I've Always Been A Good Cook


Source

I won't use the word "Great" instead of "Good" even though I know deep down that I'm a great cook but to avoid any argument or such, let's leave it at me being a good cook. So I've always been a good cook and I still remember how my family and anyone who have a taste of my food compliments me especially my younger brother.

Although, that guy loves anything food (I still put his compliments on the highest rank) and my dad hardly gives me the credit my meal deserves even though he eats and finishes his meals to the last spoon. Then on the days he compliments my meals, you can imagine the star feeling I would have.

Alright it's confirmed that I'm a great cook sorry I mean a good cook, so what exactly happened?

So I decided to prepare one of my favourite soup for the 100th time, the Nigerians will know the soup (Egusi soup). I hate eating alone so when I have to cook and eat alone, I buy a lot of things inside that one meal to garnish it well so I don't get tired of eating it early enough.

I bought frozen chicken, stock fish, cow skin (kpomo), crayfish, prawns for the small melon I bought, if you know you know 😅 I was so sure I won't get tired of this meal even on the day I'll eat the leftover. I hurried home and began to prepare after procrastinating for like an hour, thanks to Hive.


Source

I hope you're following the story because I'm still wondering what went wrong... I finished preparing my meal within an hour, cleaned up, took my bath and settled down to enjoy my delicacy.

Trust me when I say I ate a lot without even thinking about the fact that I'm alone eating, although there was more than two chicken cuts in my serving 🥲 that was a reason and also, the food tasted so good (I patted myself for showing my skill one more time).

It was in the evening I prepared and ate the food, the next morning I woke up feeling pressed to visit the toilet. I'm not sure I've said this before but just in case, I'll say it again... I rarely visit the toilet, it seems my body wants to use all the food I eat to grow fat (I'm believing on that, don't argue with me please).

But that morning, the toilet was the first place I thought of when I woke up and I came out feeling relieved and good... I decided to have my breakfast of that same soup again (the taste is still very memorable in my head). Later that day, I visited the toilet again.

I knew then that something was definitely wrong somewhere...

Was it the food? No way! I'm a good cook, or was it the fact that I ate too much? I doubt that too, I never eat too much... My too much is someone's tiny part of their whole meal. I decided to call mum when I started to feel my stomach go strong and giving me pains.


Source

Mum's a nurse, she would help me out on what the cause could be... So I thought.

After the call, that nurse lady successfully tagged my deliciously cooked soup as the cause of my problem. I refused to believe her even though I agreed with her on the phone. She gave me some prescriptions to follow so it relieves me which I did and it worked but after eating my soup, it comes up again.

I had to accept it, my soup was bad for my health... But I've been cooking this same meal for a very long time now, like I said, this one must be the 100th time I prepared it so why was it different from the rest?

Well, I made sure to eat out all the meat and other chewables inside the soup before I complied with mum to throw the food out (I can't come and waste my money just like that). And I did suffer for eating those before throwing the soup away, visited the toilet for a total of five to six times in three days thanks to the delicious soup.

A post from @balikis95 reminded me of this incident and I promised her that I'll share my experience with bad food (this one didn't taste bad like in her story but it was bad for my health).

So guys, I need your contribution on this... What exactly went wrong for my meal to show me such disrespect?
Note - I would give responses that would favour the questionnaire if I were you.

IMG-20220605-WA0008.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
56 Comments
Ecency