How I Almost Lost My Legs In A Cab Because Of Discount

How I Almost Lost My Legs In A Cab Because Of Discount

Photo by Ono Kosuki

They say "awoof dey run belle ( cheap things dont give optimum satisfaction)" i never believed that until i had a first hand experience. Some years back after graduating from college, I decided to go in search of greener pastures in Jos. I was so lucky enough that even before I reached it, a job was already waiting for me. All I had to do was to go the shop and get approval.

Everything went well, but then I had one problem, distance, I live in Bukuru Express and where I was to work is in Terminus about 6 km away. I complained to my boss about the distance and we made arrangements for that.

I almost rejected the job though but I thought what would I be doing at home, the distance and the risk of being on transit daily shouldn't weigh me down. I resumed work, and every blessed day apart from Sundays I am in transit.

One of those days, after work I trekked down from our shop which is located inside Terminus market to where I could get a cab. I was so lucky I got one but the front seat was full. The driver said I should sit at the back coupled with the fact that I am smallish in nature.

I checked the back and there was no space, there were three fat people already sitting there, they covered everywhere. I told the driver there was no space, and he came down and did the driver's magic, creating a little space for me in the middle seat. I knew I was not going to be comfortable so I told the driver I wouldn't take his cab because I won't be comfortable inside, when he heard that, he looked at me, smiled and said "Okay pay half of the money I told you earlier on"

Hearing that I didn't take a second thought I got inside the car and I was not okay but then who doesn't like discount? The man asked from the front seat, "Are you okay?" Don't worry about me I replied squeezing myself like a baby in their middle. I encouraged myself that I could do it moreover it's just a 6km journey. Ask how much the change was, just a hundred naira lol.

A few minutes later in the car, I could not move any part of my body, I tried my best and endured for a while but soon I ran out of ideas, I turned right, I was not comfy, I turned left it was the same thing. I looked at the women sitting with me and they were all mature. Remember, part of the reason why a reduction was made for me was because I was going to endure the journey like that. So obviously, there was nothing I could do. I kept turning and turning thinking the women would understand my body language and at least help me get some comfort but they were even more relaxed than when I entered inside.

It was just tears that were remaining to start dropping, to cut the story short when the car reached my location, I told the driver to stop, and when he did, I tried to stand up but I couldn't feel my legs. " Okay, behave yourself Emma", I said quietly. I managed to reach the door dragging my buttocks on the seat after the woman sitting close to the door came down. I muster courage and put the first leg outside, I tried putting the other one, and boom! I was on the ground.

I made an effort to stand up but I couldn't, I got so scared at that point. the driver came out and asked what happened. But I pretended as if I was okay, I crawled and sat on a fence close to the road and told him" Rid on sir I am fine" after taking my hundred naira change. The other passengers in the car started laughing. I felt so embarrassed. It took me some minutes to feel my legs again. When I got back home I told my elder sister about my experience in the car and she couldn't stop laughing, it became the topic of the day.

I have learned my lessons. In fact, what I do now is whenever I notice there are fat people in a car or the space is too tight, I look for another car.

Thanks for reading. Do have a lovely Week

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency