I Was Warned Not To Take Captures Of Photos In My Area

I used to be a lover of photos where I do post about sunset, places and things around me that looks exciting and beautiful to share in the year 2021. Why I derived that love in taking photos was when I was posted in the northern part of Nigeria in Kano state to serve for one year. It was my first time there so I have no choice than to experience a different lifestyle and weather there.

The lifestyle there is totally different from the West where I come from and because I haven't been there before I decided to stay. Though language barrier was one bigger issue I faced there but I was very much welcome there. I use to notice this lovely sunrise that do showcase it self early in the morning likewise also in the evening as well where I don't hesitate in capturing every shot of it.

On Wednesdays as well, I don't mind going out to capture lovely places of buildings, streets, markets, animals and the people as well which was even more fun for me to do because I wasn't disturbed nor threatened while taking those photos. Though I might not take the best of photos but I derive joy in doing so with my phone.

After my one year service in Kano state, I travelled to Abuja to spend time with my relatives for sometime before going back to Lagos where I reside. When I was in Abuja I didn't stop to take photos of beautiful places I come across because I have already derive passion for it and I love it.

This however became a different story when I got back to Lagos because I thought I would have that free opportunity in the area I stay to take photos with my phone. I didn't know that people have started taking note of me when I do come around to take this pictures.

For like two weeks I arrived, I didn't hear any complain from anybody until one particular day which was on a Wednesday when two men came up to me and landed a very hot slap in my face. Receiving such slap my brain got formatted because I didn't remember anything that minute. They said am a criminal that am trying to give information to my other members so that they can come an operate by stealing things in the area.

I tried my possible best to explain why I do take those photos but it all went on deaf ears. It wasn't a small issue I found myself that day because someone just came and started beating me without asking anybody anything. Not until they said I should delete all the photos I took that concerns the area in my phone before they can release me to go.

I have no choice than to do so because I believe it is part of the insecurity we are facing in the country that made them took such action and since then I have been avoiding to take photos again to avoid another embarrassment.

The photo above is mine and was designed by me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency