Emily's Infertility Blog // ERA

January 5th, 2021, the day after we learned of our failed transfer we had an appointment over the phone with our doctor. She suggested that we do a procedure called an ERA. ERA stands for Endometrial Receptivity Array. It is a diagnostic procedure that can help determine if your body is ready for a transfer. She explained to us that we would be doing everything that we would normally do leading up to a transfer. Ross and I both agreed that would be the best step going forward. On the 8th I began taking Estradiol 2 mg twice a day and had my baseline ultrasound/blood work.

I have mentioned before that my clinic requires you to have an SIS (Saline Infusion Sonogram) done every 6 months. Well as it seemed my 6 months were up. I was scheduled for the SIS on the 18th. Once again not one of my favorite things, it's very uncomfortable.

The next day I had to go back for my Endo check. They decided that my body needed more Estradiol so I was to continue taking the Estradiol 2x a day but instead of taking it orally, they wanted me to take it vaginally and come back on the 26th. On the 26th my Endo check indicated that my body was responding how they wanted it to. I was to continue the Estradiol 2x a day but go back orally and begin Endometin vaginally 3x a day. My ERA Biopsy was scheduled for the 1st of February.

20210201_115428.jpg
Photos and Post By: Emily Horstman

I was prescribed a Valium to take on the day of the ERA Biopsy. Just like with a transfer they want you to come with a full bladder. I had to be at the clinic at 11:30. They called us back and we went into a normal room. Dr. Mann and a nurse came in and talked over the procedure with us. She explained that she would be placing a catheter up to my uterus and would be scraping a sample off of my uterine lining. – Sounds painful right? Trust me it was. The whole thing lasted maybe 5 minutes. Once they were done Dr. Mann and the nurse left the room and I just had to lay there for a couple of minutes. They told us that the results normally take about 3 weeks give or take. I was also told to stop taking Estradiol and Endometin. While we waited on the results of the ERA we received new packets of donor embryos and we selected our top 3 and made our payment so they could be on hold for us once the results came back.

We received the ERA results on February 18th. My results showed that I needed 136 hours more of progesterone exposure prior to the time of transfer. The nurse told us that for the next transfer cycle I would have to take my meds in a certain time frame. She said that once I started my next cycle we would come in and start the transfer cycle. It was a relief knowing that there was something more that we could do to better help us become parents. Now we just needed to wait a few more weeks and get things going again.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency