This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

A day out Sailing in Table Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

D7277180-1BFB-4AF5-A402-5B9D9DAB975F.jpeg

I’ve grown up at the beach, in the ocean under the hot African sun. Along with being a beach baby, and running around as a toddler tanned from head to toe and naked, came a love of the outdoors and water sports!

I started surfing quite early but didn’t love our super cold ocean. You don’t really go in without a wetsuit. So sitting in the water waiting for waves is a bit of a buzz kill unless you’re one of those die hards- which I’m not.

Sailing was a lot more competitive and Cape Town has some of the best training conditions in the world. (Not easy) We have gail force winds and rough seas and it’s these training conditions that have lead to many South African Hobie Sailing World Champs!

I crewed for my dad for all my teenage years, sailing Hobie 16’s most weekends and eventually sailing in the World Championships in Australia back in 1998 for another skipper. (I’ll have to do a post about how that all happened - just a little bit miraculous!) But now it’s been many years since I last sailed Hobies or yachts.

E0C94B59-17EB-450C-A769-D97B17B7BDCD.jpeg

A good friend owns a small yacht that’s moored at Royal Cape Yacht Club and she offered to take a couple of us out for a sail in the holidays! I was so pumped to get back on the water, but admittedly felt like I’d forgotten my jib from my sheets and needed a little refresher course once my feet left dry land.

Shortly before joining them I sat in my car feeling nauseous just THINKING ABOUT BEING SEASICK! It had been such a long time and I really didn’t want to spill my guts. But my fears were quickly allayed.

E36C3DBC-04D0-4E28-9D75-31E78D8F6BA3.jpeg

Cathy took us through a thorough safety briefing as we donned our safety vests. As soon as she started calling out instructions it all started coming back to me! Oh my gosh I know how to do this!!! I’ve still got it! And my sea legs were back (and no sea sickness!!!)

2B08BB32-805C-4F3F-9AEE-19063BFD38E7.jpeg

We raised the main sail and unfurled the jib as we exited Cape Town port. A short while into the sail, motor off, she asked me to take the helm! What!!!??! I was so excited, picked my heading according to the lighthouse in Moullie Point and headed upwind.

582162ED-39EE-462E-9999-B0003AED3D21.jpeg

We couldn’t have had a more perfect day with light winds, small swell and bright sunshine. I was remembering how to read the wind and lulls on the ocean and trim the sails for maximum speed. So exhilarating - although we were moving pretty slowly on this day.

7E9CBB4F-9057-4A90-8C2B-009535B974F8.jpeg

F4653AF5-7FBD-49EC-85D1-291B67C2B187.jpeg

Eventually we decided to put in a jibe and head down wind back towards the harbour. The views of Table Mountain are incomparable to any other. You just can’t make this stuff up.

Heading back we passed a beautiful yacht that was being sailed single-handed by an elderly sea dog. He obviously was highly skilled and had a few automations to help him. But what a beaut!

69D8D74C-65C8-4242-B684-68B6772FA0DD.jpeg

D9C0F742-4B2B-443F-AD73-C7D20F999E8F.jpeg

Back in the yacht basin we packed, cleaned and eventually headed off in our own directions. What a day! This was a good one to remember.

37EC3760-ECFB-4C01-970C-E2B19736EFE8.jpeg

Back to reality after our exploration of the bay.

There are many sailing excursions available from Cape Towns Yacht Club and Waterfront for visitors, but I’d recommend finding out if you can join a Wednesday Night race which leaves from Royal Cape Yacht Club - it would mean shmoosing up to find a yacht ahead of time but it’s so much more fun than a tourist trip from the Waterfront. (Although the sights are incredible from anywhere on the water).

44CFC317-B6FD-43A7-905D-D1FED165EDCF.png