The COMedy Rumble - Here's how to eat your corn in Nigeria

I know @nelson-george is going to do a "I said it" face when he gets to read this but I'm just going to continue what I want to say and go in search for another... It's in my veins you know.

IMG_20220723_154245.jpg

So I bought boiled corns some minutes ago to celebrate the end of it's season 😩 I still wonder why corn seasons last for less than four months, they should be one of our staple food really!

Okay, so if you're a Nigerian or you can relate with this... That would be more awesome but there is this habit in my country during corn season. If you do stay in a busy street where you know a lot of people and you have to visit the Junction to get corn when you're craving for one...

That would mean you have to walk back home with the corn in your hands, right?

What I'm trying to say is that... My Country people will not let corn buyers/eaters to eat their corn in full without breaking it or pulling some out of it. No peace for corn during its season. Well, it's for us that do like to eat the corn when it's still very hot and soft 😋 and that means we mostly eat it along the way.

So here is a guide on how to eat your corn without sharing on the streets... I'm not stingy, I'm just showing how to be one if you want to, you'll decide that for yourself.


Breaking it into two parts after buying

IMG_20220723_154317.jpg

I learnt this from my friend, whenever he buys corn, he breaks it into two and hides half it back in the paper bag they had used to sell it to him. Then he starts eating the half and you know what?!

People still beg him!!! 😕
And then he'll be like "Is somebody that broke for me too"

That wouldn't stop the people from pulling some out of the broken corn he had in his hands. In the end, he ate little from it but the other half in his paper bag consoled him.


Buying strong corns instead

Most people love soft corns, I love it more because strong corns could send one's brains to a neurosurgeon if care isn't taken... I wonder why the sellers do that kind of wickedness.

Well, for those who know how to eat both soft and strong corns, they go for strong ones if they don't want anybody to beg them for it along the way.

People will still beg and have a taste of the stone-like corn, some will go away while some will join him to minimize the brain damage on one person.


Eating a whole row out of the corn

IMG_20220723_155603.jpg

I thought I had seen it all but not at all. My friend came up with another style, he buys the corn and eats a row out of it before leaving the corn shop. Then he starts eating it little by little as he walks back home.

Well, people still begged him
And then he happily gave them saying in his mind that "At least I ate from every share they took"

I still laugh hard whenever I see him do this style. He uses that to console himself even though I still see it as him sharing the corn he had planned to eat alone.


Pull off the seeds and throw away the chaff

IMG_20220723_160258.jpg

I find this one very crazy and funny too, just to avoid being asked to share your corn. You pull off all the seeds and throw away the chaff then you pour the seeds into your pocket (It's mostly the guys that do this actually).

While they walk back from where they bought the corn, they take from their pocket little by little and eat.

Almost no one begs when you do this except that some would perceive that you ate corn or are eating corn but since they didn't find any in your hand, you're free.

So I'll recommend the last for you to try out whenever you want to eat corn along the road like me.

I hope you make use of my tip to hone your stinginess and enjoy your corn alone before the season ends totally.


By the way, I used boiled corn because it was what I ate and could get a picture of but most of this happen with the roasted ones. And please don't bother begging me to give you corn, as you can see I made sure to finish up before writing this post.

This is my entry for The COMedy Rumble and I'll like to invite @zellypearl and @deraaa to participate also.

All images used in this post are taken by me with my Redmi phone

IMG-20220605-WA0008.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
42 Comments
Ecency