A First Grader's Homework

homework-g30d99059a_1920.jpg
Pixabay.com
I heard from my room as Mom told my little cousin to bring her homework to me. The little boy came with pleading eyes, saying it's too tough for him. I told him "don't worry, I got this!"
After looking at the question for 10 minutes, I realized I don't got this at all. I mean, what kind of homework is this? I was not a truant in my primary school days, so how did miss this? After staring at the question for another 15 minutes I got angry.
I realized the how the practical application of that homework was not possible, then I started blaming the school's curriculum. Teach kids what will help them in the long run!
So here is the question.
It's word problem.
"Stacey purchased goods worth $300 in a store, what is one fifth of the amount?"
What on earth is that?!
No one asks for one fifth of anything!
I mean I can't go to a bar and ask for one fifth of a pint, or go to a restaurant and ask for one fifth of a meal. Why do we make life difficult for ourselves?
What does Stacey need one fifth of the amount for?
I told my cousin to write the answer "Stacey is rude, she should just pay the whole amount and skedaddle!"

One thing that baffles me is people thinking you should know the kid's assignments because you have passed that stage. I have other things to solve, other things to reason. So I can't know those assignments I'm sorry.
Let the school system normalize teaching kids what will be of benefits to them in the long run. No on asks for one fifth of anything except the want the wrong answer.
I need to get this message across to the ministry of education.
I'll just be back.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency