Fungi Friday - SOME UNEXPECTED SPRINGTIME FINDINGS IN THE WOODS

I went for a walk a few days ago, pretty deep into the coastal forest about 12 kilometers from where I live, in search for interesting springtime details ... that include flowers, spiders and insects ... mostly ... and I have found some ... but ...

img_1925_malo.jpg

... quite unexpectedly - I found some fungi as well ...

img_1924_malo.jpg

... among them was also this thing that I never saw before ... it's hard as wood, and it has some very large pores on its vivid brown, almost orange lower surface ...

img_1923_malo.jpg

... the upper side is completely black ...

img_1922_malo.jpg

... it looks like coated with tar.

img_1910_malo.jpg

Nearby, on fallen twigs ...

img_1917_malo.jpg

... I found a few small patches of some crust fungi ...

img_1913_malo.jpg

... maybe Stereum hirsutum, but I'm not sure ... and then ...

img_1930_malo.jpg

... on another tree, I found another one of those mysterious fungi that started the post ...

img_1928_malo.jpg

... this one was a bit larger.

img_1908_malo.jpg

On the ground, in the same area ...

img_1902_malo.jpg

... I found this small, fragile umbrella. Maybe some Entoloma species ...

img_1903_malo.jpg

... it's a pretty generic looking little mushroom, I encounter quite a few similar looking species in autumn.

img_1932_malo.jpg

In another area, several hundreds meters from there, I found some interesting markings on the bark of the tree ...

img_1935_malo.jpg

... when I came closer and took a better look ...

img_1937_malo.jpg

... I realized that I just found another kind of mushrooms ...

img_1945_malo.jpg

... these were desiccated and leathery ...

img_1944_malo.jpg

... they surely look pretty different when fresh.

img_1860_malo.jpg

Some meters from there, under another tree in that area, I found a fallen branch with some more of those mysterious fungi from the opening shots of the post ... these were less vividly colored on the lower side ...

img_1865_malo.jpg

... here I could get closer with the camera ...

img_1876_malo.jpg

... and take a few macro shots ... on this photograph you can (barely!) see a well camouflaged spider on the pores of the fungi.

img_1862_malo.jpg

Here I put the branch in the vertical position to get a better view of the fungi.

img_1800_malo.jpg

This colorful Ganoderma was the last fungus that I found on that day.

img_1795_malo.jpg

As always in these posts on HIVE, the photographs are my work.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency