Fungi Friday : Looking like Fomes

IMG_1824.JPG

Fomes is a species of fungus that typically has a hoof shape. While the two fungi in the pictures shown here are fungi that look like Fomes. They are both in the order Polyporales which are mostly wood rot, but these are fungi in the family Fomitopsidaceae, derived from Fomitopsis, which means looking like Fomes.

When the trees were cut down and then cut into pieces, I was there. I really hope one day I can find mushrooms there. But several times I came after, I found nothing. After almost half a year, I just discovered what I never thought that there would appear polypore. Although polypore can appear on dead wood, I often find polypore devouring living trees. However, I am happy that my wish has actually come true. They appear there, looking like fomes.

IMG_1825.JPG

IMG_1822.JPG

IMG_1821.JPG

Not far from there, I also found another polypore. This one seems to be rotting tree roots that are in the ground. The white polypore I think is a Ganoderma. If Ganoderma is a name that comes from Greek, ganos means brightness, sheen, and derma is skin, then this mushroom seems to fit the genus name very well.

IMG_1853.JPG

IMG_1845.JPG

IMG_1848.JPG

IMG_1851.JPG

Readings:
Polyporales
Fomitopsidaceae
Ganoderma
Fomes

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency