Hospitalized for COVID-19, my story || Hospitalizada por COVID-19, mi historia

Thank you God for giving me a new opportunity with my loved ones!

¡Gracias Dios por regalarme una nueva oportunidad al lado de mis seres queridos!

In addition, I must thank the "Virgen del Valle", "Santa Rosa de Lima" and my Guardian Angels for always accompanying me and protecting me

Además, debo agradecer a la Virgen del Valle, Santa Rosa de Lima y Mis Ángeles de la Guarda por acompañarme y protegerme siempre.


Portada mi enfermedad.png

separador flores.png

Dear readers, if you thought that what I told you in my previous post (Link) had been hard enough, we still had to suffer a little more before seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. Well, today I come to continue my story, to contextualize, in my previous publication I told you that I had moved to the city of Maturín, to help take care of my mother who was hospitalized. I also mentioned that I never imagined that I would not only lose my mother after a painful agony, but also that I would not even have time to mourn her. This, because I would have to find strength from where I had none, to wage a physical and psychological battle against the Covid-19 virus in order to stay alive.


Queridos lectores, si ustedes creían que lo que les conté en mi anterior publicación (Link) había sido suficientemente duro, aun nos faltaba, padecer un poco más, antes de ver la luz al final del túnel. Bueno, hoy vengo a continuar mi relato, para contextualizar, en mi publicación anterior les conté, que me había trasladado a la ciudad de Maturín, para ayudar a cuidar a mi mamá quien se encontraba hospitalizada. También les mencioné, que nunca imagine que no solo perdería a mi madre tras una dolorosa agonía, sino además, no tendría ni tiempo de poder llorarla. Esto, porque me tocaría sacar fuerzas de donde no tenia, para emprender una batalla física, y psicológica contra el virus del Covid-19, para mantenerme con vida.

separador flores.png

The first symptoms appeared on March 26, the same day my mother passed away, my body was screaming at me that it was battling an enemy. However, by that time I had many other things to worry about, so I put aside my discomfort. It took 7 days of sickness to confirm our suspicions that my sister and I had been infected with Coronavirus at the hospital where my mother was. And after the diagnosis, only 4 days were enough for my body to collapse on March 9th, the day I started my hospitalization.


Los primeros síntomas aparecieron el 26 de marzo, mismo día en que falleció mi madre, mi cuerpo me gritaba que se encontraba batallando con un enemigo. Sin embargo, para ese momento tenía muchas otras cosas en que preocuparme, así que, hice a un lado mi malestar. Pasaron 7 días de malestares, hasta confirmar nuestras sospechas que, mi hermana y yo nos habíamos contagiado de Coronavirus en el centro hospitalario donde se encontraba mi mamá. Y luego del diagnóstico, solo 4 días bastaron, para que mi organismo no pudiera más y colapsara el 9 de marzo, día en que inicio mi hospitalización.

separador flores.png

IMG_20210310_125938.jpg

separador flores.png

But it was not that simple, as we Venezuelans know, our public health system, after years of disinvestment, is on the floor. As soon as I arrived at Covid's hospitalization area at the Manuel Núñez Tovar Hospital in Maturín, I was told that I needed a flowmeter, because there was none available at that time. This device was essential for me, without it, they could not connect me to oxygen and stabilize the oxygen saturation levels in my body, which was very dangerous. It should be noted that this is essential equipment to provide first aid in cases of respiratory problems. So all stations with oxygen dispensers inside the hospital should have one, which is not happening in a large percentage.


Pero no fue así de simple, como sabemos los venezolanos, nuestro sistema de salud público, después de años de desinversión, está en el suelo. Apenas llegue al área de hospitalización de Covid en el Hospital Manuel Núñez Tovar de Maturín, me indicaron que necesitaba un Flujometro, porque no había ninguno disponible en ese momento. Ese aparatico era esencial para mí, sin él, no me podrían conectar al oxígeno y estabilizar los niveles de saturación de oxígeno en mi organismo, lo que era muy peligroso. Cabe destacar, que ese es un equipo esencial para prestar primeros auxilios, en casos de problemas respiratorios. Por lo que todas las estaciones con surtidores de oxigeno dentro del hospital deberían tener uno, lo que no está ocurriendo en un gran porcentaje.

separador flores.png

For my family, it was impossible to buy it at that time, it cost around $200, so that was not an option. Thank God, I remembered that the husband of a childhood friend, whom I had seen again after more than 20 years, due to the seriousness of my mom had an ambulance. She had accompanied us during the whole process and was a great support, now she would save my life, because her husband had a flowmeter and as I expected he did not hesitate for a second to lend it to me.


Para mi familia, era imposible comprarlo en ese momento, costaba alrededor de 200$, así que esa no era una opción. Gracias a Dios, recordé que el esposo de una amiga de la infancia, a quien había vuelto a ver después de más de 20 años, debido a la gravedad de mi mamá tenía una ambulancia. Ella nos había acompañado durante todo el proceso y fue un gran apoyo, ahora me salvaría la vida, porque su esposo tenía un Flujometro y como esperaba no dudo ni un segundo en prestármelo.

separador flores.png

IMG-20210311-WA0068.jpg

Tratamiento que me indicaron al hospitalizarme || Treatment indicated to me when I was hospitalized

separador flores.png

That same night they connected me to oxygen and started my intravenous treatment, thank God at home we had the first 3 doses of the antibiotic because they were left over from my mom. But we were faced with a new problem, how would we buy the rest of the treatment, since my mother's treatment had depleted our budget. To compound our financial crisis, my sister's funeral insurance did not respond and my insurance only covered $76 of the $220 for funeral services. Which, by the way, was the simplest plan, it only included the preparation of the body, casket rental and 2 hours in the chapel.


Esa misma noche me conectaron al oxígeno e iniciaron mi tratamiento intravenoso, gracias a Dios en casa teníamos las 3 primeras dosis del antibiótico porque habían quedado de mi mamá. Pero nos enfrentábamos a un nuevo problema, ¿cómo compraríamos el resto del tratamiento?, ya que, el tratamiento de mi mamá, había desgastado mucho nuestro presupuesto. Para agravar nuestra crisis económica, el seguro funerario de mi hermana no respondió y mi seguro solo cubrió 76$ de los 220$ correspondientes a servicios funerarios. Que por cierto, era el plan más sencillo, solo incluía la preparación del cuerpo, alquiler del ataúd y 2 horas en Capilla.

separador flores.png

In addition, since my mother asked us to cremate her during her lifetime, which would imply a cost of $300, I had managed to get them to lend me the remainder to pay for the funeral service. My brother, who is currently living in Chile, was able to get a friend to lend him the $300 for the cremation. In addition to that, we had already spent the little we had left for the oral treatment for 5 people, remember that we were 5 covid-19 patients, my dad, my sister, my brother-in-law, my little nephew and me. Obviously, we did not have enough to cover my new intravenous treatment, which by the way was extremely expensive.


Además, como mi mamá en vida nos pidió que la cremáramos, implicaría un costo de 300$, yo había logrado conseguir que me prestaran lo que restaba para cancelar el servicio funerario. Mi hermano, que se encuentra en viviendo en Chile, por su parte, consiguió que una amiga le prestara los 300$ para la cremación. Aunado a eso, ya habíamos gastado lo poco que nos quedaba en el tratamiento oral para 5 personas, recuerden que éramos 5 enfermos de covid-19, mi papá, mi hermana, mi cuñado, mi sobrinito y yo. Obviamente, no teníamos para cubrir mi nuevo tratamiento intravenoso, que dicho sea de paso era sumamente costoso.

separador flores.png

IMG_20210323_132441.jpg

separador flores.png

As you will understand, we had to look for an immediate solution, since in Venezuelan hospitals you have to carry everything, from the physiological solution, to the syringes, cotton, adhesive and of course all the treatments. As I have already told you on other occasions, I could not count on my medical insurance, since university professors were shamelessly deprived of it, as the government created a non-existent cover which I call SISMEU. On one occasion many friends and members of this platform supported me financially for my treatment and tests to treat 2 tumors that I have in my thyroid.


Como entenderán, teníamos que buscar alguna solución inmediata, ya que, en los hospitales venezolanos hay que llevar todo, desde la solución fisiológica, pasando por las jeringas, algodón, adhesivo y por supuesto todos los tratamientos. Como ya les he comentado en otras oportunidades, no podía contar con mi seguro médico, ya que a los profesores universitario nos lo quitaron descaradamente, al crear el gobierno un parapeto inexistente al que llamo SISMEU. Ya en una oportunidad muchos amigos y miembros de esta plataforma me apoyaron económicamente para mi tratamiento y exámenes para tratar 2 tumores que tengo en la tiroides.

separador flores.png

Campaña redes sociales.png

separador flores.png

In this opportunity, two great friends and co-workers who were aware of all that we were going through and conscious of our economic situation, decided to carry out a fundraising campaign through social networks, as many Venezuelans are doing, in order to cover the immense economic expenses of this disease. They decided to carry out a fundraising campaign through social networks, as many Venezuelans are doing, in order to cover the immense economic expenses that this disease entails. To my pleasant surprise, the response was wonderful and, according to what I was told, the campaign was trending on social networks. Many kind hearts, from family, friends, neighbors, students, former students inside and outside the country, even some strangers, when they found out, contacted us to contribute their grain of sand. Thanks to that I never lacked treatment, showing us day by day the greatness of God. Whenever we were pressed for money, it was amazing, the money arrived and we were able to complete the cost of the treatment. It was a wonderful demonstration, not only that God is always there to support us, but also that I am a very fortunate person and blessed by God to have so many people who appreciate me and remember me fondly. May God and the Virgin bless each one of those kind souls, who with their support in one way or another made it possible for me to recover from this terrible disease.


En esta oportunidad, dos grandes amigas y compañeras de trabajo las cuales estaban enteradas de todo lo que estábamos atravesando y conscientes de nuestra situación económica. Decidieron realizar una campaña de recolección de fondo por las redes sociales, al igual que están haciendo muchísimos venezolanos, para poder cubrir los inmensos gastos económicos que acarrea esta enfermedad. Para mí grata sorpresa la respuesta fue maravillosa, además, según me contaron, la campaña fue tendencia en las redes sociales. Muchísimos corazones bondadosos, de familiares, amigos, vecinos, estudiantes, ex estudiantes fuera y dentro del país, hasta algunos desconocidos, al enterarse, se comunicaron con nosotros para aportar su granito de arena. Gracias a eso nunca me falto tratamiento, demostrándonos día a día la grandeza de Dios. Siempre, que estuvimos apretados y no nos alcanzaba el dinero, ¡era asombroso!, nos llegaba el dinero y podíamos completar el costo del tratamiento. Fue una demostración maravillosa, no solo, de que Dios siempre está allí para apoyarnos, sino además, que soy una persona muy afortunada y bendecida por Dios, al tener tanta gente que me aprecia y recuerda con cariño. Dios y la Virgen bendigan a cada una de esas almas bondadosas, que con su apoyo de una u otra forma hicieron posible, que yo me recuperara de esta terrible enfermedad.

separador flores.png

It was a total of 19 endless days of hospitalization, in which, like everyone else, we had to deal with all the deficiencies that our hospitals suffer from, such as lack of personnel, medical supplies, and deficiencies in services. In spite of that, it was impressive to see (with few exceptions) how the medical and nursing staff, despite working with their fingernails, give their best, even when they are risking their own lives. In addition, I had to deal with death almost daily, the Covid area where I was, which by the way, was not the only one in the hospital, if I am not mistaken, there were about five different areas destined to attend exclusively Covid-19 patients. The thing is, the area where I was was subdivided into 4 wings, the wing where I was, there were 8 patients besides me, during those 9 patients that we were at the time of my arrival, unfortunately only 3 patients survived. The first few days were calm, but then, one by one, my wing mates began to die. It was really terrible, to see how a person was apparently stable, talking or joking with his companion and suddenly, when least expected, he would go into crisis and in a matter of minutes or hours he would die.


Fueron en total 19 días interminables de hospitalización, en los cuales, como a todos, nos tocó lidiar con todas las deficiencias que padecen nuestros hospitales, como la falta de personal, insumos médicos, y deficiencia en los servicios. A pesar de eso, fue impresionante ver, (salvo contadas excepciones) como el personal médico y de enfermeras, a pesar de trabajar con las uñas, dan lo mejor de sí, aun y cuando están arriesgando sus propias vidas. Además, me tocó lidiar con la muerte casi a diario, el área de Covid donde yo me encontraba, que por cierto, no era la única en el hospital, si no me equivoco, había como cinco distintas áreas destinada a atender exclusivamente pacientes de covid-19. El caso es, que el área donde me encontraba estaba sub dividida en 4 alas, el ala donde yo me encontraba, había 8 pacientes además de mí, durante esos 9 pacientes que estábamos al momento de mi llegada, lamentablemente solo sobrevivimos 3 pacientes. Los primeros días fueron calmados, pero luego, empezaron a fallecer uno a uno mis compañeros de ala. Fue realmente terrible, ver como una persona estaba aparentemente estable, hablando o bromeando con su acompañante y de repente, cuando menos se esperaba, entraba en crisis y en cuestión de minutos u horas fallecía.

separador flores.png

I found other people who were walking, who were apparently improving, and from one day to the next their health began to deteriorate, until they became very ill and died, and that happened, despite the fact that they were receiving their treatment. Those were the cases that I experienced directly, but every day we would hear from the nurses about at least one death as a result of the virus, in another wing or in other areas of the hospital. As you will understand, the struggle with the disease was not only physical, it was also psychological, because you had to deal with the pain of others and the deaths around you. Not to mention, having to control not to fall into depression and the panic of not knowing if I was next on the list, because the disease is very treacherous and does not warn.


A otras personas las encontré que caminaban, estaban aparentemente mejorando, y de un día para otro su salud empezaba a complicarse, hasta que se ponían muy malitos y fallecían, y eso pasaba, a pesar de estar recibiendo su tratamiento. Esos fueron los caso que viví directamente yo, pero a diario nos enterábamos por medio de las enfermeras, de al menos un fallecimiento a consecuencia del virus, en otra ala o en otras de las áreas del hospital. Como entenderán la lucha con la enfermedad no era solo física, también era psicológica, porque se debía lidiar con el dolor ajeno y las muertes a tu alrededor. Sin contar, con tener que controlar no caer en la depresión y el pánico de no saber si yo era la próxima en la lista, porque la enfermedad es muy traicionera y no avisa.

separador flores.png

IMG-20210323-WA0023.jpeg

Erupción en mi brazo, producto de la reacción alérgica al antibiótico Vancomicina || Rash on my arm due to allergic reaction to the antibiotic Vancomycin

separador flores.png

I believe that only my faith in God Almighty, my little daughters, my husband and my sister, kept me sane, focused on the fact that I had to recover. One of the most difficult moments was March 11, my birthday, it was already difficult to spend it away from my loves and also in a hospital. To add the icing on the cake, I received the terrible news of the death in Caracas, that same day, of one of my dearest uncles also due to covid, I confess that it was very difficult for me to recover from this new blow, in fact it is still very difficult for me to handle these two losses, my mother and my uncle. The other moment was a few days later, I was already quite recovered, and they decided to change my treatment schedule, BAD IDEA! I turned out to be allergic to Vancomycin, one of the antibiotics, which gave me an allergic reaction, I got sick, even my oxygen saturation dropped again. I got a fever with cold so strong, that my whole body tempered uncontrollably, I got so scared, that I came to think that my turn had come. Thank God my sister, while taking care of my mother, had witnessed similar cases, but milder, in some patients who were given the same treatment. When she saw my reaction, she deduced that it was due to the Vancomycin, so she spoke to the doctor on duty, who immediately prescribed another antibiotic. Once my body eliminated the remains of the medicine, I began to stabilize and my values returned to normal.


Creo que solo mi fe en Dios todo poderoso, mis pequeñas hijas, mi esposo y mi hermana, me mantenían cuerda, centrada en que debía recuperarme. Unos de los momentos más difíciles fue el 11 de marzo, día de mi cumpleaños, ya era difícil pasarlo lejos de mis amores y además, en un hospital. Para agregarle la guinda al pastel, recibí la terrible noticia del fallecimiento en Caracas, ese mismo día, de uno de mis tíos más queridos a causa también del covid, Les confieso que me costó muchísimo recuperarme de ese nuevo golpe, de hecho aún es muy difícil para mí, manejar esas dos pérdidas, mi madre y mi tio. El otro momento, fue unos cuantos días después, ya me encontraba bastante recuperada, y decidieron cambiarme el esquema de tratamiento, ¡MALA IDEA!. Resulte alérgica a la Vancomicina uno de los antibióticos, lo que me generó una reacción alérgica, me descompense, hasta se me bajo nuevamente la saturación de oxígeno. Me dio una fiebre con frio tan fuerte, que todo mi cuerpo templaba sin control, me asuste tanto, que llegue a pensar, que había llegado mi turno. Gracias a Dios mi hermana mientras cuidaba a mi mamá, había presenciado casos similares, pero más leves, en algunos pacientes a quienes les colocaban ese mismo tratamiento. Y cuando vio mi reacción dedujo que era a causa de la Vancomicina, hablo con el médico de guardia, quien de inmediato me indicó otro antibiótico. Una vez mi organismo elimino los restos del medicamento, comencé a estabilizarme y nuevamente mis valores se normalizaron.

separador flores.png

As the days went by, my sister and I discovered about all the ravages caused by the disease, in reality the problem is not the virus itself, but the sequels it causes. I have heard many times that some people say that it is not correct to treat covid with antibiotics, but what they do not know is that with the treatment, they are not attacking the virus, but the different sequel it causes. The most common is pulmonary damage that can turn into bilateral pneumonia as in my case, in more serious cases into pulmonary thrombosis, or any other type of thrombosis, that is why the treatment includes anticoagulants. The risk of suffering a thrombosis is so high that I had to take treatment for it up to a month after being discharged from the hospital.


Con los días, fuimos descubriendo mi hermana y yo, sobre todos los estragos que causa la enfermedad, en realidad el problema no es el virus en sí, sino las secuelas que conlleva. He escuchado muchas veces, que algunas personas afirman, que no es correcto tratar el covid con antibióticos, pero lo que no saben es que con el tratamiento, no están atacando el virus, sino las distintas secuelas que causa. La más común es el daño pulmonar que puede convertirse en una neumonía bilateral como en mi caso, en casos más graves en una trombosis pulmonar, o de cualquier otro tipo, por ello el tratamiento incluye anticoagulante. El riesgo de sufrir una trombosis es tan alto, que a mí me toco tomar tratamiento para ello, hasta un mes después de haberme dado el alta médica.

separador flores.png

Another consequence suffered by covid patients is the increase in blood sugar levels, which if not monitored can lead to a diabetic coma. This happens even if the patient does not have a pre-existing condition of this pathology, my case for example. I have never been a diabetic, but during my hospitalization I once had to take 3 units of insulin, because my blood sugar level was over 220 mg/dL. After that, I had a Glycosylated Hemoglobin (A1C) lab test and thank God it was negative for diabetes. We consulted the doctors and they told us that another consequence of the disease is an increase in blood sugar levels. This condition is aggravated by the fact that one of the medications that must be administered is Dexamethasone, which is a cortiscosteroid that, from what I understand, helps to decongest and reduce inflammation in the lungs. But it has the disadvantage that if it is used for a prolonged period of time, as in my case, it also generates an increase in blood sugar levels. That is why if you do not have a strict control of glycemia, it can generate many problems, the lady who was next to me, her sugar got to rise exceeding sugar values of 500 mg/dL, which caused a diabetic coma and irremediable death, because she was also edematized, due to a renal failure. As you can see, it is a very complex disease that triggers systemic squeal.


Otra secuela que sufren los pacientes de covid es el incremento de los niveles de azúcar en sangre, que si no se vigila puede llevar a un coma diabético. Eso ocurre, a pesar que el paciente no tenga una condición preexistente de esa patología, mi caso por ejemplo. Yo nunca he sido diabética, pero durante la hospitalización en una ocasión me tuvieron que colocar 3 unidades de insulina, porque mi nivel de azúcar en sangre me salió en más de 220 mg/dL. Posterior a eso, me realizaron la prueba de laboratorio de Hemoglobina Glicosilada (A1C) y gracias a Dios salió negativa, para diabetes. Le consultamos a los médicos y nos indicaron, que otra secuela de la enfermedad es aumento de los niveles de azúcar en sangre. Condición que se agrava porque uno de los medicamentos que deben colocar es la Dexametasona, el cual es un cortiscosteroide, que por lo que entendí, ayuda descongestionar y desinflamar los pulmones. Pero tiene la desventaja que si se utiliza por tiempo prolongado, como en mi caso, también genera aumento de los niveles de azúcar en sangre. Es por ello que si no se tiene un control estricto de la glicemia, puede generar muchos problemas, la señora que estaba a mi lado, su azúcar llego a elevarse superando valores de azúcar de 500 mg/dL, lo que le causo un coma diabético y la irremediable muerte, porque además se edematizó, a causa de una falla renal. Como pueden ver es una enfermedad muy compleja que desencadena secuela a nivel sistémico.

separador flores.png

IMG_20210322_131910.jpg

separador flores.png

Other sequel, in addition to those I have mentioned, is of course the fatigue, which at the beginning prevents you from even making a small effort. You cannot even walk at a normal pace, or change position in bed, without feeling as if you were suffocating. Gradually it diminishes, of course, but according to doctors, full recovery may require up to 6 months. In addition, there are the sequels at the neurological level, such as difficulty concentrating, performing mathematical calculations, or perceiving depth. Not to mention motor skills, I lost fine motor skills, so I could not, for example, write. I had to undergo therapy during and after being hospitalized to recover it, I found it helpful to crochet, at first it was difficult, but little by little it helped me. There are also squeal, which can be considered perhaps less serious, such as hair loss, or problems with the mucous membranes of the mouth. In summary, as I have already told you, the sequels of the Brazilian variant of the covid-19 virus are the ones that can really kill you. It attacks on all fronts at the physical, neuronal and psychological level; you have to take courage, because depression is always just around the corner waiting for you to be careless.


Otras secuelas, además de las que les he nombrado, está por supuesto el cansancio, que al principio te impide incluso realizar cualquier pequeño esfuerzo. No puedes, ni caminar a un ritmo normal, o cambiar de posición en la cama, sin sentir que te ahogas. Poco a poco disminuye, claro, pero según los médicos la recuperación completa puede requerir hasta 6 meses. Además, se encuentran las secuelas a nivel neurológico, como la dificultad para concentrarse, realizar cálculos matemáticos, o para percibir la profundidad. Sin contar las habilidades motoras, yo perdí habilidades de motricidad fina, por lo que no podía por ejemplo, escribir. Me toco realizar terapia durante y después de estar hospitalizada para recuperarla, a mí me sirvió tejer con ganchillo, al principio fue difícil, pero poco a poco me ayudo. También están secuelas, que se pueden considerar quizás menos graves, como la caída del cabello, o problemas con las mucosas de la boca. En resumen, como ya les he comentado, las secuelas de la variante brasilera del virus del covid-19 son las que realmente te pueden matar. Ataca por todos los frentes a nivel físico, neuronal y psicológico, hay que armarse de valor, porque la depresión siempre está a la vuelta de la esquina esperando que te descuide.

separador flores.png

But it wasn't all bad, as I was taking care of my mother and then hospitalized I got to know an amazing and beautiful human side. Despite the fact that we were complete strangers, almost immediately an impressive bond of solidarity and brotherhood was formed. During my hospitalization, I spent a lot of time alone, because we do not have relatives in Maturin who could support us. In addition, due to the limitations of quarantine and the risk involved, we could only count on each other and my brother-in-law. Therefore, my sister could not spend all her time taking care of me, not because she did not want to, but because, in addition to me, she had to take care of three other sick people. At home, there was my father, her husband and their 4 year old baby, also sick with covid, so she had to distribute her time very well. Her day was spent between taking care of the sick at home, the housework, to leave everything organized while she was away, and being attentive to me in the hospital. The time she was with me, the poor thing had to solve everything that I could not, such as leaving the hospital to take my blood samples for lab tests, buy medicines or any supplies. She even had to chase the doctors, who were always very busy, to get a medical order for some procedure or test.


Pero no todo fue malo, al estar cuidando a mi mamá y luego hospitalizada conocí un lado humano asombroso, y hermoso. A pesar, de que éramos personas, completamente desconocidas, casi inmediatamente se formaba un vínculo de solidaridad y hermandad impresionante. Durante mi hospitalización, pasaba mucho tiempo sola, porque nosotros no tenemos familiares en Maturín que nos pudieran apoyar. Además, por las limitantes de la cuarentena, y el riesgo que implicaba, solo podíamos contar la una con la otra y con mi cuñado. Por ello, mi hermana no podía estar todo el tiempo cuidándome, no era porque no quisiera, sino que, además de mí, debía cuidar a 3 personas enfermas más. En su casa, estaban mi papá, su esposo y su bebe de 4 años, también enfermos de covid, por lo que, su tiempo tenía que distribuirlo muy bien. Su día transcurría, entre atender los enfermos en casa, los quehaceres de la casas, para dejar todo organizado mientras no estaba, y estar pendiente de mí en el hospital. El tiempo que estaba conmigo, a la pobre, le tocaba resolver todo lo que yo no podía, como por ejemplo, salir del hospital para llevar mis muestras de sangre para los exámenes de laboratorio, comprar medicamentos o algún insumo. Incluso, perseguir a los médicos, que siempre estaban muy ocupados, para que le dieran una orden médica, para algún procedimiento o examen.

separador flores.png

Going back to what I wanted to tell you, for obvious reasons, I could not always count on my sister's help, but there was always someone who would lend me a hand. Another very common thing was that if someone needed a medicine, a syringe, a syringe, a syringe or simply a obturator, and someone else in the room had it, I would lend it to them without thinking about it. If a patient became ill, the companions of those patients, who were stable, would run to help in whatever way they could with the emergency. So, I have any number of anecdotes in that style, we were like a big family, all pursuing a great goal to survive. I remember that when one of the patients, due to a twist of fate, lost the battle, we all accompanied the family member in his or her pain. When that relative left the room, in spite of his pain, he would always say goodbye, showering us with blessings and good wishes to all of us who remained, repeating over and over again, that when we left he would tell us... "don't give up, keep fighting, you will make it, God bless you".


Volviendo a lo que les quería contar, por razones obvias, yo no todo el tiempo podía contar con la ayuda de mi hermana, pero, siempre había alguien que me tendía la mano. Otra cosa muy común era, que si alguien le hacía falta un medicamento, una jeringa, un yerco o simplemente un obturador, y otra persona en la sala lo tenía se lo prestaba sin pensarlo. Si un paciente se ponía malito, los acompañantes de aquellos pacientes, que se encontraban estables corrían a ayudar en lo que pudieran con la emergencia. Así, tengo cualquier cantidad de anécdotas en ese estilo, éramos como una gran familia, todo persiguiendo un gran objetivo sobrevivir. Recuerdo que cuando alguno de los pacientes por reveces del destino perdía la batalla, todos acompañábamos al familiar en su dolor. Cuando ese familiar abandonaba la sala, a pesar de su dolor, siempre se despedía llenándonos de bendiciones y de buenos deseos a todos los que quedábamos, se repetía una y otra vez, que al salir nos dijeran … “no se rindan sigan luchando, ustedes lo podrán lograr, Dios los Bendiga”.

separador flores.png

Anyway, it was 19 days overcoming test after test, needle sticks all the time, staring at the ceiling for hours, or knitting to give me the illusion that the hours were passing faster. Waiting for my sister to arrive or for the night to come to talk on the phone with my husband and daughters. Because I couldn't talk much either, it was uncomfortable with the mask, besides, the oxygen dried out my throat and made me cough. But finally, all the effort was worth it, and finally on March 27 I was discharged from the hospital. That news for me and my family was the best possible news, finally, I could go to my sister's house to continue recovering and help her as much as I could. Although my father and my sister had already overcome the virus, they had been a little complicated by the after-effects. My sister because of all the stress and being exposed to so many hospital bacteria, and my dad because of his underlying pathologies and his age. But as the days went by, little by little we all got better.


En fin, fueron 19 días superando prueba tras prueba, piquetes de agujas a cada rato, mirando al techo durante horas, o tejiendo para hacerme la ilusión de que las horas pasaban más rápido. Esperando que llegara mi hermana o que se hiciera la noche de hablar por teléfono con mi esposo y mis hijas. Porque tampoco podía hablar mucho, era incómodo con la máscara, además, que el oxígeno reseca la garganta y producía tos. Pero finalmente, todo el esfuerzo valió la pena, y finalmente el 27 de marzo me dieron el alta médica. Esa noticia para mí y los míos fue la mejor noticia posible, finalmente, me pude ir a casa de mi hermana a seguir recuperándome y ayudarla en lo que podía. Ya que mi papá y mi hermana aunque ya habían superado el virus, se habían complicado un poco por las secuelas. Mi hermana por todo el estrés y estar expuesta a tantas bacterias hospitalarias, y mi papá por sus patologías de base y su edad. Pero con los días, poco a poco todos fuimos, mejorando.

separador flores.png

IMG_20210328_114744.jpg

Tratamiento que me indicaron al darme el alta médica || Treatment indicated to me when I was discharged from the hospital

separador flores.png

Thank God, on the 17th of April I was able to return home after 2 months of absence, with many precautionary measures, of course, since I was not traveling in my own car, but in a car per post. And to the surprise of some, including me, the doctors did not warn that we could not let our guard down. The fact that we had been infected with the virus did not exempt us from a new infection, so we had to be even more careful than a person who had not contracted the virus. This was because our organism had been very weakened by the after-effects of the virus. Today, I am in my little house, still undergoing treatment of course, but enjoying my great loves to the fullest and thanking God every day for every hour of existence, every breath of air that runs through my lungs and the good fortune of having many people who love me. God bless you and protect you from this terrible disease, but do not forget to take care of yourselves and your loved ones, using biosecurity measures.


Gracias a Dios el 17 de abrir pude regresar a mi hogar después de 2 meses de ausencia, con muchas medidas de precaución claro, ya que, no viajar en carro propio, sino en un carro por puesto. Y para sorpresa de algunos, incluyéndome, los médicos no advirtieron que no podíamos bajar la guardia. El hecho de habernos contagiado del virus, no nos eximia de un nuevo contagio, así que, debíamos cuidarnos incluso más que una persona que no había contraído el virus. Esto a causa de que nuestro organismo había quedado muy debilitado por las secuelas del virus. Hoy día, ya estoy en mi casita, aun cumpliendo tratamiento claro, pero disfrutando al máximo de mis grandes amores y agradeciéndole a Dios todos los días cada hora de existencia, cada bocanada de aire que recorre mis pulmones y la suerte de tener mucha gente que me quiere. Dios los bendiga y proteja de esta terrible enfermedad, pero no olviden deben cuidarse y cuidar de los suyos, usando las medidas de bioseguridad.

separador flores.png

Contenido y fotografías de mi propiedad intelectual

Información Técnica

CámaraCelular Honor, Modelo DUAL-LX3
Lente DUAL-LX3
IluminaciónLuz Natural
Locación Maturín, Estado Monagas, Venezuela

Content and photographs of my intellectual property

Technical information

Camera Honor Cell Phone, Model DUAL-LX3
Lens DUAL-LX3
Lighting Natural Light
Location Maturin, Monagas State, Venezuela

Imagen2.png

Imagen1.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
99 Comments
Ecency