The Struggles I Had Growing Up As a Picky Eater and Tips That Helped Me Survive.

little-girl-doesn-t-want-eat-vegetables.jpg
freepik.com

For as long as I can remember I had always been a picky eater, I was so selected to a point that the list of foods I didn’t eat included rice, and beans (even though I ate both separately, I didn’t like them together), ice cream, every pastry except Puff Puff, all fruits except pineapples, oranges and apple, boiled eggs, organs of animals, cereals and even chocolate, just to name a few.

It was hard for my mother to find foods that I could eat while raising six children alone, she didn’t have the luxury of making me different meals from those that my siblings ate which made life more complicated.

I wasn’t allergic to anything but l had a habit to choose a lot and it did affect my health because at a young age I got an ulcer because I wasn't eating what I was given to eat which made things more difficult for me. It also made it complicated to attend and eat at birthdays or parties because well, I couldn’t even eat the freaking cake.

It took a while constantly being encouraged for me to open up to be able to try a few of the foods I didn’t like and even though to date there is still a lot I wouldn’t eat, it has progressively gotten better.

I think one of the major problems I had was that I expected the foods to be bad so most time I wouldn't even try it or if I did I was already closed-minded.

But here are some tips that helped me and could help parents of picky eaters

  1. Setting realistic expectation; First time trying a new food for picky eaters are very scary, we often always feel we aren’t going to like it so if you get a negative reaction, don't be angry.
  2. Changing up the menu; my mother knew I loved rice so she tried to make different types of rice so I could have varieties or else I would be eating the same food three times daily.
  3. Try not to make separate meals from others in the household; eating the same food often made me feel better but also don't force them to eat what they don't like.
  4. Give the kid options to pick from; being able to choose gave me a feeling of power and it often made me feel good having a choice.
  5. Don’t scold them or force them to eat, introduce new foods gradually.
  6. Teach your kids the benefits of the foods they refuse to eat and make them crave to eat it by either preparing it very pleasing to the eyes or make eating it appetizing.
  7. Lastly, be patient with them; I still don’t eat a whole lot of food even as an adult.

At the end of the day, no child chooses to be a picky eater, I often got jealous when my siblings could eat certain foods I couldn’t, so take it a step at a time, it gradually gets better, and even if it doesn't there are still several foods to survive on.

Thank you for opening my box of passion

REFERENCE
nbcnews.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency