It just makes you miserable

Imagen1.jpg

screenshot Dr, House, season 2

I was watching Dr. House when I heard a phrase that I liked a lot. Maybe I didn’t get it well. What I understood: “By doing something that make you feel miserable you won’t be a better person, only you will be miserable.”

Imagen2.jpg

screenshot Dr, House, season 2

I just love it! It was the kind of phrase a need to hear at the moment. It made me think all the times we do something we don’t want to do, only to please others. Have you done that?


If you have done it, just stop now.

I supposed is cute to think we really can make somebody happy, but I think happiness depend on each person. I meant I am responsible for my own happiness, I thank my partner, my family and everybody for all the things they do for me. I’m glad that they want me to be happy, I want the same for them but I understand my happiness is on me.

 

Respect yourself enough to set limits, and not live in situations that take your dignity away and demoralize you. I once read a phrase that said that we all act from the intention of being good, even if it does not seem like it. How many of you have done things that made you feel miserable because you wanted to be good people?

 

I suppose we can do things for others, I am not trying to encourage selfishness and lack of empathy. But I think there must be limits.

 

If something makes you unhappy don't do it.

For example, a friend of mine, she didn't want to be with his partner anymore, she felt awful, but she used to think, she was a good person for being with him, because he was so good, so “perfect” She didn't want to be a bad person, she didn’t want to hurt him and his family. Because she appreciated them.
She was miserable, she was depressed, she felt trap in that situation. And I think of that and I remember the phrase again "she wasn't going to be a better person for being with him, she was going to be miserable, that's all”.

I saw on television the case of a woman who was obese to please her husband. She had to divorce in order to lose weight and accept that she had a self-esteem issue that made her want to please other.

There are obvious cases of pleaser people and you might think “I’m not a pleaser people” but there are many who unknowingly fall into this group. Because they are not aware of everything they do for others.

Are you a People-Pleaser?

• You do things don’t want to do
• You don’t know how to say “no”
• You are capable to change who you are to please someone else. I’m not talking about positive changes... I’m talking about changes you didn't have to make. But you made them to satisfy other person even if you don’t like it.

To finish I let you this story that I found to teach Spanish to a little girl, I LOVE THIS STORY, I think it’s not only for kids, adults can learn a lot from this. It’s in Spanish, but I think you can understand with the pictures.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency