My SCARiest Experience as a Mother: Dog bite Awareness


Hello Hivers! Especially to all mothers here. We know being a mother is a tough job but we are strong enough to face the challenges for the betterment of our child.

InCollage_20221103_170313065.jpg

I know we have unforgettable events or incidents we had encountered. As a mother, we make sure the security of our children our priority but some instances are out of our control. Just like mine - my SCARiest experience as a mother - that it leaves scars on my child's face and my heart.


March 2020 🕰️

It was March 2020, when the Department of Education announced the suspension of classes due to Covid-19. Everybody was not allowed to go outside unless buying food or any essentials needed in the market with our quarantine pass.

It was a pleasant morning when I and my son step in front of our yard. Since our house has no fence, there were dogs that usually went to our yard. The neighborhood dogs were friendly, especially to my son, Allison. Most of the dogs at our place are "Aspin" or "asong Pinoy". We don't have any dogs because my son was still small to have them so we just enjoyed the neighborhood's dogs by letting them eat our leftovers, playing with them, and most especially let them snuggle when we were around.

InCollage_20221103_161557105.jpg

Have to use black and white filter

My husband fed our piggies just 5 steps away from our house and I let my 3-year-old son walk to his father and went inside to get a towel when all of a sudden a dog snapped my son!

And it's no ordinary dog, it is one of those labeled as CRAZY or with RABID. My son cried with a lot of blood on his face! I scream at the top of my lungs! My husband in his rage rushed to catch the rabid dog and with all his might and anger, killed it. I washed my son with soap and water while crying. How could this happen to my son in just a split second!


In the Hospital 🏥

InCollage_20221103_162324088.jpg

InCollage_20221103_162303898.jpg

We rushed him to the hospital riding a bike. I forgot that I'm 6 months pregnant then. There were barriers and frontliners at that time and as soon as they saw my son, they signal other front liners to let us pass.

In the hospital, he was rushed to the emergency room to be injected with a vial worth 1,200 pesos and other injections like anti-rabies. Supposedly, the vial should be taken to two patients but because of his wounds, he has to take it all. Allison had to receive 12 shots to be injected into each of his wounds and we have to restrain him.

His upper lip was like cut using a knife that caused a lot of blood and his largest wound was in his lower left eye which the paw of the dog ripped. According to the doctor, it was dangerous because it was nearer to the brain. I had mixed emotions as he received the doses. I too cried while repressing him. Until it was done, hugging him was the only thing I could do.

InCollage_20221104_105017596.jpg

Although I don't understand the doses here as long as my son is saved now

The doctor instructed us to come back after a week because we must complete the 4 sessions of anti-rabies with oral medicine. He prescribed an antibacterial suspension. The dog shouldn't be killed for the reason that we have to observe it for 14 days but because of the wounds my son got, no need for observation.


InCollage_20221103_161650310.jpg

At Home 🏠

When we arrived home our neighbors came to check on us including the owner of the said dog. I let my son sleep. We don't know where that dog came from not until they told us that it was the dog from the upper house (I think, 500 meters away from our house). The dog's owner told us that their dog didn't eat for a while and was aggressive as well. It wasn't caged but it has a bowknot.

In the morning they saw that it escaped. They admitted that it has not been vaccinated. They promised to pay us all the damages the dog had caused. As soon as my son completed the doses, we only received 300 pesos from them. We just understand them due to their status in life. The rabid dog also bit the pig and goat of our neighbors.


InCollage_20221103_162113490.jpg

InCollage_20221103_162159301.jpg

Recovering Stage

It's not easy for him to recover from this kind of situation since he cannot touch his swelling face. He can eat well but because of the wound, he tends to cry. As a mother, a cannot bear to see him like that. All I can do is take care of him. All of my attention is on him.

InCollage_20221103_161932525.jpg

After 2 weeks of medication and injections, he's now smiling😊

InCollage_20221103_162235618.jpg

InCollage_20221103_162522700.jpg

InCollage_20221103_162504690.jpg

His smiles made my heart jump for joy when we conquered this challenge.


InCollage_20221103_161913750.jpg

Silly pose

Reflections✨

Our children are the reason for a complete family. Taking care of them, educating them, and letting them choose what they want in the future with our guidance as well. Let them grow with fears in God so that all of their doing be by Him.

InCollage_20221105_140411921.jpg

InCollage_20221105_140440783.jpg

It's not our dog, it's our neighbor's. Its name is "Maldita", which is always on our doorstep waiting for leftovers. Sometimes, playing with my kids.

In addition, owning a pet especially a dog should be given attention for it is like humans that we have to nurture them, vaccinate them, groom and a lot of effort. My family wanted to have dogs perhaps soon when my children are capable enough to handle them. I once asked my son about this and you know what he said? "I like puppy mama" and I told him Are you not afraid of dogs anymore? I am not, I like puppies like the smaller one and like, my heart is so happy that he's not scared anymore and not closing doors to have one.

Moreover, that experience we have, made us a lot of lessons. Coincidence is more of what we consider. The scariest experience made a SCAR ON HIS FACE and in my heart.

Thank you for reading this far Hivers! I appreciate it a lot. Have a good day!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency