Beech Mushroom Fried Rice

Hi All! Today, I'll be sharing with you my fried rice recipe! The feature ingredient will be some Beech mushrooms that I found at the supermarket.

mushroommonday10-4-2021-1ok.jpg

First, I would like to say that this is my basic fried rice so you can add other "feature" ingredients that you would like. I've even added fried spam to my fried rice and it is delicious .. if I do say so myself! 🙂
Some ingredients can be swapped out and added to or deleted to taste. The following are my gathered ingredients for today ...

Beech Mushrooms - today I had a 3.5 oz package
Approximately 2 cups of cold white rice - I had leftover Jasmine rice but another white rice is okay
1/2 medium onion - can add more if desired
2 large eggs - one is fine also
1 teaspoon granulated garlic
4 tablespoons soy sauce - or to taste
1/2 teaspoon of additional soy sauce (to add to eggs or can be omitted)
4 tablespoons oyster sauce - or to taste
1 tablespoon of butter or oil
Just a quick drizzle of sesame oil
Black pepper to taste
Salt - always optional

mushroommonday10-4-2021-2ok.jpg

The first thing that I do for the recipe today is prepare my mushroom by cleaning if necessary and cut or break apart. The only cleaning these needed was cutting a bit off of the bottom and separating pieces by hand. Set aside.

mushroommonday10-4-2021-3ok.jpg

Next I diced the onion and set them aside. Crack the eggs into a small bowl and add 1/2 teaspoon of soy sauce and a dash of black pepper to the eggs. Mix together and set aside.

mushroommonday10-4-2021-4ok.jpg

Now to get cooking! Melt 1 tablespoon of butter or add oil into large skillet (preferably non-stick) or wok over medium heat. Add the mushrooms and cook for a minute.

mushroommonday10-4-2021-5ok.jpg

Move mushrooms to the side and add onions. Cook for another minute before mixing together to cook until the onions are translucent. You can also mix together right away.

mushroommonday10-4-2021-6ok.jpg

mushroommonday10-4-2021-7ok.jpg

Move the mushrooms and onions to one side of the pan and add the rice to the other side of the pan. To the rice add 1 tsp garlic, 4 tbsp soy sauce, 4 tbsp oyster sauce and black pepper. Keep in mind that as ingredients are moved to one side of the pan that they are still cooking and will get that yummy fried and brown flavor. You can also add less of an ingredient and taste before decided to add more. Remember .. it is always easy to add more of something than it is to remove it!

mushroommonday10-4-2021-8ok.jpg

Once you've added all of the ingredients to the rice them mix together with the mushrooms and onions.

mushroommonday10-4-2021-9ok.jpg

Cook the rice, mushrooms and onions for a minute or two and move to the side of the pan. On the other side add yours eggs and cook to desired doneness. I like my eggs well done so that is how I cook them. While the eggs are cooking the rice is also frying on the other side of the pan.

mushroommonday10-4-2021-10ok.jpg

mushroommonday10-4-2021-11ok.jpg

Next mix everything together! If you want then you can continue frying but at this point mine was perfect. The final thing that I do at this point is that I add a quick drizzle of sesame oil. Keeping in mind that you can add more so if you want to measure so you don't over-drizzle then I would guess that my drizzle was about the equivalent of 1 tsp. Mix everything one last time and remove from heat.

mushroommonday10-4-2021-12ok.jpg

Plate, add pepper and salt (optional) and serve! You can serve with a salad for a meal or the fried rice makes a nice side dish to almost any fish. This particular night, I was cooking for just me so just the fried rice was all I needed. It was so yummy! The only thing that I would do differently for this one is add the other package of Beech mushrooms that I had bought but in this case it was one ingredient that would've best been added at the beginning .. lol. If you want then give my recipe a try and add whatever you would like including different mushrooms, chicken, vegetables or anything else you might want. Maybe even a little fried spam! Honestly .. it's pretty yummy too! 😋

mushroommonday10-4-2021-13ok.jpg

All photos and text by me @deerjay. All rights reserved.

TEAMUSA-hive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency