I Have Been Deceived

crying-african-man-4670799__340.jpg
Source

Growing up, the young ones were always fascinated by the presence of distant relatives or those we do not see very often. This is because we know that anytime they come around, they do two main things. First, they get the little kids little gifts, of course, such as sweets. Apart from that, the concept of the usual bread that comes in handy - I honestly do not know who thought our people that when you are going to a place you have not been to in a while, even if they might be angry with you just buy a loaf of bread along. And you’ll see, peace be still.😎

One other thing that may seem insignificant is asking about our well being especially in terms of academics. The only question that comes in this area is Which class are you now? And we were definitely taught well in our elementary classes. The answer is always of the form "I am in class this or that". What comes next is the bowl of contention. Most times and in our native language, the visitor then goes by saying in Yoruba ‘Ah, O ti k’awe tan’ which means “Ah, you are almost done with school’. Can you imagine? To A little one who just left crèche about 3 years ago?

For me, I believed it. So I am going to be done with school soon. This mentality stuck with me like a leech. I heard such comments as above when I was in nursery school. Oh my! I thought academics would not be more than this elementary thing. I was in the penultimate primary class when I and my classmates were told we are going to be prepared for a common entrance exam to secondary school in the next session. I was like, I thought we were done with school. Which one is called the secondary school again let alone one examination? I was confused.🤷‍♀

Okay, that is accepted. I hope there are no more life and enjoyment-threatening exams. Secondary school was different but I adjusted, I had no choice, do I? The same thing those visitors do say has been said numerous times. One even said, Oh, you have finished school already, what remains is to get married. Poor me! I never knew it was a joke. It was also at the end of secondary school that I was hearing again that there was something called university. At first, I thought that must be where people get married.

Just like I once thought that when you get married, babies just appear from nowhere.🤣

Until I was told the series of exams – exams again – I must take to be able to get in. Everything seems to be at a standstill. I was like can’t we just stroll into one as most do to secondary school? Must we write exams? Why do we stress one another on this planet? It is starting to seem like I am from Mars, I know there is not much stress there. At least we have weightlessness.😉

It was during this time that I did a flashback to those times when I was much younger. I thought these uncles and aunts were people that loved me and I was to look up to them. They all told me I was almost done with school. No one even dared to mention exams. No one! Not once! And now this school of a thing has refused to finish o. It dawned on me that I have been deceived all along. 😌

And the worst thing is, I have been saying this too to my younger ones unknowingly. The cycle continues.🚶‍♀

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
34 Comments
Ecency