The COMedy Rumble: The day I ate too much. What happened?

photo-1545956351-893e63d5e26a.jpeg
Luz from Unsplash

I remembered the story I heard about my Uncle when he was still a youth. His favourite food was a solid meal called Amala in the Yoruba tribe. He would finish up two big bowls of Amala with Ewedu soup and would still want more.

That night, he ate Amala and requested another bowl of it. After eating, he began to cry so hard as he couldn't stand up from where he sat. He slept in that position till the next day. No one taught him before he understood that eating too much has its effect.

I got my share too and that day, I knew Gluttony is a sin in the Bible and I started asking for forgiveness and pleading for God to bring me back to my normal self.



I went to lectures and didn't eat anything before I left home in the morning. I determined not to eat out but to keep the money so that when I am returning, I would use it to get some ingredients to prepare this delicious meal in my mind that day.

I was craving Rice, Fish Stew with Egg and frying some plantain. If you would know, when you eat this kind of food, just know you have satisfied yourself and ate like a rich person. I had the money that day and I said to myself “Whoever wouldn't allow me to eat this food, will suffer” 😂😂😂 This was the food in my mind even as the lecture was going on and I just wished it should be ready so I could eat to my satisfaction.

The lecture ended at 6 pm and I bought all ingredients on my way from school. By the time I got home, I was so hungry but I managed to cook my food.

I was still boiling rice and it was remaining stew and frying some plantain. That would take a long time. My friend saw my state and asked if I would eat some spaghetti first before my food gets done.

When she brought the spaghetti, I knew if I eat that, I wouldn't be able to eat my special meal again. I collected the food and started eating but my mind was still in my food because I must taste it that night. I can't wait till the next day.

untitled.gif

The spaghetti was much but I didn't care because I would still eat my food. By the time I finished eating that and drank water, I was filled up. Won't I eat my food this night? My special delicacy? No! Even if it is small, let me taste it too.

My stomach was filled and couldn't allow any more food but my greediness caused big trouble that night.

As a norm, when you eat fried plantain, you will be okay because that alone is enough to get you satisfied after drinking some water. But I packed a lot of rice inside the plate and added enough plantain.

My friend was surprised to see the big plate of rice and was like “Do you want to kill yourself?. You just finished that spaghetti I gave you and look at what is in your front”

I didn't mind her and was eating. By the time I finished eating, I could not stand up from where I was sitting. My stomach was so big that I was just drinking water. Adding more problems again.

untitled.gif

My friends lifted me and took me outside for fresh air but I just lay down flat on the floor without minding where I was. They were laughing at me but I was feeling so discomfort and couldn't say anything. I was advised to do some jogging or run around but I couldn't get up. I became weak that I was looking everywhere as if I was a stranger to them. They felt pity but it was a funny moment that day.

I kept staring at my phone because it was unlike me, I would have been on my phone but that night, I knew what I went through. They were surprised I didn't pick up my phone because they know I am a phone addict but I couldn't because my body didn't allow me.

I was praying to God for forgiveness because I ate too much and it was my act of gluttony.

It was until the next day that I felt better and my stomach went down. I didn't eat early that morning because I was still satisfied from the last night and ever since then, I have been careful of the quantity of food I eat so what happened that day will not repeat itself.

This is my entry to The COMedy Rumble contest for the last week.

I am inviting @kushyzee and @balikis to join this too.

Thanks for reading

Gifs from Peakd frontend

20220415_174258_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency