The Prophet

Long ago, in ancient china, lived a man name Wáng Xīn Yún (王新云). But the villagers never called him by his name. Instead, they call him the Frog, because of his physical appearance. He had dark skin, bulging eyes and wide mouth. But one day, because of some incidents, they called him The Prophet instead.

He had a wife who had Rheumatoid Arthritis. One day, the sky was very clear and blue. But he noticed his wife was in pain. He knows that means the weather is cold, and soon the rain will come. So on his way to the field, he wears raincoat and brings an umbrella. Everybody laughs at him, they said "Look, the Frog is crazy"
But he answers then confidently "You better be ready, the rain is coming". And less then 5 minutes later, the sky turned cloudy and rain is pouring. Everybody was speechless.

On another occasion, when everybody wears raincoat because of overcast sky, he noticed that his wife is find. So wear thin clothes to the field.
Everybody laughs at him again, they said "Look, the Frog is blind. He didn't see the overcast sky"
But he answers them confidently "No worries, there will be a blue sky soon" And around 5 minutes later, it turns sunny. And again, everybody was speechless.
Since that day, they thought he can predict the future and called him The Prophet. He likes his new nickname better than the previous, so he said nothing about it.


In the Capital, the Emperor was wrathful, because his favorite pearl is gone. He suspect that someone must steal his pearl. So he summons his Advisor. What he didn't know, is that his Advisor is the thief. And apparently his Advisor also a coward. So when he was been summoned by the Emperor, he was frightened, because he thought the Emperor known what he did. So with a pale face, he kneeled in front of the emperor.

image.png

The emperor said "My loyal advisor, I order you to find the best fortune teller to find my pearl"
With a relieved face, the Advisor answered "I will do my best my Lord"


The advisor order his men to gather fortune-tellers to the capital. Every time he meet with one, he will asked him "Can you see the future and the past?", the fortune tellers always answers "Of course I can, that's why I'm the fortune teller". Then he will chase them away, because he was afraid they the will know that he was the thief. So he was trying to find a fake fortune teller to be the scapegoat.

image.png

One of his guard is from the same village as the Frog, so he informed the advisor that his village has a fortune teller called The Prophet. So he sends some of his men to travel to the village to invite The Prophet to the capital.


When the Frog saw some soldiers came to his house, he was petrified. More so when he heard that the Emperor need his help to find the missing pearl. But he can't refuse the summon, because refusal means death. So, before he follows them to the capital, he whispers something to his wife.


When they arrived at the capital, the advisor still suspect The Prophet's ability, so he let him take a rest at the Inn to spy on him.

image.png

When the advisor peeks at The Prophet, at the same time he was grumbling and point at the door "Curse on you, the pearl thief, you will die full of suffering". The advisor suddenly barge through the door, kneel down in front of him, cried and apologize repeatedly "I'm sorry, I admit I'm the thief. Please don't put a curse on me"
First he was shocked, then an idea comes to his mind. Then with a confident face he said "Since the first time I saw you through the door, I know you are the thief. Now tell me, where did you hid the pearl?"
Then the advisor tell him where the pearl is and gave him a lot of gold to bribe him.
The Prophet then said, "No worries, I'll keep you safe"


image.png

The next day, when the Emperor summon the Prophet, he asked him "Are you the Prophet"
Confidently, he answered "Yes I am my Lord"
"Do you know why I summon you"
"You want me to find the missing pearl"
"Good, now tell me where is it and who is the thief" demand the Emperor
"According to my vision, I saw a big tree beside the Library. Ask your men to dig under the tree"
"Guards, do as The Prophet said" ordered the Emperor
A few moments later, the guards brings the pearl to the Emperor

image.png

With a smile, the Emperor said "Good, now tell me who is the thief"
"There is no thief my Lord"
"Are you telling me, the pearl walk on its own?" said the Emperor amused.
"That's right, my Lord. You are the Emperor, the son of heaven. So, your pearl already absorb a lot of heaven's aura. To maintain the balance of Yin-Yang, the pearl need to absorb earth's aura. Then the pearl walk on its own, and buried itself underground"
"That's the first time I heard something so magical. Thank you for your help. I've got an idea, how about you stay here in the capital. If I lost another treasure, you can help me find them. I'll give you a palace and a lot of gold"
"Thank you my Lord" answer The Prophet with a forced smile. He already imagine that sooner or later he will be beheaded because of the fraud.


One day, The Prophet come to the Emperor in a rush.
"Excuse me my Lord, but I need to go home. I had a vision that my house is on fire. I worried about my wife. I want to go home and live in peace with her"
"That's impossible, how can you see that far away? Guards, find the information for me"
Half a day later, the guards report that The Prophet's house had burnt down but his wife is fine.

image.png

Then the Emperor summon The Prophet and asked him "How can you see that far?"
"That's why they called me The Prophet" he answered confidently. Actually, before he comes to the capital, he already ordered his wife to burn his house if he hadn't go home for 3 days.
Now the Emperor is perplexed. If he let him go home, there is a chance that he will be recruited by other country. But if he didn't allowed him to go home, people will said that the Emperor is heartless. The Advisor seems to know what the Emperor is thinking. So he whisper to the Emperor. Then the Emperor gladly said "I will allow you to go home, but I can't let you go with empty hands. So I will give you one of my treasure. But, because you are The Prophet, you need to guess what is it. If you are right, you can bring the treasure home. But, if you are wrong, it means that you are a fraud and will be beheaded"
With a pale face, he grumbled in regret "With all the gold, the Frog still died"
The Emperor was astonish, because all he heard was "Gold Frog Died". Then the Emperor laughs and said "You really live up to your name" then he opened the box and voila, A Golden Frog.

image.png

"This is your reward, you can go home now"
"Thank you my Lord"
Then he went home and spend the rest of his life in riches.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency