This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Doctor Strange through the years

I have said plenty of times that I have missed a lot of comic history as I was not into things like Marvel as a kid. I was reading things like the Beano, but later there was Action and 2000 A.D. that had the British take on violence and superheroes. So I am still catching up on some of the US comics.

Cover

I picked up this Doctor Strange compendium in a charity shop. It was practically new and half the original price. I also have a equivalent for Captain America. The books have some background detail on the characters and some stories from different periods. They give you enough of the story to follow what was happening and get some sort of conclusion.

1954

The stories mostly feature Strange's nemesis Baron Mordo who was a fellow pupil of the Ancient One. They battle with their magic, but you know who will eventually triumph. That is one issue with serial comics, but then sometimes they do kill off a major character, only to bring them back later.

1972

By the 1970s the drawings are more detailed, but the stories are similar with various beings from other dimensions who Strange must protect the Earth from.

2004

This story from nearly 20 years ago features the Fantastic Four and a very different style.

2015

Coming more up to date and the style has changed again with Strange looking the worse for wear. This is from when Captain America has been revealed as a Hydra agent and New York is besieged by demons under the control of Mordo. The story features characters like Daredevil, Luke Cage and Kingpin who have features in some of the movies and TV shows. They need to work together to combat the forces of evil.

I did not enjoy this book as much as the Captain America one, but it gave me more insight into the characters. I have yet to see the latest Doctor Strange movie. I have not seen the last Spider Man either and Strange is in that too. I have just not been to the cinema much lately, so I will have to catch up via streaming. I am enjoying Ms Marvel that has a different feel with a mostly Muslim cast and covers the partition of India. There is just so much to watch and I cannot keep up.