TWO DAYS AFTER MY CEASERAN SECTION...

I received a call from a relative while still lying on the hospital bed recovering gradually from the surgery I went through. I was still feeling pains all over my C-section area, still practicing walking again, getting down from my bed was still like a nightmare on that second day. The last call I expected to receive was that of a depressing call from a so-called relative. in her words, she said and I quote "why didn't you allow yourself to be in labor and try vaginal delivery before accepting to be cut with a knife 🔪 in your tummy just to give birth"? I kept quiet... She went further to say and I quote, "you should have allowed yourself to give birth normally like your fellow women and not through surgery, anyways congrats".... hmmm, I was speechless to respond to such hurtful words from a woman like me who knew my story right from my first issue. I ended the call to avoid responding to her arrogantly out of anger but I called her back after 5 hours to let her understand why I made such a decision.

Screenshot_2023-01-21-11-57-03-98_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg

After some gynecologists reviewed my case, they gave me professional advice which I followed. What matters to me is to deliver safely and behold my bundle of joy without issues. It doesn't matter the method of my birthing but sadly enough, some women have lost their babies (especially here in Nigeria) due to arguments with the doctors over the caesarian section(cs). Our mentality needs to change for good.. seeing my baby alive after surgery makes me fulfilled and adhere to the instructions of the medical practitioners for a speedy recovery.

Screenshot_2023-01-21-11-57-51-50_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg

The rupture of the uterus is real, I am saying this for anyone who thinks otherwise. This is the main reason why doctors hardly allow mothers who have done CS before to experience labor. In most cases, they will advise you to go for CS when your child is due for delivery but also gives you room to sign ✍️ if you choose to go for vaginal delivery incase of an emergency. Two days ago, I received a call from one of my close friends. The surgery she did 10 years ago...she took in again this time and decided to go for vaginal delivery since it's been a long she did her last CS. I also thought that she must have recovered fully to deliver vaginally but surprisingly, she had rupture of the uterus within an hour of falling into labor. She was rushed to the theater for an emergency cesarean section, glad she survived it after so much bleeding. One other mum I went to visit the other time, had the same rupture of the uterus while under labor. In her case, she did CS just in a space of one year so going into labor was risky for her health, although she didn't want to fall into labor, when it started, she rushed to the hospital but the nurses available were reluctant to listen to her. They kept telling her that her time haven't reached but she was experiencing so many contractions which is a sign of labor. I wished they listened to her and called on the doctor's attention but it was too late ...her uterus ruptured, and she nearly went into a coma..they did surgery and brought out the baby but blood was all over the baby...blood filled all her organs and the baby died! The woman survived it but was going crazy.

20220815_123858_0001.png

In summary, every pregnancy is never the same, women should always seek medical advice and follow it. I know that some mothers experience Cs in their first delivery and the second, through vaginal delivery without issues but in everything, monitor your health and follow doctors' professional advice. At the end of the day, what we are all expecting is a healthy mom and a healthy child.

Screenshot_2023-01-21-11-55-55-31_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg

THANK YOU FOR READING!!!

PLEASE NOTE, ALL PICTURES ARE MINE_

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency