RE: Surprises of the native forest (#fungifriday, EN-UA)

nice that you've identified the id of Hydnum repandum so well!
(btw - if I will decide one day to write an obseerving post about different species of hedge-hog mushrooms, may I use your photo?.._)
by the way, I wrote a post about a different Hydnum sp. recently. so I educated myself about their different species. I've learned that this certain specie, Hydnum repandum (aka yellow hedgehog) is not that low 3-rd grade quality mushroom. for in the reviews that I read, it is written that among all the ' hedgehog mushrooms' it is the tastiest and simply best one, it has a very pleasant mild creamy taste, and is very appreciated, for example, in French and Finnish cuisine, where it stands at the same honorable level as chanterelles! culinary rating of this mushroom - 10 points out of 10.


в обзорах которые я читал, написано что среди ежовиков он самый вкусный и лучший, имеет очень приятный мягкий сливочный вкус, и очень ценится, например, во французской и финской кухне он стоит на таком же вымоком и почетном месте, как лисички! кулинарная оценка этого гриба -- 10 баллов из 10.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency