Is this a meal?

Greetings, People!πŸ™Œ

I'm a bachelor who takes pleasure in preparing the food I eat, and that's because I'm a very good cook. I just love cooking, and in case you don't know, that's the major attribute of knowing who loves to cook. So bad, a lot of people that claims to cook are forcefully doing that to impress people...let me not go into that

Yesterday (Sunday), I came back from church very tired and famished and there's no food at home because the workload on Saturday didn't give me breathing space to prepare a reasonable food that would last me till Sunday.

I checked the market close to my street, and it was totally empty because it's Sunday and the market has not resumed. I planned to settle on Noodles, but the hunger was far bigger than what Noddle could handleβ€”a swallow or nothing.
I decided to go buy a soup from a restaurant which I would use my own Eba(African food) feast on it

First restaurant
I walked into the closest restaurant to my house. We are neighbours, so when I entered, they were all surprised because it was actually my first time entering there for food.
I asked them how much for a plate of soup, just a plate of soup, and one of them said 1,700 naira.

"1,700 naira!" I exclaimed.

"It's just a soup I'm buying, just a soup," I clarified to the girl, and she said, "I know, and that's the price."

If not that to market was yet to resume, 1,700naira will be enough for me to run a quickie food, why should I now use such money to buy a food I would eat once???

"You don't mean it; why is the price high like that?" I asked, and she went on to say they used goat meat to prepare the soup.

In my mind, I felt like telling them to subtract the meat and sell only soup for me, but hey, ladies were there, and I couldn't stand to feel the awkward look I would get. So, I just told them not to worry, and I left.

Second Restaurant
As I was walking looking for a restaurant to patronize, I met one and I paused for a while and began to reminisce on my last encounter with it; I had bought food there some time ago, and the taste was as if it was my 5-year-old brother that cooked it. So I just skipped the restaurant and moved on.
Funny enough, the woman in charge of the restaurant gets a high rating. I don't know why people are rating her high, maybe she's using Voodoo to entice her customers.

Last Restaurant
I finally entered a neutral one, a little bit far from my street. All the tables in the mini-kios were occupied by people seriously taking in swallows, and I nodded my head with the assurance that the food would be tasty.
I made my order, haggled down the price to size of my pocket, and she concurred. She sold it to me, and I left for my house.


I got home, set the table, pulled off my shirt, and got ready to feed the hungry intestines in my stomach, and the first cut I took into my mouth gave me a slap, just like when one takes lime.

Image source

"Is this soup?" I stopped and began to stare at the soup.
A lot of thoughts began to run through my soft mind.

Why do people go into the restaurant business when they can't even make simple food?

I don't know about you, but whenever I want to buy food from a restaurant, I expect that the food should taste better than what I normally cook at home because the chefs in restaurants are supposed to be professionals, but this one was 100% off. The taste was just like a lime with a bit of added seasonings.

Anger really took hold of me, and I wanted to return the food to her and encourage her to leave that food business. I didn't go because I knew it wouldn't end well.

So, I picked the meat inside, ate it, and drank water while I threw away the soup.

The most shocking thing is that people were eating this same soup and licking fingers when I went to buy it. I wonder what they saw...

Maybe these restaurant ladies use Voodoo to blind taste their customers, and this Voodoo has not been working on me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency