Nada que no pueda enseñarse con amor [ES-EN]

pexels-photo-8550834.jpeg

Pexels

Having children is a big challenge, so much so that I can say it is the most difficult I have faced in my life, but at the same time it is the experience that has given me the most happiness in my life, because children fill us with tender and funny moments, filling us with love with their innocence.

In short, it is a beautiful experience, which I can only say that it passes too quickly, but what happens when they are no longer so tender? When they are full of new emotions, changes and it's hard for them to deal with everything in their mind, yes, I'm talking about when they become teenagers.

I think everything gets complicated at this stage, it is the expert level of a video game, in a game you have never played before, it is a complete madness, in which patience does not yield much, for either side and for a parent, even if you have lived through that stage and understand your child, this is quite hard to handle.

Some time ago I was living with two of my ex-wife's nephews, who were teenagers, and they were quite revalent and I used to lose my patience, and I could not imagine how difficult it was for their parents to deal with that and I was worried about reaching that stage with my children.

Tener niños es un reto grande, tanto que puedo decir que es el más difícil que he enfrentado en mi vida, pero al mismo tiempo es la experiencia que más felicidad ha dado a mi vida, pues los hijos nos llenan de momentos tiernos y graciosos, llenandonos de amor con su inocencia.

En definitiva es una experiencia bonita, qur solo puedo decir que pasa demasiado rápido, pero ¿que pasa cuando ya no son tan tiernos? Cuando están llenos de emociones nuevas, cambios y les cuesta mucho lidiar con todo lo que hay en su mente, si, estoy hablando de cuando se vuelven adolescentes.

Creo que todo se complica en esta etapa, es el nivel experto de un videojuegos, en un juego que nunca antes has jugado, es una comnpleta locura, en la que la paciencia no rinde mucho, para ninguno de los dos bandos y para un padre, por más que allá vivido esa etapa y entienda a su hijo, esto es bastante rudo de manejar.

Hace tiempo estuve viviendo con dos sobrinos de mi ex esposa, que eran adolescentes, ellos eran bastante revaldes y yo, solía perder la paciencia, y no me podía imaginar lo difícil que era para sus padres lidiar con eso y me preocupaba llegar a esa etapa con mis hijos.


pexels-photo-3205403.jpeg

Pexels

The time has come, my oldest son is fourteen years old now, and although I have always thought that he became a teenager before, it is now that I am seeing that the moment I feared so much has arrived and I must admit that I do not like it and what makes it worse is that we are far away, he is in Chile and I am in Colombia.

My oldest daughter, the one who follows the boy, is eleven and yes, she is starting to have the same attitudes, sometimes I notice how they roll their eyes when I tell them something during a video call or that they question anything I tell them, not like before when they looked at me as the smartest man in the world.

I know that growing up is part of life, and I want them to do it and that they can be well and have a happy life, but it is sad to see how those jokes, that used to make them laugh out loud, is boring for them, or that they no longer like the same things they did a few months ago. I mean I'm getting to know these new kids, who happen to be my kids, but they don't look anything like them.

Although it's rough, I've been thinking and remembering about how I was, and what I needed in those moments, it's true that I just wanted to be with my friends and have fun, but I also wanted my parents to understand me, they just didn't know how to talk to me and it's clear that I knew less how to talk to them.

Llegó el momento, mi hijo mayor tiene catorse años ya, y aunque yo siempre he pensado que llego a ser adolescente desde antes, es ahorita que estoy viendo que llegó el momento que tanto temía y debo admitir que no me gusta y que lo que lo hace peor, es que estamos lejos, el en Chile y yo en Colombia.

Mi hija mayor, la que le sigue al varón, tiene once y si, ya está comenzando a tener las mismas actitudes, a veces noto como voltean los ojos cuando les digo algo durante una videollamada o que cuestionan cualquier cosa que les digo, no como antes que me miraban como el hombre más inteligente del mundo.

Se que crecer es parte de la vida, y quiero que lo hagan y que puedan estar bien y tener una vida feliz, pero es triste ver como esas bromas, que antes los hacían reírse a carcajadas, es aburrido para ellos, o que ya no le gustan las mismas cosas que hace algunos meses atrás. Es decir que estoy conociendo a estos nuevos chicos, que resulta que son mis hijos, pero no se parecen en nada.

Aunque es rudo, he estado pensando y recordando en cómo era yo, y en lo que necesitaba en esos momentos, es verdad que sólo quería estar con mis amigos y divertirme, pero quería también que mis padres me entendieran, solo que no sabían cómo hablar conmigo y es claro que yo menos sabía hablar con ellos.


pexels-photo-5727783.jpeg

Pexels

Thinking about this, I decided even though I am far away, to take the time to talk to them, but in the right way, not criticizing what they like, but getting to know them and not judging them for how they feel, but helping them to handle all this that is new.

Anyway, it takes a lot of communication and I will try my best not to miss that. I am not a perfect parent, but the opposite of that, I am full of flaws, but one thing is for sure, I love them, and I know that love will move me to do everything I wanted them to do with me at that age.

Pensando en esto, decidí aunque estoy lejos, tomarme el tiempo de hablar con ellos, pero de la manera correcta, son criticar lo que les gusta, sino conociéndolo y son juzgarlos por cómo se sienten, sino ayudándolos a manejar todo esto que es nuevo.

En fin, se requiere mucha comunicación y me esforzaré para que eso no falte. No soy un padre perfecto, sino lo opuesto a eso, estoy lleno de defectos, pero una cosa si es segura, los amo, y se que ese amor me moverá a hacer todo lo que yo quise que hicieran conmigo a esa edad.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now