Fungi Friday Hike

šŸ„#fungifriday by @ewkaw

~Chicken of the woods~
I went for a short hike in the woods few days ago hoping I might find some Chicken of the woods fungi.
I was excited and delighted when I saw a couple of patches of bright orange not to far ahead of me but what I was clearly seeing was nested on the forest floor.

20200909_202633.jpg

This was my first time NOT seeing Chicken of the woods growing on the side, at the base or log of an old Oak or Maple tree.
These two beauties were growing on what I could determine was the old extended roots from a nearby by Maple tree.

20200909_202256.jpg

Chicken of the woods is edible
and should be harvested from deciduous tree like Oaks, Maples and Beech.
Not conifers such Pine and Hemlock.
From what I've read the fungi can absorb some of the oils from conifers which can cause GI distress if eaten.
I did not do any harvesting because I was feeling uncertain.

20200909_202436.jpg

I was feeling very satisfied with my fungi find and enjoyed taking pictures.
I turned around to head back to my cabin when I saw another one I had walked right past on the back side of a Maple tree.
It's always a good idea to stop once and while when walking in the woods and turn around and look back and look up too.

20200910_074533.jpg

šŸ¤—šŸ„
I always welcome feedback on identification. A fungi expert I am NOT but a fungi enthusiast and appreciator I truly am.

~Happy Fungi Friday~

Please...please do your own extensive research before even being to think about eating mushrooms.

Photography by,
@annephilbrick
šŸƒšŸƒ

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency