This Fungus Looks More Like A Sandworm From Dune Than A Regular Mushroom | Peanut Butter Cup Fungus

As one of the areas abundant with rubber trees, rubber cultivation has become one of the main livelihoods in my community. Almost every family even has their own rubber plantation. In the past, we had plenty of rubber trees behind our house, and we used to collect their latex to sell. However, lately, these rubber trees have started to die and dry up due to their considerable age. One by one, the trees fall and rot. Some are used as firewood, while the rest are left to dry out and decompose.

The moist, decaying wood always becomes a suitable habitat for mushroom growth. Various types of mushrooms usually sprout from these decaying woods, including the fungi commonly known as "Grigit." However, despite their abundant growth, we rarely consume these types of mushrooms, especially those growing on tree trunks.

Yesterday morning, when I was looking at one of the rubber tree trunks that is often overgrown with various types of mushrooms, I stumbled upon a Peanut Buttercup Fungus growing in the damp area.

Although still young and cup-shaped, this mushroom will expand over time without having a stem. One of my reactions upon seeing it was the urge to tear off its top part because it was a brighter color than the sides, it looked like a chewy jelly.

It reminded me of the sandworms in the Dune universe, hehe.



Sandworm

Even in its youth, this mushroom looks more like a leech, relatively large compared to typical mushrooms, albeit lacking sharp teeth on top.

As I mentioned in my previous post, the high rainfall leads to the abundant growth of mushrooms.

Pictures taken by me using the Google Pixel 3A camera

line.png

Thank you for taking your time to read and support my blog! I would love to see you in my next post.
Find me on Instagram | YouTube | Meta | Blog

line.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency