Step-by-step of my comic art process

One of my favorite parts of creating comics is the inks, and over the 5 orso years making them I've honed those skills quite efficiently, I'd say.
This is a page for my series Life On Cora, a speculative zoology series where we explore and build a world and all the weird creatures inside it. This will be in the 5th issue, written by Martin Fisher.

So here's how I do it:

We start with a storyboard! Now for issue 5 I had hired a new storyboard artist because my time this summer was... Non-existent... She did a great job for what I needed, but as you'll see, I tend to go overboard later on ;)

Clip Studio paint has wonderful tools for making comics. From panels to lettering, they got u fam!
I start with rough letters and the set panels in place. This way I know where to add the real detail and force the eye before even starting on the art.

image.png

next.... We do pencils! Aren't they beautiful? Nah I actually spend less and less time on this stage, most of my rendering gets done in the inks! As you can see I keep the storyboard images as a separate window (it's on another page cuz I decided to do this out of the blue)

image.png

Then... We print it! Very lightly. Now I have a gigantic Epson WF7710 printer that'll print it straight to A3 (11.67x16.5 inch), which is what I work on!
(different page cuz I didn't make an example of this before)

image.png

Next... We get to inking! My favorite part!
Since I'm super proud of how this page turned out, I went the full mile and took some WIP pictures, this rarely happens, but I do sometimes livestream myself working. I ink with Talens Indian Ink, mostly with a G-Pen tip dip pen and a Pentel bold brush pen for the blacks (if there's any)
image.png

image.png

Now... Back to scanning! I re-scan the pages to 600DPI, pure BW, usually with a 70-80 threshold, plenty to catch all details and take out the green from the pencils. Sometimes I have to clean up a little bit, but most of the time it's ready to just put right back into CSP

image.png

Then it's back to Clip Studio Paint to fit it all into the page! I love technology. The print is always bigger than the size I draw on digitally, to compress it all a bit and make it look even better. Convert brightness to opacity real quick and BOOM! Ready for the colorist!

image.png

I send her the raw files on google drive, and she just drops them back after she worked her magic. I don't give her any art direction besides the 'laws' of the world's color spectrum (only blue, green, grey, and purple), and most of the time I don't have to tell her to change anything, she's just that awesome haha

Anyway! If you're still here, thanks for joining and reading! This is a page for Life On Cora #5, all previous issues and more are available on my website: https://www.faeriesandents.com/

Stay awesome and creative,
Mike Jimmy

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency