Emily's Infertility Blog // Egg Retrieval #2

August 26, 2020

My second egg retrieval was a little different from my first. I was a little more prepared and knew how the procedure was going to go down. Still a little nervous on how many eggs where going to be retrieved but not so nervous about the actual procedure. If you remember from last time it was supper hard to get my IV going so I asked Dr. Mann if I could be prescribed some numbing cream. She agreed and prescribed me Lidocaine/Prilocaine Cream. Lidocaine/Prilocaine Cream is a numbing cream that you apply to the area that you would like to be numb 30 minutes prier and you need to cover it up. Keeping the cream coved tightly helps the medicine work properly. I decided to put it on two different areas just in case.

20200826_094619.jpg
Photos and Post By: Emily Horstman

When we arrived at the clinic I signed in and was walked back to the dressing room where I was provided with the lovely hospital gown, hair net and booties. Once I was dressed I got settled into my bed and had to sign some forms. That’s when we found out some cool/exciting news. We would get to do a fresh transfer if everything went well with the retrieval. That meant once the egg(s) were fertilized and made it to a full blown embryo we could do a transfer within 5 days and the embryo wouldn’t have to be frozen and then thawed. After the forms were signed it was time for the dreaded IV. To my surprise the nurse got it in the first try and I of course didn’t feel a thing thanks to the numbing cream. I also knew from last time that I get very nauseous after being sedated. So they allowed me to take an Ondansetron and have a sip of water before taking me to the procedure room.

After waking up from the procedure I remember being hungry so they gave me some Cheez-Its and a Sprite. I had told Ross before they took me back to make sure and get some pictures of me being high from the meds. So please enjoy.

Dr. Mann was able to retrieved 7 eggs. I was scheduled to come in for the transfer on August 31st at 11:30 AM. The time between the egg retrieval and the transfer day was kind of a blur. We didn’t really get as many updates this time because Dr. Mann didn’t want to keep disturbing the process of the development of the embryos.

August 31, 2020, the day of the transfer. Ross decided to go into work that morning since we didn’t have to leave our house until 10:15. I stayed home to take a shower and get ready. Around 9:30 my phone rang, it was Dr. Mann. She told me that unfortunately none of our embryos survived/made it to full development. There wouldn’t be a transfer. I just dropped to my knees. She was so nice in giving the very unfortunate news. I feel like she was just as heart broken about it as we were. I immediately called Ross and told him to come home.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency