I could not choose just two [Eng-Esp].

Hello friends of this beautiful community, today I bring you a different post that is part of the contest "Who is your favorite actor and actress?". Since they announced the dynamics I really wanted to participate and now that I'm on forced rest I decided to finally do it.

Hola amigos de esta bonita comunidad, hoy traigo un post diferente que forma parte del concurso "¿Quién es tu actor y actriz favorita?". Desde que anunciaron la dinámica me dieron muchas ganas de participar y ahora que estoy en reposo obligado me decidí a por fin hacerlo. Versión en español.


Cate - IMDB / Jack - IMDB / Edited in Canva

I have been thinking a lot about how to present this post because there are several dramatic artists that I enjoy and with whom I have felt identified with some character they have played. All the ones I have chosen have been for roles that have marked me and that I still enjoy enormously today.


Source - IMDB / Edited in Canva

When I saw the publication I had absolutely no doubt who my favorite actress choice would be. While the laureate Meryl Streep has also won my heart and respect, CATE BLANCHETT has been a part of my life and I have followed her career since I saw her in Elizabeth and even though I was still a child when I saw it I remember being struck by the majesty she reflected.

But I have always been a fan of the fantasy genre, since I was a little girl I started reading The Lord of the Rings so when the movie came out and I saw her portraying Galadriel I absolutely loved her, she was a character I loved from the books, to see her duality and her fight against the perversion of the one ring represented on screen in such a beautiful and ideal way filled my little Tolkien's work loving heart with happiness.

As I grew up so did her career and I continued to enjoy her, I was surprised and delighted to see her fully characterized as the iconic Bob Dylan for the movie "I'm Not There" in which she delivered a stellar performance and come on, how many women can say they have been awarded a Golden Globe and a BAFTA for playing a male singer?.

I finally became an adult and although I lost track of her for a while two films came along that had an impact on me when I was going through a difficult time in my life due to a breakup: Blue Jasmine and Carol. Both were completely cathartic for me, especially the first one, maybe they didn't help me overcome one hundred percent of what I was going through in my life at the time, but they helped me feel identified, represented and to some extent, understood. Her portrayal of these characters, both Jasmine and Carol were impeccable, charged with emotion and a reality that only an actress of Cate Blanchett's stature could achieve.


Source - IMDB / Edited in Canva

This choice was very difficult for me, I have many beloved and admired actors, DiCaprio, De Niro, Pacino and Hopkins, were on the list waiting to be chosen, however, I had to go for this fabulous actor simply for a performance that moved me to the last fiber of my being: Randle Patrick McMurphy in One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest.

This performance, which earned him a well-deserved Oscar, came to me a little late, since it was only a few months ago that, after finishing reading the novel, I decided to see the film and I must say that I was impressed by Nicholson's commitment to McMurphy's character, the film narrates the struggle against the mistreatment suffered by mental patients by their caregivers and is a very sad reflection of a reality that even today is still valid.

I am very sensitive to mental health due to family issues and this film, especially the character so well portrayed by Nicholson, reminded me of the need to provide a dignified life and understanding to patients whose mental health has been compromised by some factor, because many times we are tremendously insensitive to their silent suffering.

As a counterpart of this film we have one of his most recognized roles and that marked many years of my life, I am also a fan of the horror genre and the splendid performance that Nicholson gives in Kubrick's adaptation of The Shining is simply chilling, one of the things I like most about this actor is the intensity he injects into his characters through his body and especially his characteristic facial expressions, In this film he displays this ability in a masterful way, making me shudder in my seat by the viscerality with which he represented the madness of Jack Torrance, it is a classic that will always remain in my memory as one of the best performances of this genre that I love so much.

I wanted to make "honorary" mentions to actors whose roles on the small screen have pleased me more than those they have had in the cinema.



Source - IMDB / Edited in Canva

This actress for me is one of the best dramatic actresses I've seen in a series, I knew her from the movie "The Help" and I was surprised by the commitment she showed with her character, but it was her performance as the ruthless lawyer Annalise Keating in the drama series "How to get away with murder" that made me put her in a special place.

With this character Davis transmitted to me an incomparable strength and resilience that made me feel a sense of security when I saw how, even though she was a fictional character, she overcame one after the other the obstacles that arose in her life. Another thing that makes this actress important to me and that makes me identify with her is the struggle she maintains to dignify the role of African American women in the film and television industry, I think it shows that she is special on and off the screen.


Source - IMDB / Edited in Canva

He has had several roles that for me are memorable, I loved him as the villain Kilgrave in the series Jessica Jones or as Inspector Alec Hardy in the police drama Broadchurch, I would also like to highlight the excellent role of Crowley in the adaptation of Neil Gaiman's novel "Good Omens", in which he embodies a demon or fallen angel, so sarcastic and full of charisma, is a character that I found very attractive and that leaves us the example that despite his "evil" nature you can always have enough goodness to do something good for the world, not everything has to bad.

But if there is something that I like and that entertains me a lot is science fiction and especially time travel. Since I was a child and teenager I was attracted to the works of Jules Verne and Isaac Asimov, so science fiction will always have a special place in my heart.

This is where the fantastic series Doctor Who comes in, which is undoubtedly one of my favorite series and was where I "fell in love" with Tennant. What makes this actor special for me is the sincere way in which he represents his characters, as the tenth incarnation of The Doctor he gives us a different interpretation, fresher and despite being an Alien gives him a character that is sometimes much more human and compassionate than humans themselves, besides doing it with a touch of humor and a lot of charisma.

He may not be one of the most outstanding actors in the industry, but for me he will always have a special place as my beloved Doctor.

Only the people who know me best know the love I have for musical theatre and musical films in general and that's why I wanted to make a very special mention to one of the best in this genere and my all-time favorite.


Source - IMDB / Edited in Canva

Many love Barbra and most love Liza, but my safe place will always be with Maria and the Von Trapp family.

JULIE ANDREWS is completely essential to me when talking about movies as she stars in one of my favorite movies "The Sound of Music", this movie brings so much happiness to my heart that when I find myself going through some difficulty or just not in a good mood, I put it on TV and it makes my day.

Andrews demonstrates a warmth and emotionality in this movie that is very comforting to me, besides demonstrating a spectacular vocal ability in each song that makes me want to listen to it all day long.

I would like to point out that off screen she has also established herself as a musical theater actress with an important career highlighting in classics such as "My Fair Lady" and "Victor/Victoria", besides playing on the big screen the famous Mary Poppins, a character that was an important part of the childhood of many.

Unfortunately due to some operations and illnesses she has had to put aside her musical facet, but without a doubt she will continue to brighten my days with her emotional interpretation of the young novice Mary.

Thank you very much for reading me and if you also feel identified with these actors/actresses, please share it with me in the comments.

VERSIÓN EN ESPAÑOL


Cate - IMDB / Jack - IMDB / Editado en Canva

Estuve pensando mucho en cómo presentar este post porque son varios los artistas dramáticos que disfruto y con los que me he sentido identificada con algún personaje que han interpretado. Todos los que he escogido han sido por papeles que me han marcado y que al día de hoy sigo disfrutando enormemente.


Fuente - IMDB / Editado en Canva

Cuando vi la publicación no tuve absolutamente ninguna duda de quién sería mi elección de actriz favorita. Si bien la laureada Meryl Streep también se ha ganado mi corazón y respeto, CATE BLANCHETT ha sido parte de mi vida y he seguido su carrera desde que la vi en Elizabeth y es a pesar de que yo todavía era una niña cuando la vi recuerdo que me impactó la majestuosidad que reflejaba.

Pero yo siempre he sido fanática del género de fantasía, desde pequeña comencé a leer El Señor de los Anillos así que cuando salió la película y la vi representado a Galadriel la amé totalmente, de por sí era un personaje que me encantaba de los libros, ver representada en pantalla su dualidad y su lucha en contra de la perversión del anillo único de manera tan hermosa e idónea llenó de felicidad mi pequeño corazón amante la obra de Tolkien.

A medida que yo fui creciendo su carrera también lo hizo y yo seguí disfrutando de ella, me sorprendió y me encantó verla completamente caracterizada como el emblemático Bob Dylan para la película "I'm Not There" en la cual nos entregó una actuación estelar y vamos, ¿cuántas mujeres pueden decir que han sido galardonadas con un Globo de Oro y un BAFTA por haber interpretado a un cantante masculino?.

Finalmente me hice adulta y a pesar de que le perdí la pista un tiempo llegaron dos películas que me impactaron cuando estaba pasando por una época difícil en mi vida debido a una separación: Blue Jasmine y Carol. Ambas fueron completamente catárticas para mí, sobre todo la primera, quizás no me ayudaron a superar al cien por ciento lo que estaba pasando en mi vida en ese momento, pero me ayudaron a sentirme identificada, representada y hasta cierto punto comprendida. Su representación de estos personajes, tanto de Jasmine como de Carol fueron impecables, cargados de emotividad y de una realidad que sólo una actriz de la talla de Cate Blanchett podría lograr.


Fuente - IMDB / Editado en Canva

Esta elección me costó muchísimo, tengo muchos actores queridos y admirados, DiCaprio, De Niro, Pacino y Hopkins, se quedaron en la lista esperando ser elegidos, sin embargo, me tuve que decantar por este fabuloso actor simple y sencillamente por una actuación que conmovió hasta la última fibra de mi ser: Randle Patrick McMurphy en Atrapado sin salida.

Esta actuación, que le valió un merecidísimo Oscar, llegó un poco tarde a mi, ya que fue hasta hace unos meses que, tras terminar de leer la novela, decidí ver la película y debo decir que me impactó la entrega y el compromiso de NICHOLSON con el personaje de McMurphy, la película narra la lucha en contra del maltrato que sufren los pacientes mentales por parte de sus cuidadores y es un reflejo muy triste de una realidad que incluso en hoy en día sigue vigente.

Yo soy muy sensible a los temas de salud mental por cuestiones familiares y este film, en especial el personaje tan bien representado por Nicholson, me recordó la necesidad de brindarle una vida digna y comprensión a los pacientes cuya salud mental se ha visto comprometida por algún factor, porque muchas veces somos tremendamente insensibles ante su sufrimiento silencioso.

Como contraparte de esta película tenemos a uno de sus roles más reconocidos y que marcó muchos años de mi vida, yo soy fanática también del género del terror y la actuación espléndida que brinda Nicholson en la adaptación de Kubrick de El Resplandor es sencillamente escalofriante, una de las cosas que más me gusta de este actor es la intensidad que le inyecta a sus personajes mediante su corporalidad y sobre todo sus características expresiones faciales, en esta película hace gala de esta capacidad de forma magistral logrando estremecerme en mi asiento por la visceralidad con la que representó la fasceta de locura de Jack Torrance, es un clásico que siempre quedará en mi memoria como una de las mejores actuaciones de este género que tanto me gusta.

Quise hacer menciones "honorarias" a actores cuyos papeles en la pantalla chica me han gustado más que los que han tenido en el cine.


Fuente - IMDB / Editado en Canva

Esta actriz para mí es una de las mejores actrices dramáticas que visto en una serie, yo la conocí por la película "The Help", y me sorprendió la entrega que demostró con su personaje, pero fue su actuación como la despiadada abogada Annalise Keating en la serie dramática "How to get away with murder" que me hizo colocarla en un lugar especial.

Con este personaje Davis me transmitió una fuerza incomparable y una resiliencia que hizo brotar en mi una seguridad al ver como, aunque fuera un personaje ficticio, superaba uno tras otro los obstáculos que iban surgiendo en su vida. Otra cosa que hace importante a esta actriz para mí y que hace que me identifique con ella es la lucha que mantiene por dignificar el papel de las mujeres afroamericanas en la industria del cine y la televisión, creo que demuestra que es especial dentro y fuera de la pantalla.


Fuente - IMDB / Editado en Canva

Tennant ha tenido varios papeles que para mi son memorables, me encantó como el villano Kilgrave en la serie Jessica Jones o como el inspector Alec Hardy en el drama policial Broadchurch, también me gustaría destacar el excelente papel de Crowley en la adaptación de la novela de Neil Gaiman Good Omens, en el cual encarna a un demonio o ángel caído sarcástico y lleno de carisma, es un personaje que me pareció muy atractivo y que a su vez nos deja el ejemplo de que a pesar de su naturaleza "malvada" siempre se puede tener la suficiente bondad para hacer algo bueno.

Pero si hay algo que me gusta y que me entretiene mucho es la ciencia ficción y sobre todo los viajes en el tiempo. Desde niña y adolescente me vi atraída por las obras de Julio Verne e Isaac Asimov, así que la ciencia ficción siempre va a tener un lugar especial en mi corazón.

Es aquí donde entra la fantástica serie Doctor Who, que sin duda es una de mis series favoritas y fue dónde me "enamoré" de Tennant, lo que hace especial a este actor para mí es la forma tan sincera con la que representa a sus personajes, como la décima encarnación de El Doctor nos brinda una interpretación diferente, más fresca y a pesar de tratarse de un Alien le da un carácter que a veces es mucho más humano y compasivo que los propios humanos, además de hacerlo con un toque de humor y mucho carisma.

Quizás no sea uno de los actores más destacados de la industria, pero para mí siempre tendrá un lugar especial como mi querido Doctor.

Sólo las personas que más me conocen saben el amor que le tengo al teatro musical y a las películas musicales, es por eso que he querido hacer una mención especial a una de las mejores de este género y mi favorita de todos los tiempos.


Fuente - IMDB / Editado en Canva

Muchos aman Barbra y la mayoría a Liza, pero mi lugar seguro siempre estará con María y la familia Von Trapp.

JULIE ANDREWS es completamente escencial para mí al hablar de cine ya que es protagonista de una de mis películas favoritas "La novicia Rebelde", esta película le da tanta felicidad a mi corazón que cuando me encuentro pasando alguna dificultad o simplemente no me encuentro de buen humor, la pongo en la televisión y me alegra el día.

Andrews demuestra una calidez y emotividad en esta película que me es muy reconfortante, además de demostrar una capacidad vocal espectacular en cada canción que hace que la quiera escuchar todo el día.

Me gustaría remarcar que fuera de pantalla también se ha consagrado como una actriz de teatro musical con una trayectoria importante destacando en obras clásicas como "My Fair Lady" y "Víctor/Victoria", además de interpretar en la pantalla grande a la famosísima Mary Poppins, personaje que fue parte importante la infancia de muchos.

Lamentablemente debido a algunas operaciones y enfermedades ha tenido que dejar de lado su faceta musical, pero sin duda ella seguirá alegrando mis días con su emotiva interpretación de la joven novicia María.

Muchas gracias por leerme y si también se sienten identificados con estos actores y actrices compártanlo conmigo en los comentarios.

Resources from Freepik edited by me in Canva, Illustrator and Photoshop.
Translated with the help of DeepL.

Recursos de Freepik editados por mí en Canva, Illustrator y Photoshop.
Traducido con la ayuda de DeepL.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency