Stay at Home Gig Mom

69929CC3-DAE5-4DA4-BCC4-F9634B0C7EEB.png

Is that an oxymoron? How can I be a SAHM but also a gig driving one?

It’s what I call:

Taking advantage of this gig society we’re in.

My husband and I knew we’d be sacrificing having some of the things we desired once I removed myself from the corporate world and stayed home with our children. It was worth it and still is to this day. We don’t regret that decision we made over twelve years ago.

I think I’d be correct to say that everyone (or at least a lot of people) has been affected by the rise in prices…heck let’s just say the cost of living in general. It’s been a tight squeeze with finances and everyone is just trying to make ends meet. What I would say used to be comfortable living doesn’t feel quite that way any more.

It’s always been a challenge for us to build a savings let alone have what you might call a cushion. With the price of necessities rising we’ve had to restrategize and make some changes by adding new ways to make income.


D8AFEBDC-BADA-4772-AC3F-E865E5358872.jpeg

I’ve used some of these delivery services when ordering food online but I never had interest in looking more into them. That was until my sister got signed up for a few of them and started telling us how easy it was and how much she liked making her own hours. She loved being able to plan out her schedule to make the amount of money she needed to.

I didn’t want my husband to have to get a second job so I told him I wanted to start DoorDashing. It’s an opportunity not only to help bring in more income but for me to get away from the house and grab some quiet me time. I get to meet new people and put smiles on their faces by bringing them their orders. 😁

It’s been going really good so far. I’ve been Dashing now for a little over three months.

I schedule most of my hours on the weekend and work just a few hours during the week. Here’s what I recently made working in just three days time…


1DB26DFB-CA6B-4511-852C-05A467273EB4.jpeg

The funds I make help pay bills and get what we need for our family. Most of all it helps keep our gas tank full.

I use quite a bit of gas delivering but with the tips I make I’m able to replenish that and then some.

My kids aren’t too fond of their mama being gone so long on the weekends but it’s necessary. They are so used to me being home with them that it feels like an imbalance in their lives. I know eventually they will adjust to it.

As mentioned earlier I like the benefits of having that quiet time away. I pick the times I want to work and can cancel my schedule anytime if something comes up. It’s a no pressure type situation.

Oh and I’ve been getting great customer reviews. You can trust that your order is safe with me 😆…


A7FE8563-A30C-4A8E-9EDE-F7646A7EFD76.jpeg

This is what I do if I can’t fit any more food in my hot carrying bag. Sometimes I get orders with multiple sacks or bags. We can’t have customer’s orders tipping over now can we? 😄

My husband is not interested in delivering fast food but he and I did sign up for another delivery service where pickup will only be at one store location. The employees load your car for you then all we do is deliver to the customers. We’re in the process of getting approved now (oh and this one pays higher than DoorDash 🤑).

I absolutely love taking advantage of this gig society we’re in.

I don’t have to clock in or out but instead simply choose when and how long I want to work. You don’t feel tied down or pressured but at ease because you’re essentially working for yourself…we’re basically independent contractors providing service as a business.

So do I still consider myself a SAHM?

Absolutely I do! I’m self employed but spend most of my hours at home taking care of my family, educating our children and tending to the needs of our household. It’s a win win situation for me. I still get to be at home while at the same time help supplement my husband’s income as we face this high demand for living.


DFB21AC8-97DA-4B14-9D05-DBE4A7F33F4F.jpeg

I’m curious to know if you have taken advantage of the available driving opportunities in your area?

Do you know any other SAHM’s that do contract deliveries?

All photos are my own and were taken with our Cannon EOS Rebel T6.


Thanks for Driving By ~ 🚙

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
37 Comments
Ecency