Aim point

Over the years I've spent a good deal of time wondering what my life is all about; Contemplating where I am currently positioned, headed and where I've been. I believe that in doing so one is better-placed to set one's course. Depending on when in my life I've done so the answer has been different, my interpretation of things and the perception forward and backward also. I guess I've been many different versions of myself which has changed my viewpoint.

Life for me has been amazingly brilliant, devastatingly bleak and completely average at varying times however no matter what was happening within it two things were constant.

It's mine and I'm responsible for it

Somewhere between being born and now, fifty one years later, life got complicated and I can't really figure exactly when that happened. It probably doesn't matter when anyway just that one thing just piled upon the other and all of a sudden yep, complicated life.

These complications took me down many paths and have delivered different results; Good, bad and indifferent. Career, relationships, financial, social, emotional and health factors have all had an impact together with success and failure, loss and gain, mistakes and the good or bad behaviour. I've owned it all, held myself accountable responsible.

In short, life is a journey from one point in time to the next and whilst much is within our control so much is not...We can control how we feel, think and act though...Ownership.

P3210014.jpg

I was thinking about direction yesterday, my life-direction, and felt quite pleased at what I perceived; The future seems exciting and I'm keen to push on and make it happen.

The thought left me a little reflective though as my past, the roads I've travelled, have on occasion not be as brightly-lit as others. What's cool though is that almost immediately upon thinking that my mind shifted to the future, to the vibrant and colourful life I have ahead of me and ownership kicked in. It may not seem all that momentous to some, but for me it's huge; The automatic and unconscious emotional reaction to negativity. It doesn't always happen but when it does it means very much to me...It throws light on life.

The aim point

Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default is a phrase that has become intrinsically attached to my life; It is part of me and the reason for my default-reaction above. It is my aim point although the actual target may vary. What I mean is that once I focus on a thing the most important aspect is remembering this phrase and what it means...It's the vehicle which carries me forward and whilst not infallible has served me well. Of course, it's not just a simple phrase; It's an ideology, a way of life, a mantra.

Like most people events that have occurred in my life have forced direction changes; Shifts in thought, feelings, goals, attitudes and actions; That's the road we all walk.

However having a method of ordering those events has meant I've been an active participant and not a passenger. The contemplation, reflection and resolution found through it has meant I've largely lead a life I can look back on with acceptance [mostly] but more importantly it brings the ability to look forward, to shift, adapt, develop and grow towards new futures and better versions of myself.

These new aim points drive me and pull me toward them and are something to strive for and look forward to. Everything that has occurred in my life has brought me to this very point and in my mind that's something to celebrate. It confirms that life is something I need to design and create and to take ownership of.

And you? What focus-points have you set in your life so far and do you focus-forward using the past as a road-map in a similar way to myself? What drives you and what looking forward, what's your aim-point?


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency