How I Convinced My Parents To Relocate After many years.


Source

Introduction.

As I was told, Dad was a teacher with the secondary education management board when he met my Mother. At that time, she was in TTC (Teacher's training Collage. By the time they got married, Mum was already teaching at a primary school at Ezelu, in Onuomo LGA.

Shortly after I was born (1989), Mum was transferred to a locality in Okigwe LGA of Imo State known as "Umulolo". By this time, Dad was teaching at a secondary school in my hometown. (Okata Comprehensive School, Lowa, Ihitte/Uboma LGA, Imo state). Meanwhile, he have been writing to his employer, to transfer him, so as to unite him with his family at Okigwe. This prooved abortive till after about three years, by this time, my junior brother have been born. Every weekend, he was shuffling from Our hometown to Okigwe to visit his family.

We continued to live in this, community, same compound, same house till year 1999 when my sister was brought to life. We went to school in this neighborhood and our friends were of same circle.

This community is very backwards. Apart from the schools, there was no other form of government presence there. But some staffs of Limca bottling company were living with us. Unfortunately, Limca became defunct, and those her staffs dispersed. And umulolo community became even more boring and primitive.

The backwardness started to bite harder when some criminals vandalized our transformer and the whole comunity were thrown into total darkness. Because of the mass exodus of visitors after the closure of Limca, it was impossible to raise funds to fix the transformer, so we continued to stay without electricity.

At a point, many families we lived with theni relocated to big cities like Umuahia, Aba, Owerri, Onitsha, Okigwe but our parents didn't make any effort to relocate us. As a result, we started appealing to them to relocate our family to am urban area so that we can enjoy our childhood more, meet people of the middle class, working class and possibly the upper class. As against the lower class people we have been living with all along. But my parents didn't approve of it, Dad said he wanted a neighbor where he can always farm and get something from mother earth, to make up with what they are paid.


How I was able to relocate them.

Many years after, I had finished school, I wasn't living with them anymore. I only visit once in a while. At this time, I live and work in Aba. But my sister still lives with them while she was schooling at Abia State University, Uturu. (ABSU).
But, she kept complaining, me too, I find it difficult visiting them because of the poor condition of the area and the house in which they live. I didn't want to go into the renovation of that house, because it will cost so much money which I may not even have.

So, what I did was to visit them "one last time". The visit lasted for about two days. I ceased the opportunity to beg them once again to relocate, this time, to our village. I incentivized them with properties I would buy for them if the should accept and relocate to our home since they are both retired from the state civil service. (I promised to buy them a new television, fridge, generator and a set of curtains).

The reasons I told them to relocate to our village were;

  • Dad had belt a good house in the village which at that time was not occupied by anyone.
  • Our village had developed even more than where they were living at that time.
  • My comunity in the village has electricity but my parents that supposedly "live in the city" have not had light for more than 10 years now.
  • If they should relocate to the village, I will be more comfortable visiting them, as I would have my own space each time am around.


Source

On the second day of the visit, I took a trip to see Aunt Kate. She is my fathers younger sister. She lives with her family at Uturu. I had called her the day before to inform her that I would be visiting the following day. When I arrived, she was very happy to have me, we exchanged pleasantries and I went straight to the reason I came.
I told her to help me convince My parents to relocate to the village because, they are both retired and it's unwise that they continued living in that house while they have a more befeating house in our hometown, She accepted to help, and we came up with a plan.

After about two months of my visit, Aunty Kate called my Dad to inform him she would visit them the next day because they needed to have a very serious discussion. She visited my parents at Umulolo and spent the night with them. After they had dinner, she told them the reason for her visit.
She said; she had a very serious dream, that scarcely does she dream, but that they are mostly accurate. That in the dream, she saw my grand father of blessed memory. He was very angry about how his home in the village have been abandoned to be taken over by grases. (E shock you?🌝😁)
She therefore pleaded with Dad to look inwards and see if he can reconsider and plan on relocating to the village.

Because Dad loved and honored his father, he called me one morning to tell me about the dream Aunty Kate had and that as a result, that he have started making plans to relocate to the village by December. Meanwhile, that was around August that year. I therefore started planning for their relocation.

When it was time, I rented two vehicles; One lorry and one gulf car that helped convey them to the village. They relocated to the village on 16th December, 2021. They are happy they took that decision, because today, that community we used to live is now deserted as it's been terrorised by unknown gun men and kidnapers.


Conclusion.

Telling lies and moreso with my ancestors my not be an ideal thing to do, however, it was the only the last resort as I had tried all other means. Good enough, it worked.😁

This is therefore not a serious lie, its what some people refere to as "white lies" I believe that they don't have adverse spiritual effects. Or do you think every lie caries equal punishment? 🌝😐

I had bought them the things I promised them except the fridge. I am saving up for that, I hope to buy it before the year runs out.

Am glad to have you visit and read through my blog.
Am appreciative of your votes, comments and reblogs.

Thank you!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency