Hoy seré una mamá desobediente [esp/eng]


Foto de Paulina Milde-Jachowska en Unsplash




This post is both in English and Spanish, you can go directly to Español by clicking HERE


Mommy, I don't want to go to school today! my son shouts from bed. It's just that it's too cold, he continues.

However, as a mother I must teach that responsibility goes beyond the weather, beyond tiredness and that only in extreme cases are we partly exempt from doing what has to be done.

Educating by example is important, because if they contradict your messages, the children will have arguments not to obey.

But, in my case, being a somewhat atypical mother, I use example in a different way, since I believe that the order of the factors does not always affect the product, and using the element of surprise has worked very well with my children.

When my oldest son was about 5 years old, he was very unaccustomed to the fact that I had to bring him something after work, as my mom and aunt would tell him to ask me "what did you bring me"? as if it was a daily obligation.

One day, upon returning home and hearing his usual question, I replied, I brought you a mom, safe and sound! To which he replied, but you always come, what good is that to me, I wanted something sweet to eat!

I was not going to stay with that answer, so when I returned home, he came out with a drawing as a gift for me, and said: Mom, look what I made you! I exclaimed: That! and what good is a drawing to me! I wanted something sweet to eat!





The impact that my words caused, were a holy remedy for him to stop asking me every day, and to be surprised and happy every time I came home.

Now that there are no longer one, but two kids at home, the routines are still the same and sometimes even more radical, since it is not possible to please everyone all the time.

I try that they not only collaborate with the house chores, but that they learn that it is important that they actively participate in each one of them, since we all share the same space, and it is not only mom's job to make sure that things go well.

With adolescence, my oldest son brings me upside down, and I try to get him out of his natural state of boredom and laziness so that he does what he should do, at least with his things.




My son´s bed 😠




However, resorting to my black humor and unorthodox parenting techniques, one day I decided to declare myself disobedient. It was a huge effort, since being compulsively organized, seeing everything out of order generated some stress.

Yesterday the dishes were dirty, the beds untidy, the table full of things and so on, what is always in its place, was left just as they left it.

When they returned home in the afternoon, their surprise could not have been greater. They expected to see everything spotless as they always leave it before leaving for work, and the impression was: mom went crazy.






That day there was no lunch ready either, I settled for a glass of milk, and that's how they resorted to the cupboard to see what they could help themselves.

The rest of the day was the same, I didn't do anything I usually do, I was tempted to stay in bed watching youtube or playing on the phone, as they usually do, but I really didn't see the point, so I went to work in the afternoon and when I came back in the evening, I had a glass of yogurt and went to bed to sleep.






The result? Today they got up at the first call, organized their bed and left on time for school... I'll let you know how the rest of the day goes....



separador_mamaemigrante._png

español



Mamáaaa, no quiero ir a la escuela hoy! grita mi hijo desde la cama. Es que hace mucho frío, continúa.

Sin embargo, como mamá debo enseñar que la responsabilidad va más allá del clima, del cansancio y que solo en casos extremos estamos exentos en parte de cumplir con lo que hay que hacer.

Educar con el ejemplo es importante, porque al contradecir tus mensajes, los hijos tendrán alegatos para no obedecer.

Pero, en mi cao, que soy una madre un tanto atípica, uso el ejemplo de una forma diferente, ya que considero que no siempre el orden de los factores afecta el producto, y usar el elemento sorpresa me ha funcionado muy bien con mis niños.

Cuando mi hijo mayor tendría unos 5 años, estaba muy mal acostumbrado a que yo debía llevarle algo luego de mi jornada laboral, ya que mi mamá y mi tía le decían que me preguntara "qué me trajiste"? como si era una obligación diaria.

Un día, al regresar a casa y escuchar su pregunta habitual, le respondí, te traje una mamá, sana y salva!. A lo que él me responde, pero siempre vienes, eso de que me sirve, yo quería algo dulce para comer!

No me iba a quedar con esa respuesta, por lo que cuando al regresar a casa, él sale con un dibujo como regalo para mi, y me dice: mamá, mira lo que te hice! Yo exclamé: Eso! y de que me sirve a mi un dibujo! Yo quería algo dulce para comer!






El impacto que causaron mis palabras, fueron santo remedio para que dejara de preguntarme a diario, y se sorprendiera y alegrara cada vez que volvía a casa.

Ahora, que ya no es uno, sino dos chicos en casa, las rutinas siguen siendo las mismas y a veces hasta más radicales, ya que no se pueden complacer a todos, todo el tiempo.

Trato que ellos no solo colaboren con las tareas de casa, sino que aprendan a que es importante que participen activamente en cada una de ellas, ya que todos compartimos un mismo espacio, y no es solo función de mamá que las cosas salgan bien.

Con la adolescencia, mi hijo mayor me trae de cabeza, y busco sacarlo de su estado natural de aburrimiento y flojera para que haga lo que debe hacer, por lo menos con sus cosas.




La cama de mi hijo 😠




Sin embargo, recurriendo a mi humor negro y mis poco ortodoxas técnicas de crianza, un día decidí declararme desobediente. Fue un esfuerzo enorme, ya que al ser organizada compulsiva, ver todo fuera de orden me generaba cierto stress.

Ayer los platos quedaron sucios, las camas desarregladas, la mesa llena de cosas y así sucesivamente, lo que suele siempre estar en su puesto, quedó tal cual ellos lo dejaron.

Al regresar a casa en la tarde, su sorpresa no pudo ser mayor. Ellos esperaban ver todo impoluto como siempre lo dejo antes de salir a trabajar, y la impresión fue: mamá se volvió loca.






Ese día tampoco hubo almuerzo listo, yo me conformé con tomar un vaso con leche, y fue así como recurrieron a la alacena a ver que podían servirse por su cuenta.

El resto del día fue igual, no hice nada de lo que usualmente hago, estuve tentada a quedarme en cama viendo youtube o jugando en el teléfono, como ellos suelen hacer, pero realmente no le veía sentido, así que me fui a mi jornada vespertina de trabajo y al regresar en la noche, tomé un vaso de yogurt y me acosté a dormir.






Resultado? Hoy se levantaron a la primera llamada, organizaron su cama y salieron a tiempo para sus escuelas... ya les contaré como sigue el resto del día...



Este relato es mi participación en el #retodecreaciondecontenido


separador_mamaemigrante._png


Fotografías por/Photografy by: Paula Milde- Jachowska, and @mamaemigrante
Separador by: cortesy of @valeriavalentina
Edición/Edition by: @mamaemigrante
Traducido por/ translate with: www.deepl.com/translator (free version)
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency