hell (excuse the pun) of a lot of heresy, including against The Son of Man himself.

It's my observation that a lot of people believe the show was "pulled" from Netflix for political reasons. There's hence a movement on social media, especially on Twitter, to #saveWarriorNun. If you ask me, Netflix probably pulled it for something as technical as license issues. That's what happened with the greatest show, in my humble opinion, that's ever been on Netflix - Luke Cage. They pulled it, and fellow amazing shows like Jessica Jones, Dare Devil, Punisher and the less awesome Iron Fist and Defenders, simply because the owner of the Marvel franchise no longer wanted it on Netflix due to having their own rival streaming service. Nothing political, just business.

50071003381_8cc053443e_o.jpg
Screen cap from the Puente Nuevo scene

Personally, I loved the show for perhaps different reasons. First of all, virtually everyone in the show is way beyond average attractive, the most of which is "Sister Beatrice" who's an absolute stunner. She's also my favourite for being the only one without supernatural powers but can hold her own with the gods. She's in a supporting role, a very supporting one at that 😅, but she's was the main character in my head.

fight.JPG

Malaga 2013. A fight scene happens at this very spot in the series :). Apparently there are demons behind that door. If only I had known.


Anyhow, what I actually loved the most about the show, apart from all the theological references, albeit heretical for most part, was the location. A lot of it was filmed in Italy and the Iberian Peninsula, especially in southern Spanish region of Andalusia. This is a place I am very familiar with, having been there multiple times in the past decade. I enjoyed spotting street corners that I had walked, fountains I had sat by and the incredible structures dating back to Moorish/Islamic rule.

puente.JPG

puentonuevoJPG.JPG

Ronda 2013. Another fight happened here between a demon and the warrior nun. Nothing like that happened when I was there though, sadly.


Seeing Puento Nuevo in a scene brought memories rushing back. Ronda is one of my top 3 favourite cities in Europe. London doesn't count by the way, since I live here, lol. The others are Venice and Prague. The 1,2,3 order varies by the day. Ronda is such a historical place - both negative and positive sentiments of course depending on who you are, but historic nonetheless.

I have to admit feeling somewhat deflated when I finished watching the show. It does leave you wanting more, which is a good sign. It's not as deep a story as it could be, which is probably a budget issue, but they did the best with what they had. On the scale of 1 (Vampire Diaries) to 10 (Game of Thrones), I'd give it a 7.5.

Peace & Love,

Adé