RE: First Encounter With Mushrooms

Boletus subtomentosus, I know this mushroom more or less well! It indeed looks very similar to the one you found... It has such distinctive features: the cap is rough, velvety by the touch. And the most important: the stem and cap, when cut, turn very fancy blue color, within a few seconds! I will now search and find a suitable photo from my folders.

definitely a bolete of some kind and if you found them under conifers

I am more then sure, this is a nice detail: 'under conifers '. Suillus sp. are very fond of conifers, we have them growing there, and always pick them up under pines. I am more then sure it is one of this family, Suillus sp. I cant name exactly which one. But all of them are edible, as far as I know. Oh, and look: in several photos the cap looks glossy, shiny, sticky - these are the distinctive features of Suillus sp. And besides, it would be nice to examine younger mushrooms at the beginning of their lifecycle - in this case, the edge of the cap is pressed to the stem with a film, it looks very characteristic and indicates Suillus.

oh, and warmly welcome to the Fungi Lovers community. Your awesome post deserves a good rewarding, as we are part of #OCD Incubating Program, I will nominate your post for the support.

Hope there will be much more happy and intresting finds in the future.
PPS. You are living by the southern sea - I am so jealous for you!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency