Black Friday Experience in Almere, Netherlands - Weekend Experience

I used to be so excited about Black Friday and used to wait for the entire year just for the day to get good deals. 5-to 6 Years ago Black Friday deal meant you were getting most of your desired at a cheaper rate, a huge discount. Right now especially after Covid 19, it's all about business. There is nothing called Black Friday, especially in some countries. It's just a commercial way to attract people and some fools like me fall for it... I also noticed huge changes in Black Friday after the pandemic when I was in Ukraine. There was no sale, in fact, most of the shops used to increase the price before black Friday and give 20-30% discount, so they were still making a profit at that time. Yesterday was Black Friday in the Netherlands and today I am gonna share my experience with you of Black Friday in Almere city.


20231124_170722.jpg


Black Friday mostly comes after Thanks Giving and I guess it started in the United States to officially start Holiday season shopping. I think in the USA, people still get good deals, and branded products at cheap prices which normally middle-class people cannot afford to buy. Even before Covid, I used to save money to buy my desired products on Black Friday especially furniture, kitchen appliances, and electronics. Anyway, a week before Black Friday, I saw many shops promoting themselves by giving 30-70% discounts during Black Friday or getting Black Friday deals. Let me tell you one thing, the Netherlands is very expensive when it comes to buying electronics and clothing. Except for some local shops, you cannot buy good material clothes often and the electronic products price is too high on regular days. For example, I was checking Samsung Mobile phone prices and it's really very expensive if you want to buy a brand new phone. It doesn't matter if you buy it on credit or not, it's expensive.

Anyway, after seeing advertisements of different brands and shops, I thought why not I go out and see what kind of deals and discounts shops were offering? I also thought, if I get something nice cheaper, I will buy it. I had a doctor's appointment in the morning so while I was on my way to the appointment, I already saw the crowd of Black Friday at City Center Almere. People were holding a lot of shopping bags and seeing that, my expectations had become high. :D


20231124_170726.jpg

20231123_225739.jpg


It's November and days are short here, evenings come early and nights are long. So, just before the evening, I went to the city center to take a look at what was going on. The small walkways or alleys looked beautiful, it felt like the Holiday season already started. Bright lights were everywhere; normal days don't look like this.

So, I started looking around; and then I started checking different shops and their offers for Black Friday. Clothing stores were giving 20-30% discounts and to my surprise, I figured out that all summer clothes were on sale. Basically, after summer, normally big sales happen in the Netherlands, and what I saw is that the same kind of clothes that were not sold on summer sale, they are trying to get rid of on Black Friday during winter. Okay, a compromise can happen, you can buy summer clothes in winter at a cheaper rate but unfortunately, the price was the same (which was in summer) after the discount. So basically, they increased the price before Black Friday and then gave the discount. The person who doesn't know the actual price would think they are getting a discount.


20231123_225744.jpg

20231123_225749.jpg

20231124_191942.jpg


Basically, first, most of the shops increased their price of the products and then have given discounts to attract people to shop. The only genuine discount I saw only on perfumes, cosmetics, items of furniture, and some very specific electronic products.

Every year I used to buy something for my dog, so I thought I should check some pet products.


20231124_170729.jpg

20231111_135018.jpg

20231111_134959.jpg

20231111_135005.jpg


I went to Tk Max shop and directly went to their pet section. They have a really good collection of toys and clothes for pets, very unique and cute. You can gift fancy things to your pets. I wanted a nice sweater and jacket for my dog Gigi but unfortunately, Gigi is so big and nothing fits her. All of the clothes were for small and medium dogs. And because Gigi is now fat and big, XL size doesn't fit her. So, unfortunately, I couldn't buy anything for her. Well, she has a lot of toys and that's why I didn't buy any new toys for her. Maybe later I will buy something useful for her. I really liked that red jacket though for my dog but yes, the size was not available.

I went to perfume shops and showed myself with tester perfumes. It might sound cheap attitude but I did it for fun. I don't do such things normally but yesterday while being in the shops, I felt I should shower with expensive perfumes because I could not buy them even though they were at a 30% discount.

Many people bought many things, I was one of those who didn't buy anything and came home with an empty hand. Basically, I didn't find anything that was worth buying and others were shopping for Christmas. Nowadays, attractive deals don't attract me anymore...

That's all for today...



Love

Priyan...



I am @priyanarc.... An architect, a dreamer, and a passionate writer who loves to write about life. I try to present my own perspective and experiences. Please leave your feedback and criticism because it's the only way I can know and reach your mind and thoughts easily...



Find me on:


All images used are captured by the author...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency