Definitely Cebu #22: Snorkelling with a Turtle in Moalboal

It should be THE TURTLE because we only saw one while we were snorkelling. I just got this screenshot from the videos below because for some reason we were not able to take photos of that turtle. The current that time was so strong for us to keep up with that turtle while it's just chillin' underwater.


Hello Hive!

I'm not sure if I already mentioned in my previous posts in this Moalboal series that the day we arrived in Moalboal was perfect. It was sunny and the sea was calm. We just had the first-ever underwater experience and we were hoping to have the same weather the next day.


You don't have to go too far away; just a few meters the shore are the corals, sardines, and turtles. But because of the topography underwater, the current in the area can sometimes become strong even if the sea is calm.

True enough, the weather on our second day in Moalboal was also fine. Aside from a few clouds looming overhead, it was perfect for snorkelling.

Panagsama Beach is not known for its sand. If you want a sandy beach, there's White Beach in Basdaku. Panagsama is known as a diving destination. Just a few meters from the shore are thousands of sardines. Turtles can also be spotted in the area.

I was actually reluctant to be with my friends who were already in the water because I forgot to bring my goggles, I needed to look for our belongings, and I didn't want to get a sunburn. Yeah! Too many reasons, but the main reason was that I didn't want my months of skincare routine to go to waste. 😂

But when they told me they saw a turtle, I didn't care about getting a sunburn anymore. I brought all our things back to our room and then I rented a pair of goggles. You can actually rent any snorkelling gear (i.e. goggles, fins, and life jackets) for Php100.00 to Php150.00 each for one day. It was a little bit expensive for me, but I needed to see the turtle, so a pair of goggles was enough.

The sea looked so calm from the shore, but when we were in the water, we can felt that the current was too strong. I didn't mind though. I just wanted to see the turtle.

And there it was, chillin' like the current was nothing. Eating some seaweed or something. It didn't mind us at all. It was just living in its own element. While we were struggling to keep up because of the strong current that was always pushing us to the shore, the turtle was just too busy foraging among the corals to be bothered.


Just look at the embedded video below and compare the struggle we had endure just to keep up with that turtle.


Since we got really tired swimming and keeping up with that turtle, we eventually swimming along with the current. We didn't dare to go near the area where the sardines are located. Instead, here are some of the photos of the corals in the area:


Moalboal is heaven for divers and snorkelling enthusiasts. Walk a few meters from the shore and you'll witness one of the most spectacular, if not the most spectacular, coral reefs in the Philippines. If you're lucky and depending on the season, you might encounter whale sharks. Sea turtles are a common sight.

I'm kinda sad to see some damage on the corals and I might have contributed to that damage. I'm just sad that some tourists would step on them. Please don't step on the corals. Please.

I got so jealous of my friend because she got a decent photo while we were snorkelling. It was her GoPro after all. Me, on the other hand, tried my best to stay afloat and tried so hard not to get swept away by the current. I mean look at her!

After a few minutes of struggle, we decided to go back to the shore. I was too tired, but it was worth it. I can't wait to do it again but on a probable weak and manageable current.


Glebert (@glecerioberto) joked that Moalboal is my new Siquijor. I think there's a tinge of truth to that though. Considering how Moalboal made a very big turnaround of my 2020, it's just fitting for me to share all of it here. Anyway, here are the links of the previous posts I've made about Moalboal:

Hive Meet Up in Moalboal
Cebu Dive Center, Panagsama Beach

Sunset at Panagsama Beach
Cebu Dive Center, Panagsama Beach






I guess that's all for this post. Next post will be about how I became a certified open water diver through Hive. It's not about the transaction and how I paid HBD for the training and certification, but also on the network effects that Hive provided in order for me to achieve on my dreams. I hope to see you in that post and in all my posts in the future. Stay tuned, folks!

Kim Ybañez

Welcome to Kim's small corner in Hive. He is a chemical engineer by profession, but a blogger by passion. He is a wanderlust and an adventure seeker. Join his quests as he visits secluded destinations, climbs mountains, tries new and exotic dishes, and explores his country (The Philippines). He's also a trying hard photographer so stay tuned as he shares his photos and his thought process while creating them.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency