It's out but it doesn't look normal

When a kid comes in our lives, we keep on waiting for one milestone after the other. We rejoice their arrival and be grateful for them to happen at the right time. Teething is one the of many landmarks a kid passes through in his growth journey. It brings a lot of happiness for parents when they see a small white spot coming out like a pearl in the mouth of their young ones. The event is almost like a celebration.

The growth continues and the buccal cavity is filled with twenty teeth giving strength to the mouth and adding beauty to their smiles (; also a weapon to kids for their defence while fighting with their counter parts. Haven’t you heard of kids biting their fellows in anger 🙃?)

After keeping this first set of teeth in mouth for some years, there comes a time when they start loosening and falling down one by one. I often think: having two sets of teeth is an amazing kind of a blessing the creator has given to the mankind. Had it not been this way, many of us would have lost our teeth for good in our early adulthood. How many of us can be careful about our oral health when we are a toddler or a young child. Being a parent, also we are sometimes careless about oral condition of our kids. It’s not always easy to brush their teeth three times a day; and often we won’t know if some food item is left between their teeth even after brushing. It may develop into cavity.

Blissfully, we have two sets of teeth, so we are relaxed that after loosing the first set (if it has some damages), our kids will have another flawless set of teeth for making their lives joyful. Oh! Teeth have a lot to do with joy. I remember my grandmother (who had lost her teeth) used to say there is no taste of food without teeth. I agree. A little pain in teeth let you avoid a lot of delicious food. Aching tooth let you feel no taste but the pain.

Well, I was talking about the second set of teeth. Usually, in the 6th year of life milk teeth start loosening and falling down. My younger one is going to hit his 6th birthday the next month. So it’s about time for this milestone. For a couple of weeks his upper incisor was moving. Finally it fell down yesterday. However, his tooth didn’t appear to me the normal. I mean, I have seen fallen teeth of several kids. They are not in the shape my son’s has come out.

Normally , it is the upper body of the tooth (that is visible outside the gum) falls.

But in this case, the body of tooth inside of the gum has also came out. Looking at his tooth, I reminded of a fall my son had some three years ago. He hit something and fell down. As a result, this of his tooth loosened and kept moving for a few days. Then it stopped moving coming a little down and fixed there. He didn’t have complaints for any severe pain in the tooth but only for sometime when it was moving.

Interestingly, when this tooth appeared in his mouth, it was extremely close to the adjacent incisor so that one side of the tooth was not plain but slightly curved.

It was like this tooth had difficulty making its place so it took this shape. (I think teeth bones are softer when they are in the process of coming out of gums). Finally, when the tooth is out of his mouth, I observed the curve.

The tooth seems to be broken but not naturally in this shape. I am not sure.

Another important thing is that there is a tiny whole on the bent side.

Maybe it is a cavity due to plaque (Not sure; he had no pain complaints). The tooth seems to be hollow inside.

If it was only an oddity in the fallen tooth, I wouldn’t be worried, as there would be soon another tooth that would replace it. There is something else that is worrying me and it is the peculiarity in the jaw. Whenever, a tooth is out, the gum remains plain but this case a deep cavity is visible in the jaw. You can see in the picture.

The facial structure is highly dependent on teeth bones. If teeth are removed, changes in facial structure are likely to happen. I am worried if this unusual way of tooth falling would effect his face and other teeth in a negative way.

I pray it may not be the case and things do turn out normal. I think I need to visit a dentist to calm my anxious heart. What do you think? Have you ever had any such experience?

●●●●●●●●

All images are taken by me via my mobile.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency