Fungi Friday: Exploring New Territory and Finding Beautiful Mushrooms

#fungifriday by @ewkaw

I was out on a lovely long day drive last September when I discovered a great place to stop do some exploring and most definitely yes..hoping to see some mushrooms..!!

20210416_135808.jpg

I started walking down along the edge of the dirt road where I had parked when soon I noticed these two amazing tall stately mushrooms.

20210305_092410.jpg

I continued on walking down the road for only a short distance when I noticed a narrow trail leading in the direction of the water.

20210225_183021.jpg

After having walked only a short distance down the trail I saw another tall beautiful mushroom.

My apologies for not being able to submit a positive identification but I'm thinking might be a Parasol.
Macrolepiota procera var.

20210305_113507.jpg

At the end of the trail not far from the water I discovered a circle of stones with a purple Cora Bell (Heuchera) growing inside it.
I am familiar with this perennial plant but I haven't seen one just randomly growing in wild. I believe someone purposely planted it there.
My first thought when I saw the stones it was a campfire site but there was no noticeable evidence of it having been used 🔥.

20210416_120825.jpg

I for sure had found a most wonderful new place to explore.
Under some tall pines trees another interesting fungi find. They are not gilled. Maybe..Bolete sp.?

20210305_113744.jpg

Feeling a little hungry I looked around for a place to sit and eat a little portion of the snacks I had tucked away in my daypack. I rarely head off into unfamiliar territory without carrying a little food. My popular choice of nutrition. Cheese, apple, protein bars and water.

20210308_132750.jpg

I found the perfect spot to sit down for a little while near a couple of Yellow fly Agaric mushrooms.

20210416_120922.jpg

The plant with the little berries to right of the Yellow fly mushroom is a False Solomon’s seal (Maianthemum racemosum).

I would like to return back to wonderful place again this year and explore around some more.

🍄😊Happy👉#Fungifriday..!!

Photography by,
@annephilbrick

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency