August fungi

Hola, setero! Happy Fungi Friday to you!

Today I want to share a lot of fresh mushroom impressions from the last week, which happened to be quite intense. I made a week long trip back to the city to repir my broken camera (now my Canon 5D is operational again!) and during my absense, a very hot weather came to my place after heavy rains - nothing better for the fungi to grow. And, indeed, they started to grow a lot! Leccinus, Boleto, Redheads, Oysters started to appear, and -- the most pleasant surprise -- a lot of Amanitas. I've got a real plantation on my hands to shoot!

I am taking a huge amount of shots which I cannot even sort out, not speaking about processing, developing and shaping into posts. But the ones who follow me might notice I didnt post recently anything except mushrooms :P

So, lets start the excursion.
Best edible shrooms go 1st.

IMG_1663w.jpg

IMG_1217w.jpg

IMG_0647w.jpg

IMG_0692w.jpg

At the other spot I discovered a little family of 3 little medium-sized Boletos. These are first Readheads I found this hunting season.

IMG_0667w.jpg


Porcini mushrooms. About 15-20 appeared at our place, growing around the old oak tree. I didnt walk to the forest to find them! Back in 2019, we pick up only one Porcini shroom there, and now almost 20. Does it mean the micelium is maturing and became capable of growing more bodies? Or such a wonderful harvest should be explained by the coincidence of favorable factors (i.e. water + heat)? .. Will see how it will turn in year 2021.

IMG_1750w.jpg

Lactarius deliciosus (in Russian: Рыжик) is the 1st grade edible mushroom that can be consumed fresh, as is, without any cooking! Up to date, I've found only three little mushrooms in 3 different spots... which means it is time, and they really want to arrive, but the conditions dont benefit that...

You probably will laugh at me, I but I periodically go with a can and water certain places where I see good mushrooms, in the expectation that this will invigorate the mycelium, and help to grow this mushroom and subsequent ones...

IMG_1697w.jpg

Same thing with Lactarius necator, milk mushroom (in Russian: Груздь чёрный). I know two areas where its mycelium sleeps; I checked both, and found only one mushroom so far (the milk mushroom grows from mid-June to early October). Obviously, there already should be mushrooms, and the reason for their absence is probably, again, the unfavorable conditions.


IMG_0594w.jpg

Tree fungi on a spruce deadwood.

IMG_0529w.jpg

Leccinus sp. After I noticed this handsome fella and spent with him 2 minutes on my knees, it turned out there was a close company here: a flock of tree mushrooms on the back of the stump, and a tiny Redhead Boleto baby (it didnt blossom into smth bigger eventually just dried up: no water -- no life..).

IMG_0533w.jpg


IMG_0763w.jpg

Amanita muscaria! A deadly, toxic, unedible shroom... some folks do have a great medical use of it! It is not as bad as one can think. Yes, it contains toxins, but at it has an antidote the same time, too. The best-looking amanitas grow under the birch trees, and these appeared exactly under the birch. I found as much as 17 amanitas at the small spot, just about 2-3 square metres. Most of them are small and just started growing, like this little baby.

IMG_1520w.jpg

Little toad on a toadstool -- thats the classics!

Since I obtained macro lens, this is the first time I've encountered a fly agaric. So ... I made some solid stocks :)

IMG_0735w.jpg

Hope you enjoyed these captures... its a really marvelous, picturesque, foto-friendly mushroom. By the way! are you in the know that Amanitas that grow under the birches, are getting the most fancy outlook? Strange, but fact! All of those appeared exactly at the birch location. Lucky me!

There also appeared another Amanita specie at my place -- Amanita phalloides. I think I should round my post by now, and these amanitas (not so spectacular) will go for the next blogs. But here is just one pic for you.

2020dacha7628w.jpg

Those appeared under the oak tree.
Now, its time to part ways, I wish you good luck -- and Good Hunting!


#FungiFriday fun challenge is hold by @EwkaW

I hope many of you will join, as there are only 2 simple rules:

  • when Friday comes, share your fungi with us! post your own, original photo/drawing/art/food/anything-at-all of any type of fungi (yes, stolen images will be checked and reported !)
  • add #fungifriday (not necessarily must be your 1st tag). that's all!
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency