Parenting 101: How I answered my son's questions about human private parts.

Hello, lovely Hivers and motherhood community. I hope we are all doing great today.🌸

img_0.3052799697099818
Lead image edited in Canva

Children have a lot of unending questions, especially when they hit the toddler stage. They become curious about anything and everything. That's why they discovered and asked questions about certain things. Children, especially toddlers, are like sponges; they will always believe what you say and imitate what you do, which is why, as a parent, I am always careful in answering my son's questions and also in how I do things because he is watching.

img_0.770568427277718

Image Source

I've been a breastfeeding mom for three years and I am proud of it; I just weaned him last November, 2021, because I got sick and needed antibiotics, which are not recommended for breastfeeding mothers. As a breastfeeding mom for over 3 years, I am really attached to my son and also to my boobies, and until now he has always said that he loves my boobies and even hugs and kisses them. I don't have any problems with that as I treat him as my little baby. We also do the shower together, and when he reached 3 years old, I started to ask my fellow mothers if it's still advisable to do the shower with your kid, especially when it's a boy. As I said, they are starting to be curious about anything and everything, and as they grow older, maybe they think it's just okay to do the shower with the opposite sex or expose your son to women's private parts. Don't get me wrong with this. I know children are still innocent, but I am just wondering as a parent.

When my son turned three, I started to explain to him about body parts, especially the private organs of a boy and a girl, because he was curious about why me and him have different body parts. That's why I explained to him that if you're a boy you have this kind of private part and if you are a girl you have this kind of private part and I'm glad that he understood it as he already distinguished who's the boy and who the girl.

img_0.902149966033322
Image Source

Earlier, when it was shower time, he asked me a question again. Here's our conversation:

Him: Mama, I have a little boobie, and you have a big boobie.

I was laughing after he asked this question, because why was he asking me that kind? But I was also happy because he was curious about things, and that meant he was observing and learning. As a parent, this is a very crusual stage for me on how to explain and answer my son's questions about that matter.

Here's my answer to his questions.

You have a little boobie because you're still a little and boys don't have a grown up boobie, only big girls like me. Even if you grow up, you only have a little boobie because you're a boy.

And then I point out my niece, who is a girl.

And as for Patty (my female niece), she's a little girl and she has a little boobie now, but once she grows up like me and mommy, she will have a big boob too.

Then, when my husband arrived to have lunch, I told him our son's questions.

For a mother like me, I am happy when I answer a question from my curious son. It is also a way of educating them at an early age, and I am glad to see him ask a question every time he is curious about something.

Do your curious children ask you questions like this? How do you handle and answer these questions? I am glad to hear your answer on comment section 🌸

Mommy Yen 🌸

img_0.670669504640445

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency