Why is my 6months Baby Refusing Solid Food?

We had just completed 6months exclusive breast feeding and I was excited to have her taste different foods.

As a matter of fact, I had made research and learned about the variety of foods she could try and the ones to avoid. Most of the articles says to avoid giving her salt,sugar,fishes with high mercury content, honey, half cooked eggs and all. They encourage paps of different foods.

I was ready to have her tryout one unique and different taste one at a time and having the pleasure of seeing how she likes it, her expression each of those time.

It was frustrating to discover that she didn't want any of those. I then decided to start with the more familiar foods- baby formula.

She would take the first spoon and immediately spit it out. There is nothing I would do that can make her take the second spoon. Since she would either knot her lips so tight that I feared it would drop from pouting too hard or she would shake her head severally in refusal once the spoon is approaching her.
hui-sang-FKwGPzwaGqc-unsplash.jpg
Source

What I did? I began to observe her and also experiment. I then discovered that she prefers the formula to be very liquid and runny.

I can understand why. Since she has been taking only breast milk, she obviously isn't use to thick or solid foods. So I began to make her food as watery as the breast milk and she took it well.

The consistency of the food matters too. She wouldn't take more if she discovers lumps. I paid attention to making very smooth consistency and a lump free food.
It was a bit tricky making lump free yet runny consistency but I mastered it over time.

Another thing I observed was that she preferred to feed by herself. So we got messy. I would sometimes allow her to 'feed' by herself too.

In addition, the temperature of the food has to be just right. She didn't really eat much once its all cold of cause the breast milk was always warm enough.

She's eight months old now and we are still exploring foods.

Well, exploring means having a lot of wasted food. Don't be surprise spending some money on a food you think she'll like but turns out she doesn't want a single taste of it.

Its all part of the journey, the priceless milestones.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency