It's okay to take a day off motherhood! - ¡Está bien tomarse un día libre de maternidad!

IMG_20230908_145118.jpg

I am a single mom, previously I talked about the aspects that I love about it, but today I'll talk about how hard it can be.

I am one of those who unfortunately has to long distance co-parent. Her biological father appears very rarely, especially because he is in an entire different country. So that is his main excuse to justify not being involved in many things. 90% of my job is remote and I get to stay home a lot, which has a ton of benefits because I don't have to pay for a nanny, or daycare, but it can get very exhausting because I have to do all the chores and work at the same time I have a toddler running around.

Soy madre soltera, anteriormente hablé sobre los aspectos que amo, pero hoy hablaré de lo difícil que puede ser.

Soy de las que desafortunadamente tiene que co-criar a larga distancia. El padre biológico de mi hija aparece muy de vez en cuando, en especial porque está en otro país. Así que el lo ha tomado como justificativo para no involucrarse en muchas cosas. El 90% de mi trabajo es desde casa, lo cual supone beneficios en cuanto a qué no debo gastar en niñera o guardería, pero puede ser realmente agotador pues debo de hacer las tareas del hogar y trabajar al unisono mientras tengo a mi hija correteando.

IMG_20221231_195856_993.jpg

The financial weight and mental exhaustion is enormous, and lately I was feeling very frustrated since most of my personal projects were in hiatus. I don't go out, especially without my daughter, so it was very overwhelming. I got the opportunity to take a spot in Art School, just one day a week, so without hesitation I took it and from that moment on I have Wednesdays to myself.

In the morning I work from home, then I pick up my daughter from school and she stays with my mom while I go to art school. The first couple of times it was very hard for me to get used to not being with her, but the experience has been very liberating. I feel more in sync with myself, I feel I am working on things I had long forgotten, to be able to hang out with other people, to get out of the routine and take a breath of fresh air... It really has been a positive influence on my mental health

El peso económico y el agotamiento mental es increíble, y últimamente estaba sintiéndome realmente frustrada pues muchos de mis proyectos personales habían estado en pausa. Tampoco salgo, mucho menos sin mi hija, así que todo era realmente sobrecogedor. Hace poco se me presentó la oportunidad de tomar un lugar en la escuela de artes, un solo día a la semana, así que sin dudarlo acepté y desde ese momento los miércoles me pertenecen.

En las mañanas trabajo desde casa, luego busco a mi hija en su escuela para dejarla con mi mamá y me dirijo a la escuela de artes. Las primeras veces me costó acostumbrarme a estar sin ella, pero la experiencia ha Sido liberadora. Me siento más en sintonía conmigo, siento que he retomado cosas que tenía olvidadas en un cajón por así decirlo, el poder rodearme de otras personas, de salir de la rutina y tomarme un respiro... De verdad ha tenido una influencia positiva a nivel emocional.

IMG_20220910_170032.jpg

It is completely valid to need time for ourselves, a big part of being a mother is to be in a good place so we can go o. We should never feel guilty for dedicating to ourselves, for needing a break, for a very long time I felt incompetent for not being that robot society expects us to be as mothers. It is okay to get tired, it is okay to ask for help, we should always remember our kids are a direct reflection of what we are, so it's always better to show ourselves as humans.

Once again, thank you for reading me. I really felt I had to get this out of my chest, I always appreciate the warmth of this community and the support I has given me during my journey as a new mom.

The photos are of my ownership and were taken with my Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 cellphone.

Es completamente válido necesitar un tiempo para nosotras, gran parte de la maternidad es estar bien para poder continuar. Nunca debemos sentirnos culpables por dedicarnos a nosotras, por necesitar un respiro, por un buen tiempo me sentía incompetente por no ser ese robot que la sociedad espera que seamos como mamás. Está bien cansarse, está bien pedir ayuda, debemos recordar siempre que nuestros hijos son un reflejo directo de lo que somos, así que lo mejor siempre será mostrarnos humanos.

Una vez más les doy las gracias por leerme. En realidad sentía que necesitaba desahogarme diciendo estas cosas, aprecio mucho la calidez de esta comunidad y el apoyo que he recibido como madre primeriza.

Las fotografías me pertenecen y fueron tomadas por mi con mi teléfono Xiaomi Redmi Note 9.

IMG-20230916-WA0028.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency