Think like a Viking: Part seventeen

me for a moment (1).png

Wake early if you want another man's life or land. No lamb for the lazy wolf. No battle is won in bed.


Reading the Norse Sagas and Edda's around the fire in my long hall whilst sipping mead from a horn-cup always brings me value and relevant meaning; I thought to share some.

I don't actually have a Viking long hall, but I have a fire and mead so it works. Either way, the reading is valuable. I've been putting together a raiding party holiday with Britain as the destination. I've gathered a few warriors and shield maidens for the army however I'm always looking for more. If you, or anyone you know, might be interested in raiding visiting Britain in the not too distant future comment below. No prior experience is required as on the job training will be provided however it would be advantageous for applicants to possess the following attributes: Sword and axe skills, ability to form the shield wall and to row a long boat. It should be a great time although your safety cannot be guaranteed. If you die we'll give you a rousing send-off though. original im src


This week's Viking quote

Wake early if you want another man's life or land. No lamb for the lazy wolf. No battle is won in bed - The Hávamál

I chose this quote based on a few things I've observed this week and a little on my own real-world scenario. Depending upon one's situation there's so many angles and ways to apply it to oneself. Obviously I don't look at it from the perspective of taking another man's life or land but if looked at objectively I think there's much to be learned.

To me it pretty clearly says, take (timely) action to achieve goals and objectives as doing little or nothing won't move a situation to an agreeable resolution.

We all have choices to make in life, no matter what our situations; some may see other people's choices as insignificant or incredibly momentous, and some may even seek to negate the importance of their own decisions which I believe to be self-limiting. Either way, we have to make decisions and it's those decisions that determine the eventual destination. I mean the goal, objective, desired outcome or resolution based on a decision made around any particular set of circumstances or situation. But that's not enough, decision-making; the evaluation and decision process has other elements.

Wake early.

I don't read this as wake up and get out of bed early despite it being the literal meaning of that part of the quote. Don't get me wrong, waking up early and getting after it is certainly a way to squeeze more from the day, and life itself. But here -wake early - refers to getting educated, learning, gaining wisdom, information, perspective and understanding; it mans coming to the realisation that change needs to happen early is advantageous. In this way we become better-equipped to make decisions, set goals and devise the strategies to achieve them in a timely fashion.

Doing so is smart as the better the decision the more accurate, relevant and time-specific the goal; with that determined the plan will be more structured, more strategic and have a greater chance of success.

Want another man's life or land.

Clearly the Vikings had a strong desire to raid and pillage so wanting another man's life or land makes sense. But for us? Well, how about we change that slightly to: Want that job, want that degree, want to be healthier, want to be happier, want to have better relationships, want to care more, want to have better skills, want time to engage with life. The list is endless. Basically though it's about goals, wanting to achieve a goal.

No lamb for the lazy wolf. No battle is won in bed.

Once one has evaluated, decided and determined a course, a path they must take, then it comes down to taking the first step; taking action is how things begin to move forward towards those desired outcomes. It's not always easy, indeed it's most often not easy, however nothing moves one forward unless one moves forward. This doesn't mean nothing moves forward at all as time constantly does...But if one doesn't move oneself forward as well...Being left behind is often the result.

This is pretty clear to me. Get up and make something happen because nothing will happen unless you do. Take that step, hard though it may be. In doing so things will move forward. Yes they may stall or fail, but that's when one needs to go back to the evaluation stage and start over with the new information gained. Failure gives rise to success, we just need to keep failing and retrying.

The world holds all kinds of people and many won't relate or be open to a post like this. That's ok too, we all need to do our own thing and, of course, accept the consequences of our actions or failure to act. I'm pretty brutal when it comes to people not doing so; taking no action, showing no ownership. I can't abide blame and excuses. No one but the person making the excuse believes the excuse right?

What I do value and respect is people taking ownership, responsibility, showing discipline and taking action. I value self-reflection and evaluation and I value failure provided it's followed by evaluation, planning and more action. I don't like whingers and complainers, especially so after they only made a cursory and half-assed effort to begin with. It's weak. Weak of mind and character to expect something for nothing.

Don't confuse this as me not caring. I care about people a great deal, mentor and support with great effectiveness...But nothing will happen unless a person becomes the person to make something happen for themselves. Reward for effort is a valuable concept. It brings great satisfaction.

Anyway, that's about enough I think. If I don't check myself I'll end up with four thousand words which would take people a second or so more to skim than one thousand. So I'll leave it here.

This is how I've chosen to think about this quote today however there's many other ways to see it I guess and if you would like to give me your opinion below in the comments I'll be really pleased. You can tell me about your own experiences or that of someone else. You can agree with me or not. It doesn't matter, just get involved.


Skol.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
31 Comments
Ecency