Don't Let Your Surroundings Stunt Your Growth. Keep Reaching For More.

Howdy folks. It's been a while.

However, I am not gonna do one of those epic catchup posts as the story is just too bloody depressing and I don't have the stomach for it today.

Lest to say I have had yet another spell of ill health, 3 months away from work and been diagnosed with C.O.P.D. I take the entire blame for the newest illness in my collection for being an idiot and abusing my poor lungs by smoking for around 3 decades.

However, I am back and feeling incredibly optimistic about the future and I have a boatload of lifestyle changes to make. What better time to share my thoughts in the self-improvement community?


I should point out that even though, after a bloody long day at work I went out into the garden and not only posed for several pics, I also took a shedload of photos, I cannot load any except the one below. I dunno if it is due to my poor broadband connection or an upload issue...Annoying!!!


Today's post was inspired by a mighty giant who resides in my haven, my sanctuary... My garden.

img_0721.jpg

Firstly, I gotta tell ya, I am a huge fan of sunflowers. Some people believe them to be ugly, gaudy, and garish, finding them a little overbearing and ostentatious for a garden setting.

Not this guy though!

I find them to be inspirational as well as aspirational in the way they grow to their maximum potential, using every nutrient in the soil, every raindrop, every ray of sun to reach ever higher. Surely there is a huge metaphor to be perused, regarding potential.

More specifically, human potential.

I read somewhere that human beings are the only species that do not grow as much as they possibly can, they do not reach as far as they can and waste potential that they could utilise in exactly the same way as the rest of nature.

How high does a tree grow? As high as it can. How fast does a cheetah run? As fast as it possibly can... Oh, wait! I just remembered where I read the statement I referred to and I am straying into the realms of almost verbatim plagiaristic intent... Nobody's perfect, right?

It was a section of a book and lecture series by the world-renowned business and success philosopher Jim Rohn. Let me dig up the quote and share it with you.

Every life form seems to strive to its maximum except human beings. How tall will a tree grow? As tall as it possibly can. Human beings, on the other hand, have been given the dignity of choice. You can choose to be all or you can choose to be less. Why not stretch up to the full measure of the challenge and see what all you can do?

Now isn't that a question worth asking? Isn't it even more worthy of considering and answering honestly?

Here's the thing, only you will know how you answered within the confines of your own mind. If you try and bluff and blag, you would only be fooling yourself, right? Imagine that, trying to make yourself believe that you really tried to be better, to do more, the subconscious would call you a liar, wouldn't it? How pitiful a situation, knowing that you are full of excuses and falsehoods and you cannot admit the truth, even, to yourself.

I don't believe that every person must stride boldly out into the world and strain every sinew, gather up every last morsel of resolve they can muster up, and aim to be everything they could possibly be.

There is a key phrase highlighted in that quote.

Human beings, on the other hand, have been given the dignity of choice.

I am merely pointing out that if such a possibility exists for you to give all that you are capable of and try and be the very best you can be in any field, then why not give it a shot if that is appealing?

People are racked with a myriad of reasons not to try. Fear of failure/success, looking foolish before their family and friends. The disappointment of not getting where they wanted to. Every one of these reasons and the countless others that we could all recite by rote are mere illusions.

What if you set out to be all that you can be and realise that the price is just too high? So what? At least you put yourself out there and banished the potential regret that could very well plague you on your deathbed.

Sometimes trying and failing can be as valuable, educational, and satisfying as succeeding.

It's been a long, long day at work (12 bloody soul-sapping hours) and my rambling is at risk of going into hyperdrive so maybe a summing up is in order.

All I am saying is that once you become aware that you have the potential to strive to your maximum and live the life you truly desire then you ultimately have to make a choice.

I don't believe there's a right or wrong decision at the end of that process, simply a statement of intent to stay as you are, move to something else, or something in between. Think of it this way, every one of us could become a body-building champion if the desire was great enough if the goal was compelling enough and we believed that this was our ultimate purpose in life.

If, however, we learned that it would take 7 hours of pumping iron every single day for the rest of our life, we could be forgiven for coming to the conclusion that this level of commitment was just too much, right?

To ask yourself the question about what you truly could be if you just believed enough and were willing to put in the requisite effort doesn't mean you have to take that journey. It simply means that you were at least brave enough to admit that you could be more and ask yourself the question... Most never achieve even this much.

You may notice that my sunflower doesn't even have a flower yet. With every inch, he grows, his commitment and tenacity are apparent. I have zero doubt that he will display the most magnificent bloom in short order. I know beyond a shadow of a doubt he will achieve his zenith and give his very best.

I gotta tell ya though, he really puts my measly efforts to shame. Maybe I should take a leaf from his stem out of his book and try and be even a little more like him and strive for at least some of those things I know I am capable of.


Thank YOU for taking the time to read my post and if you're one of those amazing people who like to hit the comments section... Then I doubly thank YOU!

Either way, I want you to know that you are appreciated!

Keep taking the time to connect with each other both here and in the 'so-called' real world and try and look after each other, because as you already know...

Together We're Just Better.png

image.png

I am an incredibly proud member of #TeamUK I love the global community immensely, but it is nice to have a home-team banner to add to my posts. The banner was made by the inimitable Roastmaster General himself @c0ff33a If you are an active UK member and would like to be added to the teamUK community on Discord, just let me know 😎

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency