Belton House (with bonus Mushrooms!)

This is a random throwback post to this time last year. Last September (2019) I left my employment of 8 years and moved to my current employment. I won't bother going into all the reasons and other baggage I had for moving jobs... it isn't worth dragging up bad memories. Suffice to say, the move was correct at the time, and looking back on it now, I'm glad I took the chance.

Belton House0007PP.jpg

As a leaving gift I received a Gift Card for the National Trust. This is an an Organisation which looks after old and historical buildings and other monuments. They do a fantastic job for the most part, but I think they are very expensive and loads of people visit so I generally avoid the places. However, it was a gift (and not my money) so I thought I might as well have a look.

The closest National Trust Property to us was Belton House which looked quite a nice building and was a rare chance for me to do some architecture photography.

Belton House0016PP.jpg

Quite an imposing building don't you think? According to Wikipedia it was originally built in the 1600's. There is loads more stuff I could waffle about but all I would be doing is copying and pasting stuff. Check the link if you want to find out more.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Belton_House

We paused to get Carrot Cake from the Café on site. It was gorgeous, but at the price I paid it had better had been!

Belton House0055PP.jpg

It cost extra to go into the house, so we stayed outside and looked at the formal gardens. Obviously in October, it wasn't looking its best, but it was still quite nice to have a walk around... my partner pointing out the names of various plants while I looked on, utterly clueless.

Belton House0058PP.jpg

Belton House0063PP.jpg

Credit where its due, its quite a nice looking building, and it has obviously been looked after. We had arrived here early and it had been quite quiet. We were now approaching lunchtime, and people were starting to gather and be a nuisance...

[I'm not a fan of people, can you tell?]

...so we headed off to explore the grounds surrounding the house. There was supposed to be Deer around here somewhere, but we couldn't find them. Instead we managed to find some Mushrooms, which was a blessed relief!

funghi0022PP.jpg
Shaggy Parasol - Chlorophyllum rhacodes

The first one was this Parasol species (Chlorophyllum family) but I'm not 100% on these, if you can do better then please let me know.

funghi0027PP.jpg
Sulphur Tuft - Hypholoma fasciculare

These were everywhere... mostly in open ground and fields. They are usually found in woods, so I probably have my ID wrong with this one

funghi0033PP.jpg
Shaggy Inkcap - Coprinus comatus

This was an easier one to identify...

funghi0036PP.jpg
Stump Puffballs (Lycoperdon pyriforme)

And these Puffballs growing on a tree stump are very likely to be Stump Puffballs

(if only they were all that easy eh?)

funghi0045PP.jpg
Unknown species.

It turned out to be a nice day in the end. And now that I have finally visited a National Trust building, I know to ignore it in future and go wander round a random field instead, its considerably cheaper haha!

Hiveblog divider.png

Thank you for reading, I hope you found it interesting.

If you have any thoughts or opinions on this article then I'd love to see your comments.
And if you really like the content then maybe you would like to upvote or re-hive it.

logofooter.JPG

All Photos taken by @dannewton unless otherwise stated.
Check out my website for more of my work.

Facebook - Instagram - 500px - Redbubble

Hiveblog divider.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency