A Lazy Fungi Friday: Mushrooms outside my Front Door

The weather is looking a bit grim here. I had planned to go for a wander to see if I could find any mushrooms for todays #FungiFriday for the Fungi Lovers Community. However I don't like taking pictures in the rain (I daren't risk my cameras getting wet!) and fortunately I seem to have a couple of species of mushrooms which have appeared right outside my front door!

Disclaimer: I have tried to ID most of these, but not all of them are confident IDs. If anyone here has a better idea of what some of these are then I would appreciate any input (even just to Genus or family level).

Fungi friday garden0644.jpg

This is the view from the bedroom window... most of these that you can see in this image are Sulphur Tuft. I spotted the first signs of these appearing about 3 days ago, and after last nights rain they have increased in size dramatically. On the the far right is a clump of mushrooms which look different, so I need to take a closer look.

Fungi friday garden0645.jpg

Another 'bedroom' shot, showing more Sulphur Tuft. In the top left of the picture are some small grey shapes, I suspect these are Common Puffballs, and this is where I saw them last year so that is likely... I need to go downstairs and check these out up close.

Fungi friday garden0652.jpg
Sulphur Tuft - Hypholoma fasciculare

As expected, these are indeed Sulphur Tuft. Extremely common this time of year across the UK. They are usually found in woodland near Dead Trees. There used to be a Cherry Tree in this location a few years ago. We chopped it down as it was too near the house, and it was looking potentially unsafe.

Fungi friday garden0654.jpg
Sulphur Tuft - Hypholoma fasciculare

Fungi friday garden0648.jpg
Glistening Inkcap - Coprinellus micaceus

The mystery mushrooms I spotted from the window earlier.. these look to be Glistening Inkcaps...

Fungi friday garden0649.jpg
Glistening Inkcap - Coprinellus micaceus

...and a close up of one of the frayed edge of one of the mushrooms shows the edge turning black.

Fungi friday garden0655.jpg
Common Puffball - Lycoperdon perlatum

And here we have several Common Puffballs. I only noticed one last year in the long grass, so perhaps there were more that I didn't see. Or maybe like other plants as the Puffball establishes its self and gets stronger it will produce more fruit bodies? Time will tell I guess

Fungi friday garden0658.jpg
Turkey Tail - Trametes versicolor?

This one I believe to be Turkey Tail. There was an exposed root here, but its now been completely taken over

So that is 4 species of mushrooms seen less than 3 metres from my front door. Pretty cool eh? And one of those is new to this site, (Glistening Inkcap) which means I can add it to my ever increasing Species List of my Garden.

I then decided to dig out a macro lens to take some more interesting shots like the Common Puffball.

Fungi friday garden0672.jpg
Common Puffball - Lycoperdon perlatum

Fungi friday garden0659.jpg
Pleated Inkcap - Parasola plicatilis

And while I am on my knees I start finding more mushrooms! This is a Pleated Inkcap, I didn't even see this the first time round... perhaps I need to take a closer look!

Fungi friday garden0663.jpg
Pleated Inkcap - Parasola plicatilis

This is another Pleated Inkcap, but much smaller... this is an earlier stage which will grow to match the first one.

Fungi friday garden0671.jpg
UNKNOWN 1

And then I see these tiny little mushrooms nearby! No idea on these so far...each 'cap' is just 5-8mm across, smaller than my little fingernail.

Fungi friday garden0676.jpg
UNKNOWN 2

Another Unknown one, this one was sligtly larger than the previous one, but still not sure on the ID.

These 2 unknown ones will not have been recorded here before, which means if I can actually ID them I will add them to the list. On that note I will head back inside and consult the Books and the Internet for possible names, and I'll finish this post with a couple of closeups.

Thanks for reading, and I'll see you all next time for more Mushroom Madness on #FungiFriday!

Fungi friday garden0678.jpg
Sulphur Tuft - Hypholoma fasciculare

Fungi friday garden0679.jpg
Glistening Inkcap - Coprinellus micaceus

Hiveblog divider.png

Thank you for reading, I hope you found it interesting.

If you have any thoughts or opinions on this article then I'd love to see your comments.
And if you really like the content then maybe you would like to upvote or re-hive it.

logofooter.JPG

All Photos taken by @dannewton unless otherwise stated.
Check out my website for more of my work.

Facebook - Instagram - 500px - Redbubble

Hiveblog divider.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency